Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Symphony of Life

by Bernhard - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A failed musical puzzle experiment.

Plants seeds of life beneath the surface of the planet.
Harvest resources to grow your population.
Prevent your people from extinction.
Create the Symphony of Life.

Control:
- Click to plant seed / zoom in / zoom out
- Mousewheel to zoom in / zoom out
- Scroll by moving the mouse close to the edge
- Or Scroll with arrow-keys
- ALT+Enter to switch between fullscreen and windowed mode

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#110Innovation3.84
#205Audio3.38
#465Theme3.36
#483Mood3.06
#566Graphics3.16
#658Overall3.08
#760Fun2.79
#1746Coolness37%

Comments

GlowingSnail says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:04am

This looks like ... one of those musical games where you have to hit a colored key amongst four when the pointer goes over it? Or something like that? I didn't really get it. Cool nonetheless.

shuanDang says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:05am

Liked the concept and the sounds, but the rules of placement were not immediately obvious.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:34pm

It was hard to understand what to do, but I did it and the game is amazimg! Love sound generation, gameplay and idea

reheated says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 12:09pm

You said "failed experiment" in the notes but I wouldn't describe it that way. Maybe the gameplay wasn't quite as deep as you were hoping but it's one of the most original ideas I've seen here and it was fun to figure out what to do and then to actually try to do it. (The music got a little tiring though.)

Atridas says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 12:27pm

REUS?

I'll play that this evening as soon as I have time :D

gwa says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 12:30pm

Cool Game Only the double bindings of zoom anoyed a little and the rules are not so clear but its fun and I beat the first world :)

ElStevo says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 2:12pm

Really good idea, I'm sure with more time this could develop into a nice musical puzzle. At the moment, I'm not really understanding where I can and cannot place the elements/notes. Also, the music could be a bit more entertaining. But I love the graphics, and the game feels very smooth.

HybridMind says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 3:28pm

Interesting and innovative concept. I couldn't really get much entertainment out of it though besides randomly clicking around quick enough so that I didn't die. I couldn't figure out how to write my own tune or really understand what affect I could have on the world besides clicking in grids to plant various seed notes.

pichifino says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 3:35pm

Like it

JaJ says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 4:23pm

It's hard to get a hang of, I didn't really know what I was doing to be honest...

Atridas says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 4:30pm

Ok, I see what you mean with "failed experiment".

Problem is, I have no musical ear, so I got no idea what I was supposed to do. Some focus testing whould have helped. Concept is amazing. Controls need some refineming, but wathever...

pvwradtke says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 12:36am

Cool, i liked the idea inspired by Lumines and other puzzle games to have a line scrolling to make things happen.Maybe it needs more polish, but very far from a failed experiment in my opinion.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]