Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

DownDown

by mrexcessive - 48 Hour Compo Entry

EDIT: If you have Chrome problems - won't detect "Click to start" then please try switching to different TAB and back, this fixes it, it seems. Bug in Unity or Chrome.

EDIT: it seems some versions of Chrome have problems with click detection in Unity - never come across this before, I think it may be the multiple cameras.

Please try in another browser if "Click to start" fails in Chrome - thank you for your patience!

-----
Click the blocks to collect them in groups. You can only see the top layer of blocks to start with, more is revealed _ahem_ BENEATH as you click away...


I used the excellent Unity to create this little game. I've only submitted a web version and source, ran out of time to test on multiple platforms, seems to work Windows 7 or 8, IE or Chrome. Please let me know if you find different !

As well as Unity I used BXFR, Audacity and a little bit of NGUI.
The piano playing is me also, recorded with phone and doctored with Audacity.

If you are building from Source you will need Unity 4 with NGUI in your project - please let me know if you run into any problems.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#548Audio2.79
#596Innovation3.00
#668Fun2.89
#922Overall2.80
#1019Mood2.43
#1046Humor1.55
#1140Theme2.25
#1184Graphics2.03

Comments

manabreak says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:57am

At first, I thought I understood the game, but as I progressed, I found that I didn't. The sound effects were waaay too loud compared to the music. Also, I tried playing it on Chrome, but the "CLICK to start" didn't work there. Firefox handled it well, though. :)

Suese says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:59am

"Click to start" doesn't work.

clearlyspam23 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:04am

some aspect of the game were a little confusing (the blocks turning to stone when failed, but then turning right back when clicked again). However, the music was very nice. good job!

mrexcessive says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:24am

Hmmm... Thank you for bug reports... I'll have to look at that, pesky Chrome works fine here currently. I think it's related to my using more than one camera.

If you get a chance please try on Firefox or IE!

malmazuke says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:27am

Very original, and I like the music. A little confusing at first, but you get the hang of it

Jerick says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:28am

I'm a sucker for piano music and puzzle games, so this was great.

orangepascal says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:54am

Not really sure about this one. A lot of stuff that doesn't seem to be really connected with each other (background photo, then simple cube graphics, then the animated flames, and the music....)

Still I did keep playing for a while, so I guess it has "something" :)

alvarop says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:30am

I didn't really get the game mechanics and the visuals didn't seem to fit well together. The atmosphere was weird, which I liked, but I didn't quite get the game on itself.

mrexcessive says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:00am

Thanks for f/b... I just had that background hanging around... I think visual design is definitely my weakest point - though maybe there are others I can't even see!

Much of the art was just "first version" and then left like that because getting the 20 levels to work filled all the time available.

cageinabird says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:25pm

The core gameplay was pretty fun - I got to about level 9 and would have continued playing - but I don't like that the whole game restarts when you lose. (It's also hard to know how far you are away from losing.)

mrexcessive says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:39pm

@cageinabird I was going to add lives, but that's tricky in this sort of game - you can always click an Orange and off to reshuffle and buy some time!
Perhaps I should have put unlock codewords for each level or something... or just a "start at level" feature

Lucio says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:43pm

Lovely music and a good puzzle! I dont know if is a good fit on the theme, but a nice puzzle overall in my opinion.

pancakecity says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:52pm

Interesting puzzle game! I really liked your music.

Lucariatias says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:25pm

A lot of fun to play, quite addictive.

Brian Corr says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:44am

Hey!

This is really fun! I wish I had a real mouse to play with.

I would warn that the penalty of 'mixing things up' when you fail on certain colours is actually a benefit as it reveals a lot of blocks and evens out everything.

I'm not sure if that was intentional. If so then great! Because i think it turned out to be a very cool mechanic in case of panic.

I think it's really good. If i could change anything I'd make it 2d. The 3d isn't really serving a purpose and it lokos a bit out of place with the lovely beach backgounrd. Coule be as simple as a little camera change in unity.

