Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Colony 31

by Crazi456 - Jam Entry

Help Joe on his journey to save his colony.

Controls:
A&D to move
W to jump
E to use/drill
Q to mount/dismount
R to restart level


Justin Luong - Programming
Kahlil Angeles - Art
Phoenix - Voice
Justin Walker - Music

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness87%
#54Overall(Jam)3.81
#60Audio(Jam)3.90
#82Fun(Jam)3.60
#110Mood(Jam)3.72
#133Graphics(Jam)4.06
#155Theme(Jam)3.59
#228Innovation(Jam)3.32
#268Humor(Jam)2.82

Comments

Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:18pm

Well hello, bastion narrator! hahah :D
I really like the storytelling, the puzzle structure and the art. Good job!
I just think the mech was underused. Nice work anyway!

gwa says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:57pm

It is a really cool game and it's fun to play.

minibutmany says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:03pm

This game has a really good vibe to it. The graphics, and the raspy voice really made it awesome. I like the idea of robot too. I'm having a lot of trouble getting past level 3!

pawegio says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:11pm

Very nice, guy you inspired me for next Ludum Dare! Narrotor rocks!

runvs says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:15pm

Great Game. Voice is extra-awesome, it reminds me of bastion. The Gameplay is really solid (with some small glitches on collision) and the puzzle mechanics work very well.

Deity says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:19pm

Very good game, narration was great.

As runvs mentioned, there does seem to be some glitches with collision when walking around in the robot.

Also, the sound effects are too loud compared to the narration volume. If I turn my system volume to be able to hear the narration then I get blasted with some loud high-pitched sound effect from jumping or such.

NoorStudios says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:34pm

Great game! really enjoyed plying it.

BruceDoh says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:45pm

Awesome narration reminds me of Bastion. Love the mechanic of being able to hop in and out of the mech thingy to get where I need to go.

Jellycakes says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:51pm

Really nice, the voice over was a nice touch and the mechanics were pretty solid. Overall nice job!

RyanNielson says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:16am

This is pretty great. You could take this to some interesting places having basically two characters with different abilities.

I really like the sound and graphics too, they really go together well.

xandy says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:16am

nice take on the platformer genre!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:17am

This is very cool, i love your stile. Great art, great game! =D

cirolve says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:18am

Wonderful aesthetic, and I love the narrator! There are a few volume issues, of course, but overall a job well done. The drill robot you pilot looks particularly cool!

greysphere says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:23am

Wow nice game! It's really neat to see and feel how all the elements the a game - the art,story,narration, puzzles, all work together to wrap you up and really bring you into the world you've created. Great job!

jugglerrob says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:34am

Good puzzles and narration.

aneeslol says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:44am

The collision gltiches were a bit frustrating, but otherwise this was fantastic in every way! I really want to know what happens next...

muramasa says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:14am

It's pretty rad. I love the artwork, and the music is good too. It's short, but nice. Levels and mechanics are pretty interesting too. I hope this gets expanded.

Now, I had a few issues. Sometimes the characters (either the mech or the guy alone) got stuck on random places. I unstuck myself by spamming jumps and/or moving back. Then retried and it went normally, kind of strange.
The other thing is that mounting the mech teleports me for quite some distance. That includes occasionally going through walls.

Wertle says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:02pm

The pacing of how you teach things is very well done. Nice little polish elements.

BuKaneerz says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:39pm

Really good game !
awesome work! The graphics are sooo cool

Korwegian says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:23pm

Narrator tries to make his voice all gravelly-Bastion like, little did he know he sounds like he's dyin'. Korwegian don't mind though, He just enjoys the game.

Mekuri says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:31pm

Nice idea for a puzzle game. I liked the idea with the mech. The narration part was awesome, and the story added some mystery to the game!

Snoother says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:16pm

Great graphics, mechanics and audio -- pretty much great everything. Loved the Bastion homage and slick gameplay design. Congrats.

travislucia says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:19pm

Great gameplay, graphics are good but tiles need some work. Fun story.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:17am

Brilliant and incredibly polished!
The concept and level design were terrific, and the charismatic voice just sealed the deal.
This is one of the best I've played this Ludum!

