Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Captain John's Buried Treasures

by martijn - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Dig out treasures from the ground by blowing up de ground below you. Falling stuff can kill you so try not to get squashed.

Controls:
Arrow keys:Movement/aiming
X: Jump
Z: Use Bombs
R: Reset level

Additionally:
R: restart level
f4: Fullscreen
Enter: Skip level

If you are not using windows, the game works well with wine.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#269Fun3.39
#356Humor2.75
#497Audio2.87
#579Graphics3.14
#586Overall3.16
#699Innovation2.87
#777Mood2.74
#873Theme2.86

Comments

manabreak says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:20am

First off, the game crashes if you flood bombs! Other than that, nice game. The theme is not that clearly visible in this one, though. Audio is fine, and graphics are good enough. Solid. :)

whalebot says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:22am

Thought it was your basic platformer up until I saw how to use bombs. Then I just blew the crap out of everything! :) That was pretty fun, but the frame rate seemed to lag pretty significantly. I imagine each of those blocks might have been doing a bit too much causing the game to run a bit slowly. Overall cool dynamic terrain effects.

mtinkerhess says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:23am

Nice block physics, with the sand and dirt and water. The water physics especially look like a tricky thing to implement, good work on that! The puzzle solving is fun. Nice sprite and animations -- especially when a block falls on your head!

There are some crashing issues, like if you hold down z and fire a bunch of cannonballs, which ended up stopping me from getting too far in the game.

John Drury says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:24am

Game crashes for at at level 2.

Empyrealhell says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:26am

Not bad. It got a bit repetitive after a while, and the knockback from the cannon made digging laterally pretty irritating. Overall it was a good entry, lots of content for 48-hours.

Huder says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:33am

It runs terribly slow on my laptop, and game crashes but graphics and physics is good.

Fasox says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:38am

Some technical problems, but man , the game got me after a level 2 :)

Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:40am

Crashes with bombs!! Other than that, GG!

eldog says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:41am

On Linux so can't play. But I like the character art! :)

Idkfawin32 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:45am

the particles when collecting the treasure was such a rewarding experience. Like a happy little goldsplosion

muramasa says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:49am

Captain John. Arrrr!! This game is fun, but after some levels, I started to think if they were procedurally generated. Or if there was an end. After the second one I lost count (?). But I know I beaten more than 10.

lief says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:58am

Nice little terraria styled game. I really liked the collapsing dirt effect and the water dynamics.
Good ideas for a basic little platformer. I've been kicked off the computer so my daughter can play it, thanks.

TomBoogaart says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:25am

runs too slow on my laptop to play ::::(((((, looks pretty coolcool

Majsmanne says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:27am

Most polished platforming mechanics I've seen so far this compo, but runs very poorly. You've managed to create an impressive amount of levels considering the time limit and the graphics are basic but pleasing. Good job!

gnerkus says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:51am

I love the bombs. I just blow everything up until some rock falls on me.

Dreii says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:57am

:D pretty fun feels nostalgic with the snappy feedback

terraco says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:02am

Flooded with bombs. Crashed it. Had a blast ;)

Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:30am

I have a crash in the next area if I pick up something :c
But other then that. The game looked good!

Lrnk says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:35am

Really cool! Ran fine for me. I love the feel of the bombs and the attention to detail with the grass animation

hexagore says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:40am

Well that's fun isn't it? Excellent pixel art. You get splatted a lot, but it always feels like your own fault.

lekochen says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:43am

This is surprisingly fun!! Well done!

Foofur says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:44am

Not réally innovative, but like the way you worked it out. Fun to play, clean game. but drop the bomb sfx pls

lantto says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:49am

Very nice!

I had some performance issues but other than that I enjoyed it very much. It's a very satisfying feeling wrecking havoc with the bombs and it was funny the first time I got squashed by my own greediness.

It would be nice to be able to go back a level since I accidentally jumped to the next one.

Seppel says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:47pm

It's laggy, it crashes, and it's fun!

I love Captain John's movement animation.

morcosan says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:44pm

well done :)

Doubstract says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:45pm

I just destroyed everything :)
Great game!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:58pm

i had to install directplay to play it ;p i like the fluidity of it.. and love the little particle anims when you pick up a treasure.. crashed if i set too many bombs off tho ..good job :)

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:09pm

Funny and easy going game!

WhiteWolf93 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:26pm

Really fun and interesting, some levels are challenging, not bad! :P, graphics are nice too

Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:00pm

It's odd that I can throw more bombs in late levels but if I throw more than one at a time on the third level(first bomb level) I almost always crash.

The mechanics and concept are very cool. I stopped on the level with row of chests because too many bombs were required to get through all the dirt and I kept crashing :]

lixaxil says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:12pm

Best entry so far. I love how you can blow up everthing with enough patience.

Gins says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:20pm

Cool game, feels good to break everything with bombs :D
The music makes me want to move ^-^
Unfortunately it crashes on Windows 8 due to that nasty Game Maker sound glitch. Also I'd recommend to put the file into a ZIP rather than making it a raw EXE download because antivirus programs typically don't like that.

mihaivdev says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:16pm

Bonus points for destructible terrain and particle physics! Too bad it crashes often. Keep it up!

ENDESGA says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:19pm

Interesting game :) I love it

benmcnelly says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:33am

Other than the crashes, showed a lot of potential, and a lot of fun.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:30am

aaargh. neat game with cool graphics - too bad it kept crashing on me. good job.

Thorig says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:23am

Nice game, too bad it crashed sometime. Still a good entry.

Siewart says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:35pm

Really fun, however I had some trouble in understanding the trigger for the blocks to fall, but it seemed like the explosions could trigger this + some stochastic transistion

Muu? says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:45pm

Crashes if you throw too many bombs.
But overall is a small and enjoyable game.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:49pm

Love the physics. Other than it laggy, the game is quite good. :)

blahoink says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:22pm

pretty good, nice well polished gameplay. just a bit too shallow.

hyouko says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:31am

My question is this: where are all the bombs coming from?

Perhaps it's best not to know.

angelk says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:49am

I really like how the world falls on you. It's great that it's not simply an average platformer, it allows for some much more interesting puzzles.

Crazi456 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:23am

All the treasure is mines! Nice work!

spotco says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:03am

Pretty fun (in a Terraria like way).
Had a random bug where I glitched through walls though.

Sparrow says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:24pm

Awesome, Captain John is awesome! Can't find a fault in this. I'm running on a laptop but no performance problems whatsoever.

metkis says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:14pm

Interesting game, great job!

TijmenTio says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:45pm

Loved bombing everything into oblivion until it crashed. Had a nice run though.

jujule says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:08pm

Overall presentation is good. Controls are responsive. I liked the Dig Dug + Terraria + sort of real physics mix. And you managed to make a lot of levels.
Solid throught and through.

lasagnegames says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 8:39am

You should do a post jam version for sure. Good work on the controls very fluid.

May 5, 2014 @ 9:12am

Fun little game. Maybe needs some polishing on the controls, but anyway, was fun blowing everything up!

WhiteWolf93 says ...
May 20, 2014 @ 4:15pm

You did very well! Those ratings :/, This game was very fun for me, I don't care what people rates but this game was fun for me and I loved the style and the idea. I hope you make a new game for ludum dare 30! I'm making a list of people who made me have a good time and are going to participate in ld30, you are one of them and I wanna rate your next game :), so let me know if you are gonna participate! The next time i'm gonna be in the jam! Really good luck!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]