Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Core Eaters

by porglezomp - 48 Hour Compo Entry

They came from inside the sun
beings that thrive in the inferno
beneath the surface of stars.
They came to ransack our worlds
and take the heat from their cores.
But we will fight back.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#90Audio3.67
#113Mood3.71
#325Graphics3.54
#340Overall3.41
#433Innovation3.24
#596Fun2.97
#1118Theme2.31

Comments

ENDESGA says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:37am

Pretty awesome game!
A little slow at the start, but gets tricky quickly!
I like it a lot :) You should definitely build on it after LD ;)

Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:57am

I am terrible at this but it's legit. I like the controls. I wish there was a rating for controls. 5/5 for them although the ship could maybe have a tad bit more acceleration.

WetDesertRock says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:00am

I'm not sure I understand the point of the game. I shoot things and it makes fire balls, sometimes the planet shoots at me, but thats about it?

MrBlade says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:19am

There is just something exhilarating about firing your ship at a planet, turning at the last second, and flying off into space.

Good work, gameplay feels very solid, the music is very nice, and the graphics are fine. I like your unique integration of the theme.

I would have enjoyed sounds. (Fire, ship thrust, sun bad guy dispersal, etc.) I can see why you didn't do it, as the music is very nice and atmospheric, but rather hollow, perhaps that is what you were going for.

FuzzyWuzzie says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:03am

I had WAY too much fun playing with the gravity fields!

tiffi_gaming says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:23am

The ambient sound is spot on!

porglezomp says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:08pm

@ENDESGA I plan on working on it more! I have some ideas that could make it way more fun.
@BallpointPress Thanks, I didn't have enough time to tweak the thrust, it was better earlier.
@WetDesertRock Yeah, the enemies aren't smart enough to chase you very reliably, it's hard to make AI that gets gravity. You're supposed to shoot the red dots.
@MrBlade I'm glad you liked the gravity, I didn't add sounds only because I ran out of time.
@FuzzyWuzzie, I'm glad you liked it!
@tiffi_gaming I'm happy that you think so, it was sort of last-minute fiddling around with garageband.

Jeffalisk says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:11pm

For some reason I can't get the web version running - it keeps asking me to install Unity WebPlayer even though I already have the latest plugin.

porglezomp says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:25pm

@jeffalisk Oh, it looks like you're right! I was fiddling around with the webpage and I must have messed up the javascript.

Newt_ says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:31pm

Pretty awesome! I didn't quite get the hang of the controls, but it was really cool.

Spaceoff says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:33pm

Loved the atmosphere in this, damn- the music really sets it. Took me ages to realize the "Start" text was clickable though, way longer than it should have >_<


Also, same problem as Jeffalisk here with the web version.

legendpaul says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:35pm

could not quite control it, but I liked the style and music

porglezomp says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:36pm

@Spaceoff, the web version should be fixed now.

CiderPunk says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:36pm

neat orbital mechanics!

Phyyl says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:38pm

I scored 10! Excellent concept, but didn't quite found out how to get points :P graphics where simple, but I could see you took the time to make particles and everything. Great job!

porglezomp says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:46pm

@Phyyl, yeah, the AI is a bit too dumb to avoid the planets very successfully (n-body AI is HARD,) so you probably got lots of those from them crashing, but that does mean you're good at surviving in the gravity!

MattV says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:51am

Gravity is a harsh mistress

Thorig says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 3:19pm

The ships controls need more tweaking. I could not see the rockets only the explosions gave away I was shooting. The idea behind the game is good. With more polish this could be a good game.

orangepascal says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 7:32am

damn I suck at this :) it's difficult! like a more interesting twist on Asteroids

ThingoStudios says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 10:03pm

Nice ambience with an original control scheme.

slumber says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 1:21am

Has a very eerie relaxing mood to it. I like it. The sound sound was good. Could use more sound related to the game play. I feel i see what was intended with the controls, however there is too much "drift" with it. Possibly tighten up the controls. Really like the idea, and I will be following the future of this game.

mystakin says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 4:24am

Man, the gravity on those planets is intense. Awesome once you get the hang of it, but I'll admit I'm still pretty bad, haha.

Muu? says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 6:34pm

Slow paced and fun. I loved exploiting gravity to move faster.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]