Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

The goldminor

by mat1er - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The Goldminor is a game about a guy who want to be rich!
So he dig beneath the surface of the earth to find gold.
And... That's all.

Press space to start digging and press again when the line came into the red, press the arrow keys to move and choose where to dig. You can't go back upward.

Find the gold in less than 100 seconds to win a trophy!

Game made with Game Maker, sounds with FL-studio.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#399Theme3.44
#766Innovation2.78
#799Humor2.11
#856Audio2.13
#884Overall2.85
#947Fun2.55
#1049Mood2.38
#1051Graphics2.38

Comments

schnüt says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:48am

The idea reminds me of boulder dash, but this one is a tad simpler, of course.
I am not really a fan of the "hit the red on the line to dig"-thing. It doesn't really change much if i don't hit (i just try again), so I think it might have been easier if the spacebar digged in the direction directly.

CodeNMore says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:52pm

I kind of liked this game, but just a bit slow for my liking (then again, I am impatient...) that's a good, simple idea!

JimmyBoh says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:54pm

Just as @schnüt said, I'm not a huge fan of the red bar either, but maybe using it as a power bar would be better? So instead of break or not, have it break 0-2 blocks, but make sure there are areas that require a fine touch.

mrhill says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:00pm

Animations go a long way.

RobotParking says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:01pm

NOTHING MINOR ABOUT IT

xandy says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:30pm

the red bar is a nice idea but imo not suitable as the sole mechanic. the rest of the game is fine though :)

Stepperz says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:35pm

Well made, i like the idea as well:)

BigRat says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:04am

It's fun to play

Belvar says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:04am

Not very challenging but fun to play and well made. I like the idea of changing a gameplay rule at each level and that the player have to find out what is different every time.

pyrogames says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 5:30am

Can't quite figure out how to really do anything...

kirbytails7 says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 5:31am

Nice and simple. I like how the mechanic changes subtly as you progress deeper.

Almost says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 8:19pm

It would be really nice to have an indicator of the tile that I am trying to dig on top of my character or on top of the tile itself. I didn't notice the arrow in the corner for a long time, and it's not really in a good position to be seen quickly

I also saw a lot of what looked like gems in the background of tiles, but I couldn't find any way to collect it.

Nkracer says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 8:34pm

Menu music is good, game is pretty fun, nice job!

mat1er says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 8:56pm

"I also saw a lot of what looked like gems in the background of tiles, but I couldn't find any way to collect it."
They are just graphics, made to make the game a little more beautiful.

CiderPunk says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 9:18pm

209 seconds!
Control reversal is _ALWAYS_ the opposite of fun, when will people learn! otherwise good effort :)

May 5, 2014 @ 3:07pm

The concept is awesome, but the gameplay is kind of slow and hitting the red thing is always in the same position so its no that hard. Was fun tho :D Great work :D

ChuiGum says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 6:34am

I really liked the graphics, simple yet fun

Alucard J says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 3:50pm

Fun little game. Looks like you tried some different gameplay mechanics, and while some didn't fit, it was good that you tried different things. I could see how you were trying the reflex bar with the time to reach the gold, perhaps it would be more frantic if the timer counted down (like you were running out of air), that way you would only see the lower levels if you were quick enough, and the game would have lose condition. Keep up the good work.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]