Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Skull Mountain

by 8BitPimp - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Your land is being invaded by goblins, from beneath.
You need their skulls.
Hack and slash their heads off to satisfy your needs.



controls:

WSAD moves
Space slashes
p start playing/respawn
q/esc quit


Keywords:

Arena Hack'n'Slash Retro PixelArt Skullz


Info:

This game was written in C++ using SDL and my game jam framework 'LiteGame'. All pixel art was made in Photoshop and the sounds in Sfxr. Libraries used are SDL 1.2 and BassAudio.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#27Graphics4.40
#324Mood3.26
#381Overall3.35
#503Humor2.50
#558Fun3.00
#617Audio2.65
#999Innovation2.45
#1151Theme2.21
#1851Coolness32%

Comments

8BitPimp says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 9:49pm

Your land is being invaded by goblins, from beneath.
You need their skulls.
Hack and slash their heads off to satisfy your needs.


controls:

WSAD moves
Space slashes
p start playing/respawn

IvanDashSmith says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 10:02pm

ooooh this looks neat.

eldog says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 10:11pm

Cooooool weather FX.

Lightning spawn is a splendid idea.

kogyblack says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 10:50pm

Nice graphics.
Gameplay was slower than I thought it should be, but very well done.

Have you created this liteGame "engine"?
Always looked for a engine directly on SDL, but I couldn't found any. Started to do my own, but now I'll start from scratch again, since I had problems last time I was programming it.
Great job!

8BitPimp says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:55am

@kogyblack

Yes I have been working on liteGame as a small 2d game engine for use in game jams. Its still in its early stages, but forcing myself to use it for this LD was a great way to find its weak points.

More info on my blog if you are interested.

http://the8bitpimp.wordpress.com

MrShortee says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:06am

simple and slow gameplay but an awesome look and feel. i like it a lot!

Dreii says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:09am

This is probably the most beautiful game ive played tonight!
great job on the pixel art!
not sure how it ties into the theme though D:

donan says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:17am

Wow, i love the art so much. Awesome game :D
A slightly better gameplay would have done this game a masterpiece ^^

rubna says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:14pm

very neatly done! graphics are nice and crisp and animations smooth as hell! Gameplay was a little slow-paced though.

ezombort says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:32pm

Awesome graphics :)

Ludonaut says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:38pm

The gameplay is a little slow and the rain effect looks a bit static, but I really like the pixel art. Well done.

neekobus says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:36pm

Windows only :(
I'll try to build it for *nix.

MunkeeBacon says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:12pm

Game play felt a bit static but the art was nice. Not completely sure how it's beneath the surface still but not a bad game.

Nezzhil says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:14pm

Simple and beatiful, i love the orcs. Great job. :)

adamwfindlay says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:42pm

Digging the pixel art graphics!

lajos says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 2:27am

Very nice graphics. Congrats!

Bernhard says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 2:32pm

Makes a really good first impression with the moody rain and graphics. Maybe a score counter would have been nice. Well done anyway.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]