Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

ECM

by Tamik - 48 Hour Compo Entry

In the future, explosive battles with great warships are costly. Electronic warfare weapons are being used more and more to save on ammunition. You are a virus that has been launched as part of the Electronics warfare suite. Your mission is to go beneath the surface of the enemy, into their computers and disable the enemy ship so that we may be victorious!


I had a hard time with this theme so I went ahead and tried to link to the innards of a computer and to link it kind of to an idea I had for a game a while back. Also I need to stop trying new tools when starting ludum dare. I really enjoyed using Unity this time though and will continue working with it. So yeah this is my first deployed Unity game.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#1080Theme2.41
#1151Mood2.10
#1196Graphics1.97
#1220Overall2.23
#1222Innovation1.93
#1233Fun1.80

Comments

snooze82 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:13am

nice idea to collect bits :)

eteeski says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:35pm

I like the way the player leans. Good to see enemy variety too :) the jumping is a bit tricky :/ But overall not bad, especially for your first game in unity :)

minibutmany says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:35pm

Good work using Unity for the first time. The blue robot reminded me of eve from wall-e.

atlantian says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:25am

I liked the characters lean. Jumping was a little hard to get used to

Zathalos says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:30am

The jump controls were super unresponsive. Sometimes I would jump really high and sometimes not at all. The text was really large too. If you fixed the jumping and added some sounds/music, the game could be even better. Keep working at it and you'll make even better games. :)

Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:14pm

Its quite fun and I like the aestethics but controls need some polishing and maybe the camera could be a bit farther so that player can see more where he's going.

ActionRemix says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:29pm

I cannot figure out jumping for the life of me. Help, please

Stepperz says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:40pm

Cool idea, but the graphics need a bit of work and the jumping seems a bit too fast.

blockbot says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:49pm

I liked the speed of the game, better control on the jumping would be nice. Nice submission!

ElStevo says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:53am

Good idea for the theme ! Jumping is a little weird when I hold space.

PixelFeet says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:06am

I really like the way you interpreted the theme, although the physics are a bit wonky. It also would have been nice if there was audio--not necessarily music, just sound effects, though I realize in a competition this short there isn't always time for that.

lajos says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:01pm

Nice for first unity game! Controls and collisions seem a bit erratic.

May 3, 2014 @ 2:43am

The controls need a lot of work. Very hard to understand why the character jumps the way it does.

mrexcessive says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 8:00pm

Hi there. Interesting idea. Gravity seems way cranked up, jumping is like at 5g or something! Though... this does make it feel quick paced, so... Some sounds would have been cool. BXFR is great for making sounds for Unity, with Audacity to trim/edit the results.

Katamori says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 7:09pm

Sorry, I didn't like it at all. Ugly, and hard to control. Almost impossible.

matt_j says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 1:04am

There were ghosts on my head!

But yeah, keep learning Unity, and next time you'll be able to make something better with less stress :)

mrbungle says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 2:10pm

The jumping is all off... good interpretation of the theme though.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]