Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Pocket

by MrShoestore - Jam Entry

Alex Schuster - Design, Programming, Music & SFX
Mikhail Delinois - Art & Animation
many sfx courtesy of freesfx.co.uk

(Updates:)
* Mac and Pc builds now up!


Pocket is a lost soul in a mysterious cavern, lost and lonely. But he's not alone. He's made a companion in the form of a mysterious orb, which he calls Spriit. The cave is also home to strange creatures, who happen to be very attracted to Spriit's green glow. With Spriit's help, guide Pocket out of the cave.

How to Play:

Navigate Pocket out of the cave, using the Action button to interact with certain objects. Some areas you will need help to get past. Use Spriit and Change color to green to attract cave creatures. When Spriit is red, the creatures are uninterested and will not try to move towards.

Pocket Controls (Keyboard):
Move - WASD
Jump - Space
Action - E

Spriit Controls:
Move - Arrows
Change Color - Right Shift

Enter - Reset
ESC - Quit


Pocket Controls (PS4):
Move - Left Stick
Jump - X
Action - O

Spriit Controls:
Move - Right Stick
Change Color - R3

Options - Reset
PSN - Quit




Unfortunately we got stuck on a lot of bugs that slowed down development intensely, so only the first level is complete. The second level loads, but you can only get so far before this stop working correctly. We're also having a bug issue with our character animation, so we hope to get that fixed here (climb animation won't switch).

A Very challenging weekend, but all in all we are happy with what we were able to get done. If you get to the second stage, stick around for the music, I'm really happy how it turned out!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#344Innovation(Jam)3.07
#352Graphics(Jam)3.44
#358Mood(Jam)3.08
#359Theme(Jam)3.18
#361Audio(Jam)3.10
#487Humor(Jam)2.28
#525Overall(Jam)2.95
#627Fun(Jam)2.41

Comments

Gamepopper says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:49pm

Animation looks good, and I liked the idea of having a spirit to help you out.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:09pm

Love the music and setting. Sadly I died 20 times trying to jump over the spikes (even though I put the rocks above them). Gonna try it again :)

MrShoestore says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:20pm

@Gamepopper. Thanks! actually at one point the animation was even better, but we had issues with the mesh deformation… #gamejamsarenotlongenough :P

@attractivenerd Yea, don't know what happened there. for a while that jump was a cinch to make if you jumped off the boulder, but towards the end of development i started to hit the spikes more often too. maybe i fudge a jump force number somewhere. Or our rock got smaller…. hate it when that happens.

Thanks for Playing!

blockbot says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:45pm

I really like the dual mechanic of the character and the sprite. Nice work!

GreatBigJerk says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:49pm

Nice art! It was really easy to get caught on geometry though.

MunkeeBacon says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:50pm

Good game, awesome shading. The jump glitched out a bit for me, but overall a nice experience!

MetanoKid says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:54pm

Liked the animation, although I managed to bug it twice. Had to download it because I though web version had a bug having everything black and didn't know what I was doing (like climbing out of nowhere), however the desktop version looked the same. A pity :(
Music helped getting into the game, and it's got decent gameplay.

pichifino says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:02am

Good game

ComicSans says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:18am

Couldn't get it to work on Chrome, Windows 7. The first time I played, the rocky background was completely black, and I couldn't see where to climb up on the far right. I thought maybe a texture didn't load, so I refreshed the page, and after that, the "Play" button wouldn't work. Such a cool idea, though, and graphics are great!

Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:56am

Amazing aesthetics and narrative, and amazing audio. Gameplay was very smooth, and you were very creative w/ the theme. Well done!

ElStevo says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:31am

I like the dual control. Good job !

Jeffalisk says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:06am

Good graphics and I liked controlling the two characters simultaneously.

A couple of times Pocket got stuck in the scenery and unable to jump, though.

malmazuke says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 11:48pm

Solid entry

TomCooper3D says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 11:50pm

cool concept but it took me wayy to long to not die on the corner of those spikes then when i fanaly got to cool looking eye dude and tried to switch spirit colours i hit "return" and it reset the whole game... in short, fuck those spikes. cool game tho nice music and atmosphere

May 2, 2014 @ 11:52pm

i like the vibe the game is giving off however the background made it kinda hard to see where i was going sometimes. otherwise good job!

dsoft20 says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 8:42am

Nice game, I really like the spirit "co-op"

PapyGaragos says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 5:47pm

Well someone was expecting another theme :)

I had a weird graphical glitch (I think it's a glitch) where everything except the background and the 2 characters were completely black. Reloading the game didn't solve the problem. So I had trouble moving navigating the world and found it very unforgiving

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]