Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Flesh Hunter

by TomboFry - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Fight off endless waves of monsters underground! Collect their flesh to buy upgrades for your weapons, and let the carnage continue!

Controls appear when you start the game. To proceed to the next wave, you must go through the door, make any purchases if necessary and click "Go!"

Post your highscores (and times) in the comments!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#27Fun4.00
#34Audio3.95
#83Overall3.86
#147Graphics3.90
#254Mood3.40
#408Humor2.65
#773Innovation2.76
#881Theme2.85

Comments

nxT says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:29am

A nice entry; I'm very impressed with how polished and smooth this game feels.

TomBoogaart says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:21pm

yo, the upgrading system works very well, game feels well polished overall too. you could have made getting hit by enemies more noticable in my opinion though, white flash or idk. And maybe: more different type of enemies
i liked it

mr_tag says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:27pm

Nice and polished! Cool music and sfx! And screenshake is always nice ;)

Ellian says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:33pm

Very, very fun to play. Good graphics, and the controls are exactly how you want them to be, so it's a real pleasure to play. Good job!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:37pm

Extremely well made. Fun and action packed!

dalbinblue says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:38pm

This is certainly the most well polished game so far music is good, graphics mesh well, and the control is very smooth. About the only thing I would like different is a little more vertical visibility, since the enemies come from above and I got hit many times because I couldn't see what was coming until too late.

soy_yuma says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:05pm

Woah! Nice game, very polished. It reminds me of Killing Floor with these rounds/shop mechanics. I like the mood created by the music and the camera movement. Grats!

theengineers says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:39pm

Wow, polished and beautiful.

biscuitdough says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:10am

Love the amount of polish. Had a bug where I got past wave 8 on inferno, but no more enemies spawned, and the door wouldn't open.

ChuiGum says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:22am

Very very nice! It's awesome just to think you made this in under 48 hours. Love the graphics, music, and just the game itself

spotco says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:26am

Fun to play, though pretty repetitive (since I only saw 2 enemies in the first 10 levels).

Really great music and menus (dat transition)

Almost says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:30am

The game is fun and seems polished, especially the menu and help. There is a bit of an issue where I see small gaps between some tiles as I move, I assume due to rounding them differently. The line of my pistol shot looks like it stops before it hits an enemy when it hits them because their hitbox is large, I feel it could just show the line going through the enemy., or at least as far as the center of the enemy.

I also didn't realize at first that I had to collect the point things, and went into the door as soon as it said wave complete and wondered why I was so poor.

Dietrich Epp says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:53am

Very fun to play, and great music too! I just wish there were a way to get life back, and it's frustrating when enemies drop on top of you.

Rick Hoppmann says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:54pm

I think what this games makes great is the user feedback. The dancing text, the screen shake, the animations, the sound and the +1 thingies all do their job pretty good.
As I already said previously I really like the music! :)
The pixelart is solid, I really like the colors you used. In the first level it's hard to distinguish the points and the grass.
The enemy AI can be easily tricked by camping under something.

All in all a very polished game with great user feedback and a cool soundtrack! :)

TheGreenTie says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:34pm

Those were some gooood 'n' smooooth animations.

rnlf says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:50am

This came is very complete and polished and was a lot of fun. Runs smoothly on Linux.

klianc09 says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:17pm

There is a bug in the second level, when you go down, sometimes enemies spawn inside the roof and get stuck.

Overall it's very fun and looks nice. I even managed to get the laser gun, but some things have been annoying.

I wish I could zoom out more, as the flying enemies appear really fast. Also you have to stay under a platform so no enemy falls directly on top of you. And I would have loved to be able to heal myself.

Benn says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 8:59pm

Nice entry! I like the screenshake :P

granut100 says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 10:05pm

This is a really fun to play!I t was well rounded and polished :)

Kingtrez says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 9:06pm

Nice game :)

praporomsk says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 8:45am

Good job!
Nice soundtrack :)

SK16Games says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 8:46pm

Amazing game :O really love the arts and mechanics :D

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]