Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Stories of Moles: Holy Crap Edition

by Muciojad - Jam Entry

* PROTIP: In 1st chapter you must find red rose, it's under spawn, in the middle of map :)
* In 2nd chapter you must grab 6500 points before time's out.
* In 3rd... you see :)
Hey guest!
<Today> I'm Molejad and this is my entry for #LD 29 JAM!
* Ladies and gentlemans!!!
* Play my one big parody of a few things/films/universes closed beneath the surface, in Mole's world. You will not regret, because:
-It's horrible.
-I don't like it, but I submit because too much work would go in vain if I don't do this.
-I think it's a little crazy, playable but... completely unfinished.
-Have some good mood, I hope.
-There are the droids you're looking.
* About game: Somewhere, beneath the surface, moles are living. We think - the mole only dig and dig... But no, no,no!
Mole's life is not such a simple matter.
Moles have world similar to us...
But absolutely different.
Moles have their own heroes, villains, armag... Ops!
Explore the world of moles, play 3 short stories to know they better.

*Collisions are bugged a lot, I'm very confused about it but I wrong planned my time and I couldn't fix it before submit.

*Game has 3 short stories - you finish one in about 3 minutes.

*Game is easy, maybe only 1st level is little hard ;]
Skipping text - RETURN("enter"). Levels are fast-made, unfinished <no time enough>,but keep the mole, stories are playable. ;]

Glory for the Moles!

*** NOTE ***
Install vcredist_x86 before you play, it's in archive.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness72%
#89Humor(Jam)3.52
#269Fun(Jam)3.17
#338Innovation(Jam)3.08
#398Mood(Jam)3.00
#418Overall(Jam)3.13
#422Audio(Jam)2.94
#444Theme(Jam)3.00
#461Graphics(Jam)3.16

Comments

gene-z says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:31am

Interesting job,, good game

mcburrobit says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:01pm

Sometimes sprites flickered in and out, but otherwise a really awesome game. Adored the little cut-scenes, and the art style is absolutely lovely. Awesome job!

Muciojad says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:17pm

@mcburrobit thanks! I didn't saw any flickering when I tested , I don't know what's wrong ;]
@gene-z I don't know what you do this, but you rated my game when link doesn't working, good job.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:27pm

Cool little game.

lajos says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:40pm

Nice looking game, but I couldn't figure out what to do. My health seems to just disappear, even though I shot lots of things and didn't run into anything.

Muciojad says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:32pm

@lajos did you read cut-scenes? ;) In first you must find red rose to unlock 2 chapter. Tip: it's under spawn, int the middle ;)

Cirrial says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:56pm

I missed where the instruction to use the force was space and had to figure that out myself, but I like this little collection of minigames. Humor was a little cringe-worthy but otherwise nice concept around flinging tiles to crush enemies. Nice entry.

Spaceoff says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:01am

Very difficult at times to not get hit, but a pretty neat mechanic. The second chapter was hard to get score in, hard to aim the force, or something.

Muciojad says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:08pm

@Spaceoff yes, you must be fast in 2nd chapter ;) Maybe it's difficult but I don't feel it, to many times I played ;] Thanks for feedback! :D

thaaks says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:42pm

Nice game! I liked the mole graphics and the cut scene (have only seen the first one, didn't find the rose). Music loop is nice but too short and get's annoying after a while...
The bullets should be bigger.

angelk says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 4:25am

I think my brain melted.

minibutmany says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:34pm

The first level was mad difficult, and the collision detection was a little glitchy. Overall nice job implementing the story.

reheated says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 9:15am

Loved the humour and the game was really fun. Using the terrain to defeat my foes (in the first two levels) is a great mechanic.

TheOZone says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 10:02am

Nice music, the collision detection isn't very precise but it's still playable. Love how the terrain flies away.

Muciojad says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 12:17pm

@TheOZone yes, collisions are my the bigger bane. But enemy will be destroyed regardless of whether is bugged xD
Thanks for all feedback! ;]

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 3:33am

lol.

Benjamin says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 9:45am

The game is playable and I like the block launching mecanic. The problem is that seeing only the bullet impact when you get hit is a bit weird, it dont give you enough informations about who is shooting you. The music is very nice.

Ragzouken says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 4:26pm

Awesome music, pretty cool game!

danialhyatt says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 5:53pm

holy crap

MidCry says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 7:42pm

Somehow very hard to get used to gameplay ... Good job by the way

Tosic says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 7:44pm

Its nice, i think you put alot of effort in this, im on my first LD48, and i would appriciate if u would rate my game! :D

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]