Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Yumbugs

by Hypnohustla - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Yumbugs are fun loving creatures that enjoy flute music and prancing around in the magical fruit forest. But beware of what lies beneath that cute colorful shell...

---
Instructions:

Arrow-keys to move.
Get at least one Yumbug to the exit.

If you are having some trouble with the controls, try to remember that bouncing from walls keeps the momentum. Also, Yumbugs have zero friction so they'll run even after letting go of the controls!

---
Other notes:

This time I wanted to do something more colorful and happy. I hope it shows.

I also finally decided to learn about raycasting! Handy stuff! :)

There's a lot of bugs in the game (no pun intended) that I noticed after sleeping the night. Sometimes the yumbugs get stuck in corners. I'll try to fix this in a later version.
I also wish I had made the enemy spawning and slimes a bit more cpu friendly. There might be a serious framedrop on older computers now.

---
Tools used:

Photoshop
Propellerheads Reason
Unity
A mic and my sexy mouth.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness81%
#14Audio4.16
#24Overall4.09
#28Graphics4.39
#34Fun3.97
#35Humor3.91
#74Mood3.84
#121Innovation3.80
#889Theme2.84

Comments

Spierek says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:37am

Wow, this is really great :D Bouncing them off walls is confusing, but overall I really enjoyed this game.

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:38am

Another game that feels like a kid's game.
That's fun.

Kinda like Lemmings or something.

indigofiz says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:47am

This is so great. Graphics and audio are top notch, I'm extremely disgusted at the 'real' yumbugs (that's a good thing).

Wish it was a little bit easier though, I'm stuck in level 5. Anyway, great great job!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:56am

That is so cute. Really fun!

zell2002 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:05am

love the graphics in this. the colour and design are sweet !
game play is fun too

DavidErosa says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:10am

Great style, great audio! A pity the controls are a bit hard. I guess you are using AddForce for driving those little fellas, but it doesn't feel right. I like my player to stop when I stop pressing a key, but they kept on walking and I had to go the opposite direction to stop. Leaving that apart, an amazing game!

Thanks for making it!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:39am

Cute and scary, a classic Hypnohustler game. Mechanics are fun but frustrating at times. Nice take on the lemmings theme. 5 Star Audio for sure!

zebi24 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:26am

Just soo good... it looks like it took you a month to make it, not just 2 days. Awesome game! :)

Zolkren says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:08pm

Cool game.

manabreak says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:09pm

Awesome work! The graphics and the handling was cool, and the whole concept is really original. The sounds were a tad off, but not that much. Solid work throughout!

PS, nice to see another guy from Finland here!

Reinkout says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:51pm

You sure have a purdy mouth, nailed the audio.

j_peeba says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:29pm

Cute, disturbing and funny. A very solid lil' game!

feiss says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:32pm

great!! best overall entry I've tried so far. Amazing in every aspect, I hate those bugs..

ninjacharlie says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:38pm

Nice job! This game was pretty polished :)

I don't really see how this related to the theme. Was it how the happy bugs had the evil ones under the surface?

The audio was awesome, and the evil bugs freaked me out a bit. Good job :)

PapyGaragos says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:44pm

Haha, I spent a while running left and right in the level selection screen wondering what I was supposed to do.

quill18 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:50pm

Fantastic graphics, great sound, excellent gameplay ideas and puzzles.

Given the child-like graphics, it's super disturbing (maybe in a good way) how jarring it feels when your critters turn "evil".

Ludonaut says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:10pm

Great game. The bugs are so cute!

NightShadow0 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:33pm

OMG, this is incredibly adorable and disturbing at the same time. Brilliant.

WhiteWolf93 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:58pm

Cute monsters being corrupted and then RUUUUUN, really fun!! Sounds are awesome and helped a lot, a bit hard but enjoyed it :D

Aaants says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:25pm

Hah, great fun

TomBoogaart says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:22pm

them little monsters scared the crap out of me haha

ehtd says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:44am

Quite enjoyable

oatsbarley says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:46am

When they lose their shells it's pretty horrifying! Nice job.

kyyrma says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:55am

At first I thought the graphics were really cute, but man, the game is downright disturbing once things get going! Fantastic graphics and audio, especially love how the music changes once things start going south.

