Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Go! Go! Purgatory!

by Captain_Genial - Jam Entry

A young girl wakes up in the underworld. She is looking for a way to go back home.
Help her to follow a vertuous path while she meets witty, charismatic characters.
Meet George, the magic Hobo, even God himself and more.



Staff:
Art : Anthony Teixeira ( @CaptainGenial )
Scenario : Maxime Failyau / Anthony Teixeira
Code : Joris Valette
Traduction : Joris Valette / Camille Trubuil

Music : Menu-select - Xerferic
More elevator music - Apple32
Smoothie - OfficialNovacore
Teaching my students - Bosa
Going up? - Voltus

Thanks to Ren'Py team for the visual novel engine and their great documentation.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness59%
#43Graphics(Jam)4.43
#111Audio(Jam)3.70
#117Humor(Jam)3.35
#184Mood(Jam)3.49
#376Overall(Jam)3.20
#542Fun(Jam)2.67
#599Theme(Jam)2.64
#601Innovation(Jam)2.50

Comments

mechabit says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:26am

Nice artwork

xensky says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:30am

that was very disappointing. ow, that grammar. looked amazing though.

tiffi says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:45pm

Wow, great graphics!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:25pm

Visual novels aren't really my thing, but I did really like the graphics. And some of the dialog was kinda funny.

xdegtyarev says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:06pm

Characters are so adorable! Like it!

Solifuge says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:43am

Hi, this is Vector from the Victory Garden team! (posting under Solifuge's account)

Wow, I really admire your graphics and scene-setting for this one! You have some great characters, too, and the music works well to create a good ambiance. However, the narrative's a bit random, and it only superficially seems to match the theme. I hope you submit more visual novels next time! I get more and more excited with every one I find to review.

ruerob says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:52am

Nice work. The visuals and the sounds are very good. And the story was interesting. Thank you for this game.

Dreii says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:53am

Wow the best graphics I've seen so far, also REALLY loved the transition style! the story/dialogue was obviously made quickly but it was good for what it was! :D

Thorig says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:46am

These graphics! One of the best of all games I played so far.

simplesmiler says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:32pm

Hey! Hey, listen! This art is awesome, and music is too!

jojva says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:28pm

Dev here. Thanks for all the graphics compliments, I think CaptainGenial is happy to hear about that. :)
@Dreii: Transitions between acts are inspired by Shaft (an anime studio), fast rhythm. We liked them too. ^^
Quick note on the narrative: we had to translate everything from french to english (with the help of Camille, thanks a lot), and the most delicate part is humour, because the semantics are so different from one culture to another.

GrooveMan says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:31pm

You really have the Japanese creepy-cute aesthetic down with the character designs - I especially like Aguaron. However, the script could do with a little refining - some of the dialogue felt a little stilted, which made certain parts hard to follow.

There's a lot of polish in how you handled the act transitions (The night club opening was good in particular). There are some faint seamlines on the characters for the different heads and mouths - I'm not sure if that issue's unique to my computer.

burgerdare says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:32pm

I don't know what that was, but I'm super glad I played it. Crazily memorable.

Moosefly says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:14pm

The art was superb, no complaints there. Audio worked well enough as well. The basic premise is interesting, but the dialogue and story felt too random. Played trough twice though. Nice humour. Also noticed the lines that GrooveMan described when playing fullscreen (1080p monitor).

Anssi@MooseflyGames

DonovanWu says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 2:37am

So moe! I love it X3

jsmars says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 3:36pm

Really nice artwork!

May 7, 2014 @ 5:03pm

ahh, the graphics are lovely! :D

jujule says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 8:59pm

Ce n'est pas tant la masse de travail qui m'impressionne que la cohérence du tout. Et forcément, j'aimerais aussi avoir les textes en français. Beau travail.

May 7, 2014 @ 9:23pm

Nice music, mood, and character design. I kept playing mostly to see the next character! The story wasn't very engaging, but I think with more time spent developing the characters and setting you could have something really neat.

I especially liked the small round police officers!

GFM says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 9:41pm

Great graphics! The simple animations were really cute! :)

I was able to get to three endings: bed, magic and money. I wish the options had more consequences than it seems... Most of the time, it seemed like only one or two answer were actually meaningful...

May 8, 2014 @ 3:35am

Super awesome graphics! I included it in part 14 of my Ludum Dare compilation video series, if you'd like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/-VvtqXfr-Xs

meszka says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 3:54pm

Great art and character designs. The plot is pretty much a collection of gags but there is some nice humor in there.

joe40001 says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 10:55am

Good art, I played 4 times trying to get different endings but I could only get 2 (bed and money). Interesting idea for a story and again the art was pretty well done (though for some reason the characters had single lines across their face for me)

Good job :)

May 15, 2014 @ 4:59am

First of all, the art is great, and the audio is nice. The concept of the story is interesting, but it didn't executed well. Put more mystery in the story, and let the story unfolded one by one. I'm sure your game will be a great one. :)

2HitAdam says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 3:55pm

Love the art, the story lost a little in translation but was still pretty funny at parts, I could see what you were trying to do with it :)

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]