Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Abyss - Beneath The Surface

by Khaldrin - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Abyss - Beneath The Surface is a R-Type-like sidescroller/shooter. The game takes you (and your trusty, torpedo-armed submarine) into a dimly-lit, cave where you have to battle hordes of enemies while collecting resources.

The submarine can be controlled with the WASD-keys, the left mouse button is for shooting torpedoes.

You win the game if you either collect 20 power ups or survive 100 seconds. If you touch the walls or an enemy, you die.

Good luck and have fun!


UPDATE 2014.05.07: I uploaded a Post-Compo version (link above) where I made a few changes, according to the feedback I got:

- Increased the number of powerups needed to win from 20 to 40.
- Tried to increase the feeling of "progression": powerups increase the number of torpedoes you shoot simultaneously in two steps: After having collected 10 power ups you will shoot 2 torpedoes at a time, after having collected 20 you will shoot 3 torpedoes at a time.
- Tweaked the enemy AI a little, now the enemies will get more aggressive as the game progresses.
- Increased the brightness of the cave walls, so they are better to see and (probably) easier to avoid.

-

Current version needs Java-1.7. If you encounter an error in the like of "Unsupported major.minor version 51.0" you are probably running Java-1.6. If you encounter this error having Java-1.7 installed, please leave a comment.

-

*UPDATE* I fixed a small bug where in the original submission the submarine suffered from spontaneous self-combustion - which made the whole shoot-enemies-and-collect-powerups-survival-stuff kind of pointless...
The original runnable jar (All OS) can be found at: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/33956803/ld29/LD29-Abyss-Khaldrin-Submission.jar,
the corresponding source code at: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/33956803/ld29/LD29-Abyss-Khaldrin-Submission-SRC.jar.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness81%
#157Audio3.48
#368Graphics3.45
#385Mood3.18
#508Fun3.07
#532Overall3.20
#537Theme3.29
#849Humor2.00
#1107Innovation2.24

Comments

zanenga says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:18am

I like it! Wish it was a little longer...

lief says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:37am

I had about 8 turns at this before I won. This game uses classic basic shmup elements executed well. Nice ship handling, good choice for mouse button shooting.

I mistook the powerups for enemy bullets the first few plays (I forgot about the powerups, and couldnt see the + sign clearly).

The lighting effect was well done.

Solid basic fun.

Almost says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:06am

It's fun. I didn't realize at first that the walls on top and bottom of the map hurt me, as they look kind of like a background.

It would be nice to have more enemy variety and additional powerups as the game progresses.

Zer0XoL says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:09am

Im on linux. Im having the current problem:
Exception in thread "main" java.lang.UnsupportedClassVersionError: com/khaldrin/abyss/desktop/DesktopLauncher : Unsupported major.minor version 51.0
at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClass1(Native Method)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClass(ClassLoader.java:634)
at java.security.SecureClassLoader.defineClass(SecureClassLoader.java:142)
at java.net.URLClassLoader.defineClass(URLClassLoader.java:277)
at java.net.URLClassLoader.access$000(URLClassLoader.java:73)
at java.net.URLClassLoader$1.run(URLClassLoader.java:212)
at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
at java.net.URLClassLoader.findClass(URLClassLoader.java:205)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(ClassLoader.java:321)
at sun.misc.Launcher$AppClassLoader.loadClass(Launcher.java:294)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(ClassLoader.java:266)
Could not find the main class: com.khaldrin.abyss.desktop.DesktopLauncher. Program will exit.

DragonXVI says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:11am

Fairly promising Shmup, nice detail on the sub lighting as well and some nice abyssal graphics! Good place to keep going and add more to.

gabbsson says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:22am

Great use of the theme, the music blended great with your mood! Like someone else said a few more enemies would be cool!

Cheers!

halfmage says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:25am

Really well done but a bit too short

rincewind_cz says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:46am

I liked the audio part most.. The game itself is too short imo :)

dartsdev says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:38pm

A good start, but a few more lvls or moving cave would have helped, nice atmosphere

Kalabasa says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:31pm

Nice game! But too short. I got the 3-shot powerup, giving me a sense of progression, then just when I thought the game was building up, the game finished :c

Also, I noticed that objects occlude the flashlight, so that's a nice graphics effect.

callum.thepro says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:58pm

Love it!

Wakka says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:03pm

OSX:

Exception in thread "main" java.lang.UnsupportedClassVersionError: com/khaldrin/abyss/desktop/DesktopLauncher : Unsupported major.minor version 51.0

vilya says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:11pm

Love that glow effect, looks really nice! The action moves a bit too slowly, I think speeding it up would make the game more fun. Also, the walls are quite dark - a couple of times I ran into them simply because I diddn't see them.

Johan Eklund says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:02pm

Really cool! I actually made a very similar game for this compo (also a shmup where you control a submarine) but yours is much cooler then mine :)

FGM says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:12pm

Awesome visuals. Creates a cool ambience along with the music.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:30pm

Awesome, just wish it was longer + more power ups. The neon graphics and particle effects are really good.

BuKaneerz says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:36pm

Great job !
The game is a little short, but it was cool !
Keep it up !

kles4enko says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:00am

I like it! I played a lot!! )))

WhiteWolf93 says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:31am

I love the glow effect, wish was longer but it was fun to play. :)

Gaspard_ says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 6:55pm

I won first by getting 20 power-ups, while I was focussing to hit enemies, and not collect power-ups.
Then I played it again and won through time.
In my opinion the game is good while a little to easy.

aelita1992 says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 7:20am

Wow, awesome glow effect, I really like the mood it creates. And the game itself is a lot of fun to play

May 15, 2014 @ 5:57pm

I feel like this was too short and too easy. It suddenly ended with a "success" screen, which confused me, since nothing special had happened. But nice music, and neat lighting effects on all sprites, made it feel like it was really underwater.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]