Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Octopi: The Descent

by ocmu - Jam Entry

Beneath the surface of the earth, an octupus seeks THE CROWN. Navigate treacherous... spaces... and go as fast as possible to the bottom of the depths to take the crown.

*Controls*
Click to spin attack
Drag to grab in that direction

Grab objects below you to go faster.
Spin attack objects to maintain your speed and get points.
Get a high score!

*Credits*
Kyle Anderson
Sam Laney
Jessica Laney

*Made with*
Unity
Bosca Ceoil
Photoshop

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#212Innovation(Jam)3.36
#380Graphics(Jam)3.36
#449Audio(Jam)2.88
#552Humor(Jam)2.12
#578Theme(Jam)2.68
#580Overall(Jam)2.84
#610Mood(Jam)2.59
#673Fun(Jam)2.28
#1651Coolness42%

Comments

mclewis says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:53am

I really liked the visual style and the swipe mechanism was very cool.

bvanschooten says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:19pm

Wow, that was weird! I like the 3D objects. I had trouble aiming the grab though, it seems to go into another direction than my swipe.

lajos says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:24pm

"Web" link is broken!

Lucariatias says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:30pm

Very abstract and kind of cool.
Controls were not great, though.

DarkMeatGames says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:46pm

Love the visuals, especially those dragons. Very unique! Controls were a little rough on a keyboard/mouse, but I bet it could be really cool on mobile!

Jyrkface says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:52am

I have to admit this confused the shit out of me :P But it did give me points, and that was delightful :)

gmaker says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:04am

nice concept=) good job!

TeamFlare says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:09am

I needed some time to figure out what to do, but than it was really fun. The style of your creature is really cool. And really awesome that you integrated your control style into your main menu.

SFBTom says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:11am

Very odd game, left me confused as to where I was or what was happening most of the time. I still managed to get down pretty far though. I think. Loved the graphics!

GarethIW says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:34pm

Trippy! Didn't have a touchscreen at hand to play it properly, but still had fun once I got a handle on the controls. Nice models.

May 1, 2014 @ 2:29am

Sweet graphics. I was kinda confused at the title screen and kept going to the credits, but once I got in I had fun!

Switchbreak says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:55am

The music and graphics are cool, but I had a ton of trouble controlling anything.

pjchardt says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:01am

Kinda trippy :) I was not always sure what was going on (as others have mentioned). For me I was quite confused as some things seemed to be off my z axis and I could not grab for an extended period of time. Nice mood and style though.

ChuiGum says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 6:31am

Love the art style, innovative too

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]