Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Walking on thin ice...

by Jacques_le_lezard - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Walking on thin ice...
(You do not want to go beneath the surface !)

Your goal? Survive as long as you can !

Made in less than 48h with Unity, Blender, Audacity & Gimp.
Have fun !

Edit: current best score 574

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#78Audio3.70
#87Mood3.80
#256Fun3.41
#391Innovation3.30
#436Graphics3.34
#439Overall3.30
#449Humor2.58
#670Theme3.14

Comments

trueyomic says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:08pm

Pretty neat little game. It was kind of hard to tell where to go since the view distance was so small, but I like that. I just wish that there were more platforms to jump on so I could play in longer than 20 second intervals. I really liked the windiness on the title screen. Definitely sets the mood. Same goes for the creepy sharks/monsters in the water.

elefantopia says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:11pm

Great mood thanks to solid audio. Is this a baby seal?

GresponApps says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:14pm

Nice Game!! Addictive! I like that you can climb things even when you're underwater.

Jacksendary says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:35pm

Love it! very funny little game :)

dook says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:38pm

Great visuals and audio. Those sharks are really scary. I kept trying to strafe left and right with A and D, but I'm not sure the game would be better with it. This had a nice, frantic feel to it. Keep up the good work!

longshorts says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:46pm

Those enemy things are creepy as hell! Also love the jump noise :)

samooJAM says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:49pm

I got 490. Tried it several times, it's addicting!
Strafing would improve the controls. Lack of a player model with animations is a shame. But yeah, very fun and good job!

garygreen says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:15pm

Nice game. It has a Jaws appeal to it as well - I don't think I'll be going into the sea for a while. :-)

MrLeePerry says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:26pm

Haha, I love a game where you can literally try to jump the shark. This is awesome, love the general theme and gameplay of jumping around on sinking chunks of ice. Well done!

blockbot says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:29pm

Interesting idea for a 3d platformer, felt like a good level within a larger game.

popogames says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:31pm

Very good use of sound from the get go. Really set a good aquatic mood

bentog says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:40pm

Very cool, the audio is awesome! Still, there are three things that could efortlessly make this game better:

1. Screen.lockCursor = true;
That mouse is really annoying!

2. A smooth mouse look script. There are tons on the web. This is my biggest pet peeve, unity gamedevs that use the default mouselook script and don't adjust the speed. It's too fast!

3. Some antialiasing works great with geometric games!

MonsieurS says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:23pm

I liked the whole wind theme, great game! I liked the scary looks and sounds of the sharks (?), that they're so obvious (and not, like, beneath the surface) is killing the atmosphere a bit though. Otherwise, great work with the light above-surface and the dark below-surface world.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:45pm

@bentog Thanks for theses advices, I'll use them for the next update =)
@samooJAM & @dook Okay for strafing (it's easy to add!)
@MonsieurS I agree the monsters are a little bit too obvious ^^

hampa says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 4:40am

Brutal game, love it.
Possible to make it to land?

pansapiens says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 4:54am

Great atmosphere, a fun challenge ... and those teeth. Those monstrous chomping teeth. I improved with practice, but it probably could do with some tuning to add a few extra platforms in the early game.

Nezzhil says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 5:32pm

Challenging, good atmosphere, a little bit chaotic too

Switchbreak says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 5:49pm

Pretty neat! The controls need some work, probably lower the speed and the look sensitivity. Feels really kinda strange and constricting not to have a sidestep too, but maybe that's deliberate. I wasn't able to survive for too long!

Moosefly says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 8:43pm

Great atmosphere and good challenging gameplay. The fact that you can't see very far makes it all the more atmospheric (and challenging). Needs a real player model -> Maybe put little flippers and a tail on the cube and it's a babby seal! My best score: 414 \o/ Joona@MooseflyGames

dector says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 4:37pm

It's hard to estimate ice's height. But aesthetic is very lovely.

Andrew Adams says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 8:28pm

Nice. Those monsters are cool.

cageinabird says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 9:39am

Really nice use of audio. The concept is simple but works well. I think generating the ice randomly would improve the replayability a lot.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]