Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

LAIR M.D.

by RetroEpic - Jam Entry

LAIR M.D. is a fantastical investigation game in which the player controls a doctor whose job it is to keep an army of goblins physically and mentally healthy. To do this, the player must use his eyes, wits, and bizarre diagnostic tools to unearth symptoms from a goblin patient. Curing patients quickly is good for business, but rushing the job and diagnosing the wrong ailment could kill the patient and your practice.


How to play:

Step 1.
- Left click to select a tool, then left click on different parts of your patient's body to look for reactions
- Escape or right click to release tool

Tools:
Shrunken Head
Prodder
BeholderSpud
SnifferImp
History Files

Step 2.
- Make a judgement on which cure to administer to the goblin patient with the findings you've made from the previous step.

Step 3.
- Make as much gold as possible by repeating step 1 and 2 successfully.

Each session lasts 60 seconds, save as many goblins as possible.




Downloads and Links


Ratings

Graphics(Jam)4.87
Coolness66%
#22Humor(Jam)4.06
#101Mood(Jam)3.74
#128Overall(Jam)3.61
#156Innovation(Jam)3.50
#234Audio(Jam)3.37
#292Fun(Jam)3.13
#540Theme(Jam)2.79

Comments

DragonXVI says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:21pm

Fantastic graphics, pretty funny and quite original too! Nice!

friken says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:45pm

That was hilarious. Nice art and nice mood. Good work!

SoupWithBits says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:28am

So juicy. I repeat so juicy. Great game

tiffi_gaming says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:34am

Nice art. Really really hard. Tools need better description. But game look very good!

stephan_h says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:37am

Excellent. I adhore those handpainted graphics.
And polished like a Blizzard game.

BuKaneerz says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:37am

Wow really nice art !
And so funny !
I'd like to see the other games you do !

Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:47am

OMG this is so polished!!
It's really fun but damn it's hard. Maybe you could make it 2 minutes?

Fox_in_sox says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:16am

It's pretty hard (Or I am just really horrible at it.:)), but I am overall very impressed by this game. Amazing visuals and original elaboration of the doctor game genre.

Wahooney says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:01pm

Really cool! Difficulty curve is a challenge though! I keep killing my dudes :'(

recursor says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:30pm

Great graphics and sound! Several times I was using the tools/reading the history scroll when my time was up, and I hadn't even diagnosed a single goblin. I think you should give the player longer. I mean heck, the graphics and sound alone are good enough to where I was just staring at stuff while time passed me by. Other than the time limit, this is a really nice piece of work!

eatsleepindie says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:57pm

Great concept and the art is fantastic. Awesome job!

Tuism says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:57pm

Wow the graphics are simply mad. I can't tell if the Goblin is 3D or 2D, probably 2D, but the animation of him coming in is just superb. Details!

However the game... I completely completely don't get it. Well I do, but it looks incomprehensibly hard. Idid better when I guessed everything XD It's like one of those old adventure games where I needed to click on everything... But with a TIMER :P

It could be super cool with a better learning curve :)

pattb011 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:11pm

Make a full game and put it on yo website!

Moosefly says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:08pm

Great graphics, sounds and an awesome amount of polish! The game does indeed have a steep learning curve, but after a few practice runs I managed to make it to where I had to diagnose 10 goblins. Prodder and the SnifferImp usually diagnosed the problem, or atleast left it as a 50:50 choice :D.

Would've been cool, if there were a few difficulty levels with maybe different round time, amount of goblins to diagnose, different pool of possible symptoms and diseases etc., but yeah, that's not really feasible in the LD timeframe now is it. Some kind of tutorial would've also helped to ease the player into the game.

All in all, a really great game!

Anssi@MooseflyGames

GFM says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 3:49am

This was funny... and hard! >_<
I was only able to successfully diagnose a few of them, but the process was really fun!

Oye Beto says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 4:27pm

Too many symptoms and diseases, I don't have time to read all of them and get to know how to diagnose properly. You should try sticking to 3 diseases per round and change them once the player master them. Also consider giving more than a minute.

Superb art.

Lama says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 5:18pm

Good graphics, and humor and very original but I didn't get it neither, I tried a few things and get the game over before I could understand anything :/.

xdegtyarev says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:37pm

Awesome atwork! Congrats, great entry!

TeamFlare says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 9:06pm

Wow, that's really awesome.
Graphics are great, ambient sound fits good, all the things like ui and such is very polished. Took some time to understand what I'm supposed to do ( I'm not a big manual reader), but when I had that going it was really fun :)
Congratulations, that's a five stars project :)

asotelo94 says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 1:01am

Great art guys! Very funny too!

mrexcessive says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 7:51pm

Hi. Really weird game! Like the idea, not enough time to understand what's going on with each patient, I think. I sense a new crafting/healing profession for the next big MMO here... Good job!

Ragzouken says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 5:23pm

really great audio, though voice acting feels noticeable absent (despite obviously being too much work for a jam game...)

had trouble really working out the game but the atmosphere was enough for me

mcapraro says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 6:18am

really amazing visuals!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]