BenW says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:47am

I liked it a lot and the puzzles were fun but I ran into quite a few bugs. Most of them were minor things like switches not working or being able to double jump by acciden

edibletoaster says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:58am

Nicely done

Thorig says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:23am

Great game.. I gotten stuck because an elevator was blocked. I could not remove the blocking part. Nice platformer.

bitserum says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:25am

Lovely mood, graphics, story and puzzles. The narration was hard to hear sometimes and sometimes the machine would get stuck, but it was still great.

Lyje says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:10am

Oh man this is so good on pretty much all aspects!

smbe19 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:13pm

Great game with great music.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:06pm

This a really cool mechanic, good graphics and music and the level design is really clever. Would have been useful to have a quick restart button for each level as I managed to get stuck on one (I pushed the crates against a door but they needed to go on a switch).

Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:06pm

Would be cool to have a linux build, since we can't have pretty things (like web players).

CodeNMore says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:37pm

Nicely designed, fun, well done!

local minimum says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:13pm

Mode/story telling was definitely the strong points of this puzzle. I much enjoyed playing through until the map with the different light. I got stuck there. As puzzles go they were quite well balanced up until then.

The one thing that was a bit annoying was the controls and the collisions. The character was very slow to come to an halt and easy to get stuck. I also once managed to mount the drill through a wall. So if you fix controls and some other minor glitches you have a rocker game!

7heSAMA says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:29pm

I accidentally made it unbeatable by pushing some blocks in front of a door :c

Crazi456 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:34pm

You can press R to restart levels!

Lacaranian says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:39pm

Nice vibes and mood! The puzzles were a little messy at times, and you could hop into the mech from anywhere, but in the end it held together pretty well.

Fülo says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:43pm

Cool game feel. Thx

dusho says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:45pm

nice and polished, also fun. Cool game

Wakka says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:27pm

well made game, great level design

cageinabird says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:02pm

Had a bug where I could press Q and jump to mech even though I wasn't close to it.

Putting that minor point aside, I enjoyed the puzzle design and narration. The mech was nicely animated too.

burgerdare says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:37pm

feels very influenced by Bastion, which is by no means a bad thing. The environment also felt pretty fresh and unique despite being a fairly standard sort of underground-bunker type deal. There were some really cool puzzle designs in here, as well!

mcapraro says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:25pm

really great! congrats to your team! i love the two different characters, and the graphics are really just awesome! great atmosphere too!

alvarop says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:17am

I had a hard time finishing some of the puzzles, but that's on me, really. Reminded me of Chrono Trigger and Bastion. Which is really good thing, right?

SonnyBone says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:27am

Saw this in the JellyCakes stream and immediately wanted to try it out on my own. You're getting lots of love because it's a lovely little game. Good job, team!

neekobus says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:57pm

Good idea the mecha and the guy mecanic.

-Nice character graphics, and love the mecha animation (remind me a little Metal Slug) !
-Good level design.
But
- I don't like the control keys. Maybe you should remove the "E" key (at least for the guy).
-Some bugs on collisions.
- Need work on the tiles (walls, grounds, doors...)

Keep going !

Harsay says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:23pm

Good game! Sometimes glitchy. I liked the voice acting and music. Graphics are the best at cutscenes and "robot" looked very good, but tiles were very limited. I'm waiting for future version! Good job and good luck!

xdegtyarev says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:10pm

Nice narration ;)
Great polish! I would have expected a lot more drilling and a lot less platforming with a robot of this size that has a drill, but the game is fun!

Rialgar says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 2:26pm

I made a Let's Play of your game, see it here:
http://youtu.be/V1tRQVu-oiA

May 2, 2014 @ 9:04pm

Soo polished!! And great work on the level design!

Make A Game says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 1:17am

A bit buggy and the mech drill was underused, but the concept for this puzzle game is promising. Shame that the narrator mumbles a bit.

Crefossus says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 2:27am

Love the mood including the intro and ending vista. Love the animations and slick artwork.

A few glitches in collision and the button/switch. Knowing the solution but having to redo it is a little tedious.

ninjacharlie says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 12:54pm

Nice job :D

I really liked the puzzles, especially the last one. It took me a couple minutes to figure that one out.

