Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Intense Combat Underwater - ICU

by Salamander3 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You play a submarine commander, trying to destroy 3 other enemy subs. The only way you know where they are is the grid location and their periscope coming above water - and they know where you are from you doing the same.

You have rockets, but they're limited. Use them wisely.

Controls: WASD to move, left shift (hold) to raise periscope (to see where you are/where you're going), space to fire rockets and again to detonate (if they haven't already), and return/enter should reset the scene.

This is arguably unfinished. There's still loads I meant to do with this, so I fully appreciate it's not gonna score highly. I don't have the time to enter the jam, so I'll be happy with my first attempt at a unity game and polish/finish in my spare time. Enjoy what you can of this.

EDIT:
Ah, just noticed I've forgotten to include some files on the submission. Will try and fix those in the morning.

EDIT 2:
Should now be a working build available for windows again. Sorry about that.

-Salamander3

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#517Theme3.31
#536Graphics3.19
#562Innovation3.06
#960Fun2.53
#1117Overall2.53
#1930Coolness26%

Comments

valgriz says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:02pm

Pretty neat game, I like the 3Dish graphics

Vulpus says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:58pm

nice game. Hope you continue development on it, it will be worth it.

Salamander3 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:21pm

Thankyou! V2.0 is already in the works. :)

CiderPunk says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:21pm

things flew past, they were going a bit fast for subs, it feels like the whole games really sped up, does the game logic tie in with the frame rate or something?

Salamander3 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:28pm

The speed of the subs is an issue, yes. I was juggling between camera height and sub speed (too far and everything felt too slow, too close and everything felt too fast) and think I submitted mid-tweak. Sorry about that.

someone says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:54pm

Linux version is missing its data folder too.
Interesting idea, though everything did move too fast for the information to be useful.
Also I kept blowing myself up by firing when moving.

rezzish says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:54pm

I like where this is going!

Salamander3 says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:08am

@someone - ah, thankyou for letting me know! I'll re-export tomorrow and get a linux build re-uploaded.

Beanalby says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:20am

What reason is there to ever raise the periscope, besides revealing your position? I didn't see any additional information when it was up.

Even when I saw enemy subs, it was only as they were zooming by the screen. Even if they were raised the entire time I don't think I could've hit one with a missile.

vladimirdlc says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:20am

The camera was somehow confusing, and the game takes it's time to be understood.
Overall I think this is a nice start for your first Unity game.

kogyblack says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:34am

Nice concept.
Sadly no music :/
Next time you jam with Unity, though, release a Web version... It's way simpler to review and for distribution.

Salamander3 says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 8:21am

@Beanalby - This is the exact problem of the attached camera. I completely agree with you, you have no reason to raise your periscope. The original intent was to have the position of your submarine unclear on your own screen, so you'd have to raise periscope to reveal where you are to yourself in order to be sure you're pointing in the right direction. That kind of got lost in the rush of getting this completed, and is a fundamental design flaw in this release.

Hyoga-3D says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 2:23am

Nice game and the graphics took me back in time, nice.

Kingtrez says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 2:03pm

I was unable to play the game. I don't know why, i'll copy the error that i got when i turn on the game:

Unable to load mono library from "C:~~~/ICU exe/ICU exe/Intense Combat Underwater - ICU_Data/Mono/mono.dll(error = 126).

SnoringFrog says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 5:54am

This was a really cool idea, one I loved even more since I am in the midst of reading The Hunt for Red October (which is making me wish I still had my NES and my dad's copy of Silent Surface to try my hand at again), but, as others have noted, the enemy subs fly by extremely quickly. The only way I had any success was by purposefully keeping my periscope raised to lure them into a corner, then bursting away, spinning and firing all I had. It would have been great if there was some way to get more torpedoes, or really just anything I could do after I was out of them.

This would be a really great multiplayer game with a fixed camera though. I can definitely see my friends and I enjoying something like this together.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]