Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Deep Sea Rescue

by TheMaster99 - Jam Entry

This is a game made for the Ludum Dare 29 Game Jam by TheMaster99 and Derek de la Peza. Enjoy!

Terrorists have sunken a sea base, and it is your job to save as many of the survivors as you can. They will run out of oxygen in two minutes, so work fast! There will be terrorist submarines trying to stop you - lethal force is authorized.

Controls:

WASD - Move
Left Shift - Sink
Spacebar - Rise
Mouse - Rotate
Left Mouse Button - Shoot
Escape - Pause + unlock mouse (may not work 100%, will investigate tomorrow. Alt+tab if needed)

Credit:
TheMaster99 - Programming, "Level Design"
Derek de la Peza - Programming, modelling, texturing, sounds
Waveland - Music

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#151Theme(Jam)3.60
#310Overall(Jam)3.31
#361Fun(Jam)3.00
#375Innovation(Jam)3.00
#416Graphics(Jam)3.27
#493Audio(Jam)2.73
#1989Coolness22%

Comments

Holofire says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:18am

Pretty fun game. Sometimes can be challenging to take out the enemies. Great game.

CharlieLove says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:23am

Pretty fun little submarine game. I beat it pretty easily without using those items(powerups?).

At the end the pop up that asks you to go back to the menu cannot be clicked as the mouse is no longer visible.

TheMaster99 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:21am

@CharlieLove

Are you referring to the icons in the lower left? Those indicate the seats you have remaining. And I agree, it's too easy but I didn't have enough time to do any significant level design, I finished with like one minute left.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:23pm

Oooooh no too short! =) It was cool but why is there only one ennemy?

TheMaster99 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:21pm

There isn't just one enemy! There are five! (5 at all times - if you kill one, another one spawns on the map!)

petey123567 says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 5:43am

Solid game, one quip: unlock the mouse when you show the restart button :)

May 3, 2014 @ 2:46am

Nice particle effects, issues with the mouse as others pointed out too.

CogComp says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 7:01pm

I liked the control-scheme, this could probably turn into a really cool game!

vilya says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 9:53pm

When you start the game for the first time the mouse pointer gets hidden, but it doesn't unhide after the game ends so clicking on the buttons is very difficult. I'm using Chrome 34 on Windows 7, maybe the problem is specific to one or both of those?

The game itself is pretty decent. It could do with a tutorial to tell you that the capsules are the people you're supposed to rescue, but I figured it out. :-)

The controls felt a bit floaty to me. I guess that's because you're going for that underwater feeling? I think I'd have preferred to have more responsive controls instead.

I wish there were more enemies, but that each one took fewer hits to destroy. To me that'd make it more fun.

Also, make it longer! If the game was longer, I'd have kept on playing longer - because despite all my nitpicking I quite enjoyed it!

jujule says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 8:42pm

I enjoyed floating around, shooting at things; action but at a somewhat slow pace. That actually set a relaxing mood. So I agree with others, make it longer.
Question : since you're using Unity, why not add Mac and Linux versions?
One last thing : the download for the web version took ages, like 20 minutes.

TheMaster99 says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 7:20pm

I didn't add mac and linux versions because they're a minority, and the web build covers them. As far as the download taking a long time, that'd be an issue with dropbox, nothing I can do on my part.

Thanks for all the feedback everyone!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]