Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Temple of the Mad Gods

by jellyfishlion - Jam Entry

NOTE: This turned out more like a demo of an idea then a game (at least in my opinion), but I hope it's still enjoyable. :) I'll probably come back to this at some point and make it into a real game. :D If anybody wants me to post a Windows or Mac version, just let me know and I will.

Also, a warning to anyone wearing headphones while playing this: I had issues with the sound effects, and they ended up much louder than the music, so if you get hit by a Weeper, it will likely be quite loud.

CONTROLS: Arrow keys - move player (hit up key to jump)

STORY: You have ventured into the underground temple of the mad gods in search of the three sacred chalices. The gods, Emriel, Arkaten, and Orudun, the gods of Life, Death, and Time, are worshiped most people on your world. Your people live in fear of them, for they are all mad, and in their insanity may one day destroy the world. For thousands of years, they have slept, but now they are beginning to stir. You must find their sacred chalices and take them to the altar, for their magic is said to be the only way to keep the old gods in their slumber. Beware, young hero, for within this ancient temple are the Weepers, monsters created by the mad gods for reasons unknown. You are powerless against them, and all you can do is run - and run quickly, for if they catch you, not even death will bring you peace, for they shall devour your soul! Go now, young hero, and recover the chalices of the mad gods, before it is too late!

OBJECTIVE: Enter the temples of life (green), death (purple), and time (blue) and find the chalices within. Get the blue one first, then the green, and finally the purple. Beware the Weepers...

This has been my second Ludum Dare, and I'm happy to say that I at least finished something (which is actually a real accomplishment for me). I had lots of things I wish I'd done with this, but being short on time and still relatively new to game development made things difficult. I'm glad I participated though. :)

Thanks to DST from nosoapradio.us for the music! (I forgot to credit him in the game :P)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#283Mood(Jam)3.24
#480Audio(Jam)2.78
#598Fun(Jam)2.50
#673Theme(Jam)2.33
#690Overall(Jam)2.50
#706Innovation(Jam)2.17
#750Graphics(Jam)1.94
#1851Coolness32%

Comments

Sodaware says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:43pm

Should have read the headphone warning before playing - made me jump the first time a Weeper appeared (and then it promptly killed me). The music is nice though, and it's definitely a game that has potential :)

quickfingers says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:36pm

got a page of php errors I'm afraid, your host might be down

jellyfishlion says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:17pm

I was having issues with my web host for a while, but I've fixed it (for now at least :P).

SlamBlasta says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:25pm

Good visuals and audio. It was hard though!

eteeski says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:25pm

haha I recognize that song :b Nice atmosphere :)

MunkeeBacon says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:59pm

Games background music was good and eerie, really set a nice mood, but the actual game sounds are somewhat ear piercing and tough to listen to.

torcado194 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:37am

nice job! seems like some good basic programming! keep it up!

pbsds says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:39am

Telling the backstory in the description instead of in the game is a cheap solution which rarely works. There were probably time constrains, but a simple dialogue telling this would be much more effective! The game lacks any other mechanic than jumping and moving, and you didn't design the stages so these were drawn to their limit either,. the game was simply to easy.

May 3, 2014 @ 2:57pm

Fun and simple, good controls too.

BrothersT says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 3:11pm

Enjoyed the music and mood! Didn't quite understand why I was transported sometimes...

hanoth says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 3:15pm

The Weeper thing startled me and I didn't even have headphones on. The way they chase you and the music are creepy too.

Seme says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 9:05pm

Holy shit I got scared for first time when the Weeper 'scraemed'. Nice game! Controls were super-good! Good work! :)

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]