Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

vers la lumiere

by davidB - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A 3D runner with light at the end.

# Compo version includes :

* 3 levels, sometimes you can't escape (" it's not a bug, it's feature" ;-) )
* no sound
* azerty / qwerty support

- on Windows, (enable D3D11 on chrome via chrome://flags should increase performence), works on Chromium and Firefox (slower), failed on IE 11
- on Linux, works on Chromium and Firefox (slower)
- on MacOS, not tested (feedback ?)

# Post-compo version

* May be, I have some idea I would like to add (like sound fx, optimisation)
* Do you have any suggestions ?

# Technologies

* html5: webgl (raymarching), css
* language : dart (transpiled to javascript)
* some code libraries,... were copied/pasted/adapted from my other game (vdrones) and libraries (everything available on github).

# Update :

* port to Windows (chrome + Firefox) completed after the 48H , (before you have to enable D3D11 on chrome via chrome://flags )
* perf on Linux :
___* Linux + Chromium + nvidia GTX 660 ~ 60fps
___* Linux + Chromium + nvidia GT 9800 ~ 10fps
* I used this ludum dare to experiment and to collect info on a shader based on raymarching. every feedback (works, no works, configuration,...) are welcomes.

Thanks.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#1043Audio1.40
#1055Humor1.20
#1172Innovation2.10
#1185Mood1.89
#1185Graphics2.00
#1222Fun1.87
#1255Overall2.03
#1256Theme1.59

Comments

mess110 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:39am

trying on chromium and it just freezes :(

vilya says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:41am

I think this might work better as a 3rd person game - I found it really hard to time the jumps and ducks without that sort of feedback. I only made it over the first jump once, in fact! Maybe just increasing the time you stay airborne/crouched for would make a difference?

davidB says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:02pm

I agree the timin need some tuning. I create a video, to show when to jump,...

Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:13pm

i couldn't get this to work on firefox, kept freezing on loading screen :(

orangepascal says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:18pm

runs, but very slow and sluggish. Interesting idea, but the low framerate makes it hard to really enjoy it

davidB says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:59am

I deployed a port/fix for MS Windows (authorized by rules). Linux is my main environment.

delfino says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:33am

I played in chrome on Windows, runs well. It's a tough game, good job!

mir007 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:36am

Froze my osx chrome..

Zeta says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:49am

Froze on initial loadup, once playing the game it was a good concept, felt like I was free running

garygreen says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:52pm

Hi. I tried to run it a couple of times in Chrome, but couldn't. It gave me these errors.

Failed to acquire 3D RenderingContext

Exception: An error occurred linking the shaders:

ovenchips says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:52pm

I'm not sure why, but the frame rate was super-low on my laptop, and the move speed was maybe tied to the framerate? Anyway, I could jump, duck and dodge OK. Reminded me of the Star Wars Death Star Run game. :) Nice idea. Well done.

pancakecity says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:16pm

Whoa, this game reeaaalllly lags on chromium

PaperBlurt says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 10:04am

impressive graphics that are perfectly minimalistic.

gre says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 12:48pm

Minimalist but smooth graphics, nice runner game.
The jump is a bit hard and maybe you could have ease it a bit (I really have to wait the object to be very near to jump it)

jsmars says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 7:38am

Nice entry! A bit hard to judge the distance and know when to jump in the beginning

deadarius says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 7:56am

Really hard to judge the distance

PIXEL^3 says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 7:30am

Nice and solid game. The minamalist art style makes things very readable. I was afraid that the weird depth perception would make jumps hard but they were surprisingly easy. Everything in the game works well but there isn't much there. Also, this is nit pick, it might just be because I've been playing Super Meat Boy but the continue screen got pretty annoying. I'd prefer it if you just respawned immediately.

~AlucardX60

davidB says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 12:38pm

Thanks you for all feedbacks. It help me a lot (I'll use an other techno, no more webgl, for my current/next game).

About the distance, when to jump, I agree (I did a video). Since i made the game I also play to Mirror's Edge to compare.

@PIXEL^3 about the "immediate" respawne I also agree. I added it into my post-compo TODO list.

loxo says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 5:45pm

On my computer the game is a bit slow, so it's not much fun to play and very hard. I watched your video and the game seems much better there. I'm not sure why the game is so slow, because the amount of objects on screen is rather small and the graphics are simplistic.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]