Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

The God Underneath

by sam101 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

"The God Underneath" is a minimalistic multiplayer survival game made in less than 48H for the Ludum Dare #29 challenge.

You are a shiny green block, and you must survive, digging your way to the shiny red goal before the other players using the arrow keys to keep surviving while escaping the dark rocks ! You won't be able to see your oponents, but they leave trails...

In each world, there is a ever-changing god, and, using his mighty powers, he might be able to change the outcome of the game. Will you help yourself to get to the goal or try to harm the other players in their way ? That's your choice.

The players are distributed in 5-players worlds. You need at least 2 players to begin the game, so wait for other players (or invite your friends (or your other personality (or just another tab in your browser) ).

Please use a recent browser (tested on latest Chrome and on Firefox 28, should work on any browser that supports the canvas element).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness81%
#189Innovation3.64
#558Fun3.00
#654Overall3.09
#730Mood2.80
#834Audio2.20
#873Theme2.86
#914Humor1.93
#990Graphics2.50

Comments

pht59x says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:29am

Not running at least on Firefox.

Joseph Miller says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:17pm

Worked for me in Chrome.

The second player to attempt the level seems to always spawn right next to the goal? I just played by opening a second tab, so I'm not sure if it was all working the way it's supposed to. Really nice design, clean interface and goal, and going the extra mile for multiplayer is sweet.

j_peeba says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:25pm

Wow, huge props for making a multiplayer game that's easy to access for the end user too! :)

The gameplay was challenging to get into (eg. "how do I play this game well?") and I'm not sure if I managed to grasp it after a few rounds.

sam101 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:27pm

Joseph Miller => Thanks ! The players are supposed to be at least 10 blocks away from the goal, it's random, so I guess you were just not lucky !

pht59x => Please make sure you're using a recent enough version of Firefox. It didn't work on Firefox 22 for me for example (because of missing window.requestAnimationFrame)

weazen says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:28pm

I really liked this. Found myself cursing at the other players when they beat my by a few blocks. Nice work!

MAT4DOR says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:51pm

I different but interesting game! Well done!

rincewind_cz says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:32pm

Well, pretty minimalistic indeed.. It has to be really funny with more than 2 players :)

ezombort says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:06pm

A really cool and innovative game!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:06pm

wow. after a little confuion as to what the flip was going on i really enjoyed this game. i liked that you couldn't really see the other players, just their trail.

CharlieLove says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:09pm

The multiplayer integration is both impressive and interesting.

Trying to get to the goal while screwing over the opposition is pretty satisfying. Good job.

sam101 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:28pm

I've added a polyfill for browsers that do not support window.requestAnimationFrame, so it should work on more browsers now.

donan says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:56pm

Oh, wow the idea seems really cool and have a good execution. This game with lots of players at the same time can be epic!

pancakecity says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:44pm

Fun! Wish there was a little more to it, but nice!

pixelpig says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:47pm

You should add more instructions for how its supposed to work, took me a long time to figure out what I was supposed to do

FREEZX says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:49pm

Awesome game, i didn't quite get what was going on at first, then i read the description and got the hang of it. Very cool that you managed to make a multiplayer game in such a short time.

theengineers says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:51pm

It was hard to get into the game, I wasn't sure what to do, what I was meant to be doing and how, etc. Other than that I see potential.

Zutty says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:54pm

Worked for me in Firefox 28.

Well done on making a multiplayer game in 48 hours! I cheated and played against myself using two browsers!

Jeasonfire says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:52pm

Not much to comment on graphics or audio, very simplistic indeed. Gameplay was very interesting and fun, only downside was the lack of a singleplayer experience. Still, a very good game.

Crefossus says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:15pm

I like thinking about the initial new gameplay/strategies although there is quickly a dominate one. Also the graphics are simple but polished/consistent which helps setting a good mood.

ryangatts says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:42am

I like the sort of antagonism and panic this inspires in the players :)

torcado194 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:26am

awesome work bringing an online multiplayer game to a ludum dare competition! pretty interesting concept

May 2, 2014 @ 1:22pm

Very ambitious for a 48 hour game! I like the concept and I'd love to see it developed further!

jomomomo says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:48pm

A multiplayer game in 48 hours? Wow!

TheExGenesis says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 2:37pm

Congrats! Really liked it!

copain says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 2:38pm

great idea.
but world must be bigger (usually, the first god player win)

May 2, 2014 @ 4:23pm

A pretty fun game. This is probably really fun to play with friends through skype too. Really good job with making a mulitplayer mode. It would've been fun with a local mode too though.

GOod job!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]