Good job :)

Penguincat says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 8:43am

A very well put together puzzle platformer. The graphics and the atmosphere were great, and it was pretty fun. Some parts were a bit glitchy, such as the crates activating the buttons, but otherwise it was pretty solid. Nice work!

spotco says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 9:18am

Where did you get the bastion narrator from?

TobiasW says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 6:12pm

Hey Crazi! Finally I got to play your game myself after seeing it on so many streams :)

I've seen the puzzles being solved a few times obviously by now, but I still like the level design a lot - and I really like how you mixed in the bits of storytelling inbetween the levels. With voice over on top of it! Neat! Also the music was pretty great. The tiles could've needed a bit more variety, but apart from that, the graphics are sweet too, espacially the character/mech design!

Toby Pinder says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 10:51pm

Interesting mechanic for a puzzler, great sound/voiceover work (even if it's Bastion inspired) and there's some good puzzles in there. Well done!

conormn says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 1:34am

Really awesome game here. Lots and lots of promise.

csanyk says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 3:30am

I got stuck at the first obstacle. Drilled through the first wall with the machine, then stuck:( This looks good but if I can't figure out the first thing, it probably needs a bit better tutorial/explanation.

May 6, 2014 @ 10:10am

This was lovely! Great puzzles, fine pixelart, awesome narration and mood. Collision boxes were sometimes off, but this was a great, great entry and gets all my top marks!

May 6, 2014 @ 10:25pm

Super nice graphic. I included it in part 13 of my Ludum Dare compilation video series, If you’d like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/xKijfGbEYtc

romandtom says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 11:11pm

Great game! :)
lovely design, great idea
well done!

Almost says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 11:11pm

The art and sound are really nice. There is a bit of a collision bug where I sometimes can't move after I enter the mech while on a moving platform, but this is avoidable by jumping so it isn't critical.

It's a bit weird that I have such a cool mech but I only use it as a heavy object to hold down buttons.

kidder says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 1:10am

Super polished for a jam. Narration is very reminiscent of Bastion (in a good way). Very well designed levels, too - although I do wish the drill came a bit more into use.

asotelo94 says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 3:53am

Nice one!

JavadocMD says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 4:56am

I like the character design and the puzzles are pretty smart. The setting is promising as well, though I think you'd need to try to distance yourself a bit from Bastion stylistically. Strong work here!

HeroesGrave says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 7:37am

Any chance of a Linux version?

paps says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 4:09pm

loved the art and the music

ripatti says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 10:50am

Good puzzle-platformer. Need more levels!

TeamInCharge says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 2:00pm

Cool idea using a vehicle like that in a platformer. Well tuned jumping and collision. Great mood. Fun to play... wow! :)

Katamori says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 7:36pm

Engine is a little bit raw, but the concept is great, and the graphics as well.

Check my video for some gameplay-commentary!

Clavus says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 12:45pm

Fun little game! I can see where you were going with the narrator, but some subtitles would've helped, I could barely hear the guy :P

jorgemoag says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 10:25pm

Very good entry, but I can not pass level 3 :(

MrShortee says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 2:59pm

Awesome little game with interesting mechanics. More!

NightShadow0 says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 4:56pm

Very nice work, shame the drill was under-used but the puzzles were well designed. The Bastion-like narrator was great!

joe40001 says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 6:27am

Art/Music were very very good, programming was good but had a couple small bugs, voice acting was decent but I get distracted when I hear somebody doing basically an impersonation of somebody else as a narrator. Somebody else did this in this LD for Glados as far as main idea of the character.

But anyway overall very solid and like I said I loved the art/music. The sprite work was particularly impressive.

ActionRemix says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 1:18pm

I actually considered for a bit whether that was the Bastion VO - good impression! :)

May 15, 2014 @ 4:18pm

You have been featured in today's episode of Ludum Dare to Believe! Check it out! - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wDdl5RdUCTg

elefantopia says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 1:43am

very buggy but interesting combination with the mech

IAmSpencer says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 9:07pm

really enjoyed the graphics, and fun gameplay, great job!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]