Game feels like something that could work as a full game, probably on mobile platforms.

mortus says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:07am

They are some scary bugs!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:57am

Brilliant game and so polished. Impressed with what you got done in the time.

Tweak says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:34pm

This game was beautiful! (and disgusting.. poor bugs)
Seriously very addicting and enjoyable!

Beavl says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:20pm

Wow, Roope, we love your twisted mind, man. Those anus-like exits are awesome. Game is great, with good balancing and level design. Congrats on another amazing entry!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:10pm

This is beautiful, great sounds and as brutal as a game like this should be! The drippy things seem a bit unfair but this is otherwise winning the competition so far for me. Excellent in every way. Fantastic work!

wdebowicz says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:28pm

Very nice art!

Jared Sartin says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:04pm

This is rather fun and challenging. More levels!

Mekuri says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:48pm

This game is really great. I decided to download the exe, to have it for later, since I really enjoyed this game. I could easily see this as a marketable game, with some more levels. - Great level design, great mechanics, great sounds- Great everything!!!

Secret_Tunnel says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:04pm

This is goofy and colorful and great. I played about half the level and had my fill, but just seeing those little guys run around onscreen was fun for me. Nice job.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:00am

This game is really cute and well made. Good job! I included it in part 2 of my LD29 compilation video series, if you'd like to check it out :)
http://youtu.be/JHNjbQTDBuQ

rylgh says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:51am

man, so well done. the zombified bugs creep me out, love it

Dreii says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:08am

Great job! awesome graphics and sweet level design!

xerohuang says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:10am

Wow, really great! The sound is cute. :)

Halbernacht says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:29am

Somehow fun and frustrating at the same time. I've yelled some obscenities as these Yumbugs that are best not repeated.

Tifu says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:44am

This was great XD
I'm so glad I don't get scored on how many made it in the door, cos most levels it was just one :P

garygreen says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:32pm

This is great. Looks, play & sound. Nice work. :-)

Impmaster says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:33am

These little things are the cutest things ever, until they started to terrify the fuck out of me. Great game, although the controls kind of sucked.

May 1, 2014 @ 10:00am

So cute and the gameplay is really great! Only thing is that it doesnt really relate to the theme.

May 2, 2014 @ 12:13am

Liking how you used the theme for a nice twist on an otherwise colorful and playful game. Wee hew!

Thorig says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 8:20am

Good game, it is like a mix of pikmin and lemmings.

zdonkeyx says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 1:14am

So CUTE :3 It was actually pretty challenging, I enjoyed this entry.

malmazuke says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 2:04am

Great game, but very hard!

petey123567 says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 7:45am

Awesome use of split-attention!

petrih says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 9:42am

Hah, love it! Great, great, great!

icereci says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 10:46am

liked the sound and the art style. good job.

May 3, 2014 @ 10:49am

This is great :D
I love the graphics!
Good job! :)

Azatoni says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 2:12pm

Nice atmosphere, beatiful creatures and interesting gameplay!
But it becmoes too difficult at levels with mushrooms

jacklehamster says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 3:11pm

Nice challenging levels. After reading the description I thought. Yeah, this is definitely colorful and happy. So when those creatures turned into little monsters, I was caught off guard! Great entry!

mrexcessive says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 7:22pm

Hi. Lovely mood, and change of mood when bad things happen.... Excellent!

Catman says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 5:00pm

Fun and innovative, I like it! The graphics are great too, awesome. :)

May 11, 2014 @ 5:38am

Cutest game all time. The mechanics are very original!!

GFM says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 2:02pm

This game is so polished! Amazing!
This was also a great take on the theme! I just noticed and I say out loud "Why do these bugs have to transform after they lose their shell..."
Graphics were really good and cute! :)

Overall, an outstanding game. Congrats! =D

mark.goetz says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 2:43am

Very good, love the graphics and sound! It gets hairy pretty quickly, but it is just too adorable.

madflame991 says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 7:06am

Really funny and challenging. Good job!

ohsqueezy says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 3:51pm

Run around with crazy bugs it's so nutty it's like the ultimate physical dream

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]