Anyhow, really nice entry! The first few levels move a little slowly but it ramps up into a really addictive puzzle game! :) :) be proud

mechabit says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:42am

Interesting puzzle game. Would be good to see a more polished version on mobile devices.

PapyGaragos says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:22pm

You don't need to play it in another browser, you just need to resize the window and it will work.

Nice concept, and nice music (which was not loud enough compared to the sound effects)

SirJson says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:29pm

This could be a cool smartphone game

Lacaranian says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:06pm

Made it up to Lil' Sebastian. Some things seemed a bit mixed up, but some solid puzzle gameplay with escalation.

mrexcessive says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:21pm

@Lacaranian Grats on getting to Li'l Seb! good going. It's pretty manic by then.
@All I know it really needs 2 or 3 weeks polishing time and making things consistent... I used the beach photo because that's where I walked the dog on Sunday morning in middle of LD29 !

josefnpat says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:30pm

The unity web player does not play on linux. Can you please release a linux binary?

mrexcessive says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:39am

Hi. Have added Linux binary. I don't have a way to test this setup - apologies for that, but if you try it please let me know if it works!! thank you.

Ken Ichi says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:16pm

Awesome game! Congratz!
It's still a bit buggy (when colors not match it changes all color blocks to black) but its preeeeetty addictive =]

mrexcessive says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:53pm

@Ken Ichi... That colours not match change blocks to black is Supposed to happen! That only happens if you fail to match Yellow, Orange or Purple... it is a punishment!

Brodenino says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:30pm

Pretty cool idea! It was nice to see how the gameplay is built up as you progress, with each new cube type having its own contribution to the game. I begun to lose it when the orange cubes arrived. Quite addictive gameplay other than that :)

gre says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:03pm

Nice music. Concept is simple but works.
Where is the theme?

mrexcessive says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:48pm

@gre Theme is you can't see blocks below the top one on each column, until you uncover the top one... so you dig down to gain information, allowing you to remove the blocks.

GamerTaters says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 12:02pm

Nice game. Piano track builds up tension nicely between levels. Enjoyable puzzle game.

Snicklodocus says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 3:09am

Pretty fun! At first the game was very easy, but started to get challenging by level 5 or so! In the heat of the moment I would forget the number each color needed, so I feel some display on the cubes themselves would be nice. The mix up on failing to match orange cubes actually saved me once, so that punishment should be rethought! All in all, very fun!

mrexcessive says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 9:56am

@Snicklodocus yes the Orange punishment is supposed to be a lifeline, but its a desperate one as Orange and Purple both (slightly) speed up the upward sliding each time you fail...

May 4, 2014 @ 5:50pm

The mechanics are really interesting and the game is fun, but the graphics are weird

May 4, 2014 @ 6:03pm

Had a lot of fun once I figured out the "#/color" mechanic. The different themes were a little jarring in the overall presentation. Just wish I could have continued after losing a level instead of having to start back from the beginning!

May 4, 2014 @ 8:28pm

Innovative concept and pretty addictive little game. I can't say I'm fond of the graphics or the music :(

ruerob says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 9:55pm

That is a really interesting game. First i didn't have realized what to do. But the further i came the more I know what to do. But unfortunatly the second or third level with the purple blocks got me and my stones get burned at the top. That was really fun, thank you.

jeffz says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 7:04am

I enjoyed the piano piece. Well done!

elefantopia says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 3:19am

Interesting game play. Confusing at first, but after the first few levels, it becomes clearer. Nice music!

lightsoda says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 4:58am

Decent puzzle game, making a mistake and turning all the blocks black can make it quite tricky, and panicky.

Warboys says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 6:57am

Nice concept, I like the way the puzzle element of the game slowly reveals itself through the first few levels. Lower penalty on failure (in terms and audio and restarting) would make the experience far more streamlined. Also developing a theme more linked to the idea of numbers (just using numbers themselves perhaps) would help communicate the mechanics to the player without the need for that side widget.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]