Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Parallel

by Cosine - 48 Hour Compo Entry

3D Platformer in First Person.
"Parallel is the universe beneath the surface of every object."
Since it's built with GLFW and OpenGL, it IS compatible with Mac, but I do NOT have access to a Mac to port it. If anyone would like to help, it would be greatly appreciative. Otherwise, Windows Only.
Enjoy!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#1092Graphics2.29
#1166Innovation2.12
#1201Theme2.00
#1236Fun1.78
#1236Overall2.15

Comments

hexagore says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:39am

I got a MSVCR120.dll error trying to run this. Sorry :(

mtrc says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:45am

I'm also getting the same error as hexagore.

Cosine says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:26pm

The DLL has been added; it should be fixed now. If not, please tell me! OpenGL is evil in consistency across different machines.

Crabman says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:59pm

Hm, it's not working for me. It just says "application was unable to start correctly (0xc000007b)"

DragonXVI says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:59pm

"Application Unable to start correctly" error, any more missing dependencies? (Running 64-bit Windows 7)

Covenant says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:01pm

"The application was unable to start correctly (0xc00007b). Click OK to close the application" on startup... :(

Airwaffle says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:06pm

Really hard to navigate around. I could hardly get anywhere in parallell (delta issue perhaps?). Seemed like a solid experience though, and a well presented story. Color me intrested!

skymen says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:13pm

Does not work for me :/. Same error as hexagore and mtrc...

Kragnir says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:05pm

The jumping feels really odd. If you didn't respawn right were you fell it would be unplayable and it almost still is. Got to a ladder but I fell through it so I don't know how to go forward from there. The story seems interesting but there need to be something done to make the jumping better.

Cosine says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:28pm

Fixed the error now (hopefully). 64-bit people were using their 64-bit opengl with the 32-bit application. Should be fixed now.

ix says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:47pm

I get "Error. Failed to retrieve context version string" on Windows 8.1 64-bit.

Biliogadafr says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:10pm

Textures are flickering slightly. It is too hard to jump...

gikdew says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:11pm

Interesting, polished game. Really hard!

Phyyl says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:17pm

I couldn't move properly unfortunately, when I was moving it was like 5km each frame so I kept falling and gave up! :(

dpulrich says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:34pm

Yeah, it doesn't work for me either

GresponApps says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:51pm

It didn't work here...

Jason Lay says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:10am

Unable to retrieve context string?

Spotline says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:53am

Couldn't launch the game :( I had a rather blurry error like 'the application couldn't start properly (0xc000007b)'

dylanigan says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:06pm

It didn't work. :( 0xc000007b strikes again!

davidwparker says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:12pm

Looks interesting- port to web so others can play?

Rock48 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:23am

Crashed On startup "application was unable to start correctly (0xc000007b)"

BubuIIC says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:18am

Doesn't work for me as well. Crashes with the(0xc000007b) error. I think this is (still) a x86 vs x64 problem. I'm on a 64 bit system and the 32 bit game tries loading64 bit lib from my system.
Can you provide a 64bit build?

Cosine says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:22pm

I tried a 64-bit build, but even on a 64-bit OS, I have a 32-bit OpenGL. Do you have any idea how to fix this?

Ragzouken says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:28pm

works for me! the gravity is very strong and first person platforming is already hard enough! like the aesthetic a lot but even some basic audio would bring everything to life more

WhiteWolf93 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:46pm

same 0xc00007b error, I'm in 64 bits too :/

Fritzendugan says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 5:31am

why neglect linux? :(

kirbytails7 says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 3:12am

Same 0xc000007b error for me as well.
Also, might I recommend using .png files instead of .bmp? 158MB is pretty hefty for a game jam game, although the compressed size is obviously better.

byExclusive says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 5:32am

good

HeroesGrave says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 5:42am

I tried compiling for Linux, but got a load of compiler errors about missing methods/fields.

Cosine says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 10:23pm

Thanks for trying HeroesGrave! Did you install glfw, glew, and glm? Sorry I can't do it myself, I don't have linux handy.

elliottd says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 11:00pm

unable to run

HeroesGrave says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 12:05am

Sorry about the plug, but I thought I'd let you know I've (hopefully) fixed up the windows build of my game.

About your game: Can we have a copy of all the source code you used (including the Indigo Engine) because the github repo seems to have something different to what you used.

Cybs says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 4:52am

sorry, still not working

garygreen says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 5:32pm

Unfortunately I couldn't run the game. It gave me a message: "This application was unable to start correctly."

Cosine says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 7:43pm

HeroesGrave, yes, I've been working on the Indigo Engine since Parallel's release. Thanks so much for trying to help! Here's the code as it was when I released Parallel on github: https://github.com/CosineGaming/CodeIndigo/tree/10532cc8fc91e2de5b362d599b4c78c1a9d073c0. Important things about my configuration you should probably know: Needs to be run from the solution directory Top Level (Not /CodeIndigo/). The file 29.cpp is the file for Parallel, the file CodeIndigo.cpp is a file all commented out from another game I'm working on (I know, bad git practices, whatever) Indigo Engine is on CodeIndigo/Indigo/ along with the shaders on the Top Level. Requires GLFW, GLEW, and GLM.

kunzbe says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 8:41pm

hm, there's an error :/

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]