Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Undermind

by FREEZX - 48 Hour Compo Entry

I made this atmospheric first person game myself (Kristijan Trajkovski).
Enjoy.

Notes on how it was made:
All models in the game i made in Blender,
Used UFPS for better first person controls.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness64%
#35Mood4.05
#179Audio3.43
#241Graphics3.70
#528Theme3.30
#586Overall3.16
#699Humor2.24
#899Fun2.62
#925Innovation2.57

Comments

Kimba says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:18am

Black screen after unity charge oO i cant do anything

FREEZX says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:34am

Should be fixed now?
Tell me if it's still not working!

mutuware says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:09pm

Noooooooo. I fell!

badlydrawnrod says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:11pm

Very eerie sounds. I wasn't entirely sure what was going on, but I was intrigued so I played to the end - or at least I think it was the end.

Kragnir says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:12pm

A bit too dark and heavy on screenshakes. Would have been nice if the ending stopped gameplay. Some nice ideas.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:17pm

Very strong mood here, the scream when you die really had me jumping! Good effort, if a little bit short... :)

BigGiantHead says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:58pm

I'm not a fan of horror games, but this one intrigued me. I love the pacing, one moment you think you are lost, but finally you find a clue and the way out.

jtpup0 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:21pm

Very dark, A few movement glitches but the progression through by each sign made me want to find out more.. so excellent game

Nizar89 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:23pm

Quite scary (i shat on my pants a little bit). Nice sound by the way.

mihaivdev says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:24pm

I think I need a diaper :|
Great atmosphere, kept me tense throughout the whole game (had headphones quite loud on).
Did you use Unity Pro's full screen effects?

FREEZX says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:46pm

I use unity's grain effect and i made my own RGB Split screen effect

Halbernacht says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:37am

Certainly has one of best moods I've seen yet.

BuKaneerz says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:22pm

Good ambiance !
Really nice work !

GarethIW says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:00pm

Took me a bit to get past the first area, but was fine after that. Really nice mood!

GamerTaters says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 3:18am

Nice eerie mood. That scream is startling!

Waterman7 says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 3:28pm

Nice visual effects. I enjoyed walking on the tracks above nothing but darkness, while those earthquakes tried to shake me off. Got some nice atmosphere going there.

Snoother says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 9:00pm

Creepy, especially with those earthquakes.

ccglp says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 9:29pm

This is so moody and scary, really nice work here! ;)

fullmontis says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 9:39pm

Great mood for sure! Amazing job on the graphics and the sounds. I would like a little more exploring in such an ambient.

Airwaffle says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 10:01pm

Moody! A bit sparse with details in the enviroment, but great effects that made it a pretty scary experience.

AdamSwaggoner says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 10:25pm

Awesome atmosphere. The mood was great!

orangepascal says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 7:35am

should be played alone in the dark :)

mrjohnson22 says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 12:26am

Okay, this game *really* creeped me out. It's a shame there wasn't much gameplay to this, but the atmosphere was absolutely perfect. The colour-blurring effect you used was top-notch, too, as it somehow added a lot to the game's aura of fear/paranoia.

Even there was no was no actual difficulty to this game, it's clear you were going for a mood-heavy game rather than a gameplay-heavy one, and you definitely accomplished that. I would have appreciated a better payoff in the end, though, since nothing happens after reaching the end of the game...those heart-stopping tremors really brought my hopes up for a confrontation of some sort!

Erkberg says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 10:16pm

Really great mood, I always had that feeling like something is gonna jump right at me and give me a heartattack, very tense. :)

Maxom says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 4:47pm

Very nice atmosphere. I really enjoyed this little journey!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]