Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Scumbag

by erdos - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Figure out what's "BENEATH THE SURFACE" of the psyche of people on the street, are they scumbags? Are they nice people? Maybe you're the piece of shit that's been hanging around the alleyways! Don't beat up and steal from the nice people, then everyone will KNOW you're a scumbag!

Please let me know if it doesn't run, didn't get time to test!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#113Humor3.42
#401Fun3.20
#654Graphics3.00
#672Overall3.07
#681Mood2.87
#807Audio2.25
#837Innovation2.68
#894Theme2.83
#1547Coolness45%

Comments

shroom says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:25am

I spent too much time playing this game when I should have been working on LG.

schnüt says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:32am

Nice play with the theme.
The game is quite fun, too. But these scumbags keep punching me. :-P

TsFreddie says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:21pm

Nice fun game. :D And, I'm the author of "Broken Heart". Just want to tell you just jump and click on the bird to attack it.

kbm says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:33pm

Frantic little game - good job! :)

kirbytails7 says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 5:25am

Pretty neat. I like the energy drink.

Hyoga-3D says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 1:58am

hahaha Very funny game, nice.

May 3, 2014 @ 11:08am

Haha Fuuuuun

byExclusive says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 5:12pm

Very Cool!

spotco says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 11:44pm

Fun game, though combat feels a little un-responsive (and too easy to get other people caught up). Loved the faces.

Cybs says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 7:57am

what is with the pepsi references? I just played another game which had pepsi logos everywhere.

I like the idea of your game.. took me a few deaths to realise you need to beat on people slowly. I was hoping for a fight when I opened the door

erdos says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 9:41am

@Cybs one of the potential themes in the voting was "Pepsi consultant", just wanted to work it in somehow because I really wanted that to be the theme ^_^

zzForrest says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 2:31pm

Funny game, the sprites were really silly looking and the action was pretty nice. The coin collection was a little too touchy, so I often had coins drop too far to be collected. Nice sense of humor, and creative interpretation of the theme!

May 18, 2014 @ 4:28pm

COOL! -Mallot1 GameGrape Corporation: www.codingrevolution.blogspot.com

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]