Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Operation Blind October

by Jyrkface - Jam Entry

I really liked this theme but had a hard time thinking of an idea that would incorporate it into gameplay well. I finally settled on an undersea battle, where being literally "beneath the surface" poses some interesting limitations.

Unfortunately I hit some snags with the flash port so that might be a teensy bit buggy, especially for people on older machines.

Regretfully I only got to work on this for the last two days so quite a few things ended up being dropped (for instance a decent splash page..) but I still had a great time and am happy with what I came up with :)

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
WARNING - NOT EPILEPSY FRIENDLY!
++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Controls - WASD to move, Left Mouse Button to shoot
Spacebar to use your SONAR

You get hurt by wrecking into enemies, going out of the screen or being hit by enemy torpedoes.

Dolphins can be helpful. Big sharks are dicks to dolphins.

The longer you stay alive the more dangerous it gets.

Look out for Giant Squid!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#53Innovation(Jam)3.83
#97Theme(Jam)3.74
#258Overall(Jam)3.38
#297Graphics(Jam)3.57
#301Audio(Jam)3.21
#344Mood(Jam)3.10
#346Fun(Jam)3.03
#608Humor(Jam)1.86

Comments

cirolve says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:43am

I liked the difficulty added by the sonar mechanic, and the ramping difficulty, very fun!

Lyje says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:51pm

Cool idea! The difficulty can get frustrating though!

Zerkruemler says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:56pm

Cool idea and solid implementation.
The sound effects are also very fitting. It has the right feelig of an arcade game. Unfortunately the sub moves quite fast and the difficulty is quite high.
Well done!

VictorDoval says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:02pm

Fun and epilectic!

ninjabit says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:31pm

I love the sound effects and art style, but the sonar game play was difficult for me. Favorite part was the game over explosion, which I heard alot :D

Maek says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:31pm

I like this black/white graphic. But the game is too hard.

XrXr says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:33pm

Very creative! The game is challenging and fun!

Moosefly says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:45pm

Interesting concept, but either the implementation needs some work or I just don't get it. It felt somewhat bland and then the difficulty setting suddenly turned to 11 :P. Loved the style and mood though, good job.

Anssi@MooseflyGames

tchem says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:55am

Great idea,,, fantastic intepretation of theme,,, simple but awesome,,, i loved it,,,,

urisensei says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:30am

A very cool idea, and well made besides. It gets pretty hard pretty fast though.

blockbot says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:47pm

This is a great concept, very interesting mechanics.

May 3, 2014 @ 1:39am

Cool! But the light time should last more than that, it's really hard to dodge something you can't see at all

May 5, 2014 @ 12:13am

The sonar audio is perfect, these graphics too. You need some practice to score in this game

Rick Hoppmann says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 9:57pm

Cool idea, but the bad controls make this frustrating.
You move too fast and glide a long way after the button is released.
I also don't see any reason, NOT to press the Sonar button. Hammering rapidly on it works fine.

The graphics are ok. Enemies are a bit hard to distinguish from your own boat, which can be confusing.
The audio is good too.

The end requires a seizure warning for epileptics either in the description or as preloader.
Also, on the presentation of the game itself: if the SWF would be centered and the page having a dark background, it would look ways better.

All in all a cool idea, but the controls make it frustrating to play.

Artless says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 5:10am

It is a constant battle against momentum and gravity that makes it hard to control your character from crashing into objects. Layer on top of that the face that you cannot always see where you are and you are in for a quick death.

Audio matches perfectly and graphics look good when I can see them.

jujule says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 10:25am

Good concept, nice art. I think setting inertia a little bit softer would make the game easier.

meszka says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 6:27pm

The concept and aesthetics are great! Controlling the ship is a little difficult. It would be nice if it was easier to stand still.

Rustam says ...
May 17, 2017 @ 4:50am

Best works with cocos2d because it's built on top of it. http://newdownloadthingsfast.com The adult or teacher can adjust the level of difficulties such as the quiz duration/passing score to cater to the varying needs of the learner.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]