Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Sneak-Easy

by allurious - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Sneak-Easy is a game where you play a devious bartender in the 1920's prohibition era. You've got a reputable resturant, but you're secretly sneaking boozehounds some tiddly in the backroom. Cops come in and eat at your restaurant & you've gotta keep the food coming, otherwise they're gonna get angry and start pokin' around in your business.

It represents the theme 'Beneath the Surface' because a lot of businesses in this era