Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Spyware Who Loved Me

by andrewkennedy - 48 Hour Compo Entry

In The Spyware Who Loved Me, you play as the world's most famous spyware program, and you must navigate through each computer to steal their data.

Controls:
L/R arrow keys to run
Space to jump
Down to glide / scan block below
M mutes music

My main goal was to create a platformer that had very fluid movement mechanics. I wanted it to feel really nice to run through the level. I believe I've accomplished that.

A ton of inspiration came from Mega Man (Data get!). Movement ideas remind me pretty heavily of Portal 2, although I actually didn't have it in mind when making it.

Wish I had more time to incorporate more levels. I've only barely scratched the surface of what these mechanics had to offer.

Music/sounds generated from abundant-music and bfxr.
Software: Photoshop and Unity

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#19Overall4.14
#40Fun3.94
#144Mood3.64
#153Graphics3.89
#164Audio3.47
#255Innovation3.51
#432Theme3.40
#536Humor2.46
#1314Coolness49%

Comments

Sakuyan says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:22am

But where's Firefox?

SmilingCat says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:51am

Love the concept and the 8-bit graphics and sound are well done. Great job!

microapple says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:52am

What can I say? Great music. Great gameplay. Great graphics. The music had that nostalgic tetris feel, which I loved.

All around great game. Nice job.

GreatBigJerk says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:52am

AWESOME!

kevincorrigan says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:53am

Nice game, I like the idea, and you did a good job on the levels

aneeslol says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:55am

I think you definitely achieved your goal of creating a fluid platformer, and there are a ton of possibilities here. Very solid game all around!

Armanky says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:56am

Surprisingly large amount of content for such a short time! Excellent work!

Creative interpretation of theme, pretty fun gameplay mechanics, although the physics could use a little tweaking. The colored tiles remind me a lot of Portal 2's gels.

Very cool game, I liked it a lot.

Deity says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:56am

Very well made. Nice music and the in-game tutorial was excellent. Also really liked the combo moves (sliding + jumping in one, etc).

AdamSwaggoner says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:57am

Awesome game, I really like this one. The levels seemed really difficult, but the controls were solid enough for me to get through the whole thing. Great work!

Lolninjacatz says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:57am

I liked the concept. Had some gripes with the controls, especially the holding down; it was core but made it somewhat hard to control. Loved the background animation and the data line effects, and clever use of the theme. Audio wasn't to my liking. Great job!

omaha says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:58am

This is an excellent game. Fantastic pace. The difficulty progresses perfectly.

The game crashed immediately after beating the level pictured above (middle-center, with the triangle of obstacles to jump through). It made me sad. I really wanted to see what came next.

WhiteWolf93 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:01am

Abundant music :P hehe, nice perspective of the theme!

indigofiz says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:02am

The simple graphics is great and set the mood right for the game. Great job!

FuzzyWuzzie says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:05am

Great work adding something new to a platformer! The controls were pretty great, though a bit more forgiveness on jump timing near edges would have been appreciated. Nonetheless, cool game!

nigelmnz says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:12am

Great graphics, music, and gameplay. The scanning mechanic was well done.

cr2crstudios says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:28am

Very interesting. . .

ix says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:31am

Data get! Good stuff. The scan mechanic feels fresh and you got good millage out of it. I also like the character design. Game was the perfect length for the sort of competition.

Dreii says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:38am

Haha! great time! first game Ive beaten so far, fantastic level design, love to see more!

conormn says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:03pm

Great concept and some really nice mechanics. Well done!

Korwegian says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:50pm

For the full experience, play this game in Internet Explorer!

Solifuge says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:33pm

Hi, this is Vector from the Victory Garden team! (posting under Solifuge's account)

I love this concept! You've done a great job with graphics, mood, and the soundtrack is really great, too. Unfortunately I got stuck at the zone with the green code--I tried the jump maybe twenty times but I couldn't figure out how to make it work.

I wish I could critique and play the rest of the game, since it looks amazing--but as-is, all I can say is that there's a weird pause right after the data decrypts that slows the game down and is a bit frustrating. Needing to wait twice is a bit weird, and I kept wondering if there was a key I needed to press or whatnot.

Good luck with the compo! It's a great entry.

andrewkennedy says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:15am

Hey Vector.

Have you checked out the gameplay video? One thing I've noticed from watching some friends play is that some people aren't realizing that the speed boost carries over even after you've gone past the green code. That is - as long as you hold down, you'll keep the speed forever.

It could be a problem with the physics though. The controller that I use has a bug where the drag is not calculated properly. I noticed when doing something processor intensive (screen capture recording, for instance), that the character would actually not move as far.

Figglewatts says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:38pm

I really loved this one. Interesting use of the theme!

GrooveMan says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 6:46am

The character design for the spyware is super adorable! The MegaMan influences are definitely appreciated (I'm getting a bit of Battle Network here, considering the theme and background animation~)

Tre20tyu says ...
Jun 11, 2014 @ 4:54pm

An exceptional game. I just wished it was longer. Well done!!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]