Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Battle Through Hell!

by shatley123 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Hello everybody who was generous enough to click on my game! This is a fast pace retro FPS in the vain of Wolfenstein/doom. The original idea was...an earthquake has broken a giant whole in the earth. You are the only person bad ass enough to do down there. There was going to be 3 levels, each one looking more hellish. (I'm not for sure, but it doesn't seem like the idea of "Hell", was used much in this theme surprisingly, so i'm glad i decided to go with it). But do to lack of time, there ended up being only one level. That is the reason why the level looks more like a cave instead of hell. That level was going to be called "Beneath the Surface", the next "Deeper", and the next "I'm in Hell...". I never even made a main menu, I might have been able have fit it in, but i've been up since Saturday evening and am very tired. Despite the sleep deprivation, this was lots of fun, and a great way to get my mind of school (i'm 15) and other things.

If you play it, it would be great if you give feedback, especially on how hard it was for you to beat it, i didn't have anybody play test it, so I have no idea if it's hard for people who don't know were everything is already. There are a couple secrets in this and the will help you quite a bit!

HOW TO PLAY -
wasd/arrows to move
left click to shoot (you DON'T need to keep clicking, all the weapons allow you to hold down to keep shooting)
1-3 to cycle weapons
Space to open doors

Updates
*fixed ammo bug
*fixed bug were teleporter trigger doesn't ignore raycast, meaning it would block gunshots
*shortened teleporter time because it seems it is doubtful the players will find the teleporter before
*fixed some walls you could see through
*fixed bug were demons couldn't shoot fireballs through teleporter trigger

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#382Fun3.23
#441Humor2.59
#468Mood3.08
#566Audio2.77
#614Overall3.13
#671Graphics2.98
#991Theme2.63
#1107Innovation2.24

Comments

Halbernacht says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:21am

I wasn't able to reach the end due to the ammo bug, so I can't really comment on that. Also aiming is awkward if don't fullscreen the game, which I've had trouble with in previous Unity games I've fiddled with.

The game did have a very nice mood to it, with good use of the colors and the fog effect.

Geckoo1337 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:48pm

Kill kill - aouuuh aouuuh - grrr grr grrr...
Basic but mood is great ++

shatley123 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:21pm

Sorry about that glitch, but if you get all the weapons you should be able to beat it.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:47am

Cool Game!

marccspro says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:31am

This is a cool game !

May 1, 2014 @ 5:25am

Nice retro shooter. I enjoyed the sound effects :P

J.Barrows says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:38am

That was fun. It's very much like DOOM. I found the hidden shotgun and the... third weapon. Is there anything I missed?
There are no real major problems that I can think of, but a couple minor ones.
I could often see through gaps between wall panels. Using larger planes or cubes would help quite a bit.
Also a little bit of vertical texturing on the doors so that it's easier to see when they are opening, since the field of view is pretty small.

FrameMatt says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:03am

I agree with J.Barrows, really enjoyed.

Dualhammers says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:12am

First off, for 15 this is really good. I definitely could not do this at 15 so way-to-go! That being said, it still has a ways to go. Here is a few thoughts, take them as completely subjective.

Graphics were decent, but there was not much in the way of feedback. Even some hit, walk, or attack animations would have helped. The style is already so basic it would be nice to have that. This would be especially helpful when enemies are near. Sometimes I couldn't gauge if they were attacking me until I was dead.

Audio is good, some more variation could be good but overall it worked well. Some of the weapon sounds could have been nicer though. They didn't feel quite hefty enough.

Balance-wise it was impossible for me to get the key even after 5 tries. There is not enough ammo to kill all the enemies by circle-strafing so your only option is to run the gauntlet and hope you don't get too close. HP drains quick so there is no real room to recover from a mistake.

Generally it is good for the player to feel like they have agency. There should be multiple ways to solve and problem and having some room to recover and come back from a mistake feels extremely satisfying.

Keep these in mind as you move forward, and definitely keep making games!

Tipyx says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:35am

Oh yeah, a nice doom like :)

shatley123 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:25am

Thank you very much for the feedback and support Dualhammers! and J.Barrows if you stand on the pentagon in the room to the right for more that 3 seconds it teleports you to a room that with a health pack and a staff that shoots fireballs.

TeamInCharge says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:08am

Some feedback when hit such as a red screen flash would help a lot, I died from a bite in the back without even noticing there was an enemy behind me.

Very hard, but quite well made and I loved the way you got the smooth bobbing motion of those old games right.

7heSAMA says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:51pm

S'okay. Enemies are too slow moving and tough to be interesting; it's just a slug fest.

radmars says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:57pm

Nice! Geat classic and fun.
Id like to see some more visual feedback though. Try adding a flash, or screenshake when you get hit, hit effects on the baddies when you shoot them. Also a sound for reloading.
Id say drop the zombie HP a bit too, (you can add more zombies to make up for it if you want :D)
The little things make the biggest difference in game feel!
great entry though, well done~

May 1, 2014 @ 9:00pm

Really cool! Reminds me a lot of retro shooters (Doom and the sorts).
I love this :D

Jed T. says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 4:16am

Nice little shooter! these are rare in LD :) I wish I can change the sensitivity of the mouse. and it would be nice to have a visual feedback when I hit a zombie.

May 2, 2014 @ 6:41am

Solid entry for 48hrs. Agree with above that guys move too slow and you shoot too slow, etc. But you could easily tweak numbers for an afternoon and make the game a ton better and faster paced. Please keep working on it. Very solid base here! Good job.

lukepilgrim says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:44am

wow, very good! could be a lot of fun with a bit more features

Sparrow says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:06pm

Great game, good job! Though the pacing (overall action, fire rate etc.) seems slower then the old doom games. Make it feel faster in a post-compo version.

xdegtyarev says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 8:00pm

Cool! awesome shooter!

Konrad Zegis says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 5:56pm

Nice mood and all. It really reminds Doom, and Hexen.

But... I'd appreciate some hit animations for player. Little "aah" sound or sth.
At first, after going into that chamber with hole I died from zombie and didn't even saw what killed me. Nor that I'm getting hurt.
Some hit animations for enemies'd be great too. After first three shots I was like "can I kill them anyway? Maybe they're the same as immortal skeletons from Tomb Raider 4?".

I love 3rd weapon, but it seems to be much weaker than shotgun, or even simple handgun.

In my last playthrough I went to that pentagram room, and then to key-room, through that door located near exit, but it was empty!
Zombies went through closed door, then went to pentagram room to reach me. Weird but funny glitche.

Oh and last but not least. Making prison doors transparent to projectiles could be nice addiction :)

rfgpfeiffer says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 10:12am

The zombies just ran up to me and killed me within half a second of opening the first door. Not sure if it's a bug with the simulation speed in the game.

shatley123 says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 8:46pm

It might be a bug in RAIN

sapermysz says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 10:13am

nice Ray-Casting game!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]