Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Radix

by phi - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A game about roots. No, math nerds, I don't mean square roots, I mean real tree roots. Grow roots to grow the biggest tree ever grown. Roots.

- Tested on Chrome, Firefox and Internet Explorer
- Google Chrome recommended
- Play with tutorial first!

HINT: If you get frustrated by the almighty mice, try branching off roots earlier, so you don't lose everything if you can't kill them in time. They can't gnaw on the main root!

Thanks for playing.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#122Theme3.82
#199Innovation3.61
#267Overall3.49
#489Fun3.09
#570Humor2.42
#707Mood2.83
#821Audio2.22
#868Graphics2.67

Comments

AgeNt_ says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:38am

Good fun!

KayZ says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:20pm

398m on my second try after the mice ruined everything on my first one. Never had so much urge to find mouse poop.

Luis Anton says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:09pm

This is quite similar to my first idea!! :D I wish you could see my thinking-notebook, your game is almost my first draft - and I still think it's a good idea. Nicely implemented!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:05pm

It's a good idea. The gameplay with the mouse is too frustrating though.

igwb says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:09pm

I actually like plant growing games...
Now that that's said:

I am now more terrified of mice than I was ever before. Perhaps you could have made them a little less overpowered, for example by not letting them destroy _all_ the roots below the one they bite. Another thing that bothered me a litte is that resources are so far away from each other. This also makes it hard to catch a mouse in time, since you have to spend half a minute scrolling.

Tweak mice and the resource spacing a little and I think the game will play a lot soomther. But I wouldn't expect that in 48 hours. For that, it's great! (And it already is a lot of fun)

tinfoilboy says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:37pm

I like this game. It has a lot of great things going for it. To be honest, I haven't seen a plant growing game, so I was very pleased to see something like that. The game was pretty fun, and I liked how you used the theme. Going beneath the surface to get water to grow your tree is a very nice interpretation of the theme. The graphics were pretty good, and it was pretty funny. Overall nice work!

pknowles says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:35am

423m... nearly half a K

Zerkruemler says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:24pm

Really cool game. The mouse gives the random factor as it is not really controlable. Good implementation and fun!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:34pm

loved it! very fun even at this early stage. Nice idea and execution.

i did not encounter the holy mace and managed to get a small tree of 294m at the first run.

seeing the big tree at the end was very rewarding (- :

thx for the game!

CodeNMore says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:53pm

Smart idea, fun, cool!

ActionRemix says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:53pm

185m!

Joror says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:35pm

Fun & addictive, simple bit good mechanics. Redundancy & speed are the key I guess. :)

ccglp says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:03pm

Very well designed, I like the way the roots grow and the "die" mechanic too

Moosefly says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:47pm

301m after a couple of tutorial runs (had to do the tutorial twice, since I thought the mice were invisible when in fact they were just perfectly camouflaged into the background :P).

We also made a growing simulator for last Ludum Dare, but it wasn't nearly as fancy as this. Lovely implementation.

Anssi@MooseflyGames

torcado194 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:52am

wow what an origional idea! presented nicely too! very nice job :)

lyla says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:39pm

Hey, I also made a tree/root game. This is nice, though I agree about the mice. Maybe it's because I'm using a touchpad, but I never saw the mice, which made it seem that much more random. With a little warning and a way to combat them, it would be a really mechanic. Nice tutorial.

May 3, 2014 @ 2:41am

Neat idea. Agree about others points on the rat being difficult and frustrating.

XenosNS says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 2:17am

Very nice job, enjoyed that

SlipperyPete says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 7:07am

I haev no idea how others managed to get insanely large trees, I have no issues with the mouse, it's the time limit that's killing me, highscore is 100ish.

SlipperyPete says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 7:25am

15th run it's now at 206m

klianc09 says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 4:57pm

Fun game. On my second try I managed to scavenge all resource in half the time and then I didn't know what I should do anymore. Still my tree only grew to 418m.
The mice are really hard to spot, and the slow scrolling makes it nearly impossible to stop a mouse that is at the top when you are currently at the bottom. Gnawing through the bigger roots should take more time, to make it more balanced.
But the concept is simple and fun.

ChuiGum says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 6:07am

Really innovative!

SnoringFrog says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 6:35am

Managed to get 210 meters on my 2nd try. Pretty cool idea. I liked it.

TeamFlare says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 9:46pm

wow very innovated idea and nice game!!

May 18, 2014 @ 5:01am

Very original game! I like it!

gandalf1209 says ...
May 31, 2014 @ 4:18pm

Haha, that's really clever! Honestly one of the best I've played

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]