Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Whale Princess Rescue Expedition

by zinfandel - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Pick at the ice, uncover it's secrets!

Note: The last part is currently locked so don't worry if you get stuck. Hope you enjoy it!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#280Humor2.92
#384Graphics3.42
#392Theme3.45
#433Fun3.15
#530Mood3.00
#535Innovation3.09
#594Overall3.15
#730Audio2.42
#1651Coolness42%

Comments

ianh says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:10am

Strangely satisfying.

oal says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:21am

I don't know why, but I really liked this. You've gone with a "mining" kind of game, but still made an original and interesting game. One of my favorites so far!

neekobus says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:33am

Interesting base. Maybe better if we can find bomb exploding blocks around, or some super powers. Maybe an "auto-fire" option too.

Clean graphics, and nice whale !

I had a problem : dig all I can until I found the polar bear. Then I'm stick : the left blocks are still dark.

aritzh says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:29pm

I have the same problem as neekobus... just wondering if it is because I did something in the wrong order, though...

flrn says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:29pm

had some trouble after freeing the polar bear, it didn't unlock the rest of the game. The mechanics are pretty fun though, feels like some sort of inverted puzzle or something

Zolkren says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:31pm

Really liked it for some reason, good game.

Filecreation says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:33pm

I had the same problem as Neekobus, I can't find a pick that gives me the upgrade required to dig through the ice after the polarbeardog.
Did you run out of time?

The graphics itself look adorable and bright, just the way I like it.
As a critique I might have to say that it is too hard to fail, though for a first level that might be a good thing.
I had to work pretty hard to go game-over, and then I only managed to do that once I learned the layout of the level.

Zyper says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:37pm

Very nice game! But there's a bug where right blocks are still darker after founding of the polar bear.

darkflamejam says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:52pm

Addictive, although I didn't have a high enough pick to complete it ):

Jiyambi says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:02pm

I loved it! Fix the polar bear dog bug, add more graphics for all the things in the ice, and I'll be a happy camper. I could see this going to ridiculous levels like cookie clicker or something.

Split82 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:12pm

I had a lot of fun with this one. Simple but satisfying mechanics.

FileCorrupted says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:12pm

Felt like cookie clicker with ice... so goood XD 4/5

Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:36pm

Cool game in all meanings )). Nice graphics too.

zinfandel says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:01pm

Wow glad you like! Sorry guys, yes the part after the polar bear is under construction. I want to add so much more but it takes time..

Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:00pm

A lot of fun! From what I played, though, it seemed very difficult to lose - was fun chipping away a bit of ice to look for the next goodies. Think there's definitely a lot of potential in this :)

Hyoga-3D says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:02pm

very creative and nice art! good game

Bashosha says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:57pm

Nice work :)

peejaygee says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:24am

Reminds me of Bubble Wrap, you need to come back for more.. ;)

Lucio says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:11pm

Very interesting. Start as "nothing" and then grows and keeps you playing!

VictoryGarden says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:55pm

This is interesting! SFX are appropriate and satisfying, and digging up prehistoric animals was fun. Graphics look good, too!

If you do a post-compo version, you might want to look at game balance/diversification. It was a good move to be able to uncover things that did you damage, since I had an almost unusably large store of clicks; however, if they actually become dangerous to the player, you'll probably want to give the player some sort of direction so that their fate isn't effectively random.

That said, you've done some great work with some really clean graphics and a nice user interface! Thanks for the game.

zinfandel says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:31pm

Thank you everyone for playing, and for great comments. You've given me lots of ideas on how to improve this game onto a full one for a small release.

tomvert says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 5:24pm

It was surprisingly addictive and satisfying.

Zccc says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 10:33pm

This felt like cookie clicker xD (There was even a cookie there!!) Strangely I couldn't stop, but I could only reach the polar bear dog, which I think it's a reference to Legend of Korra? :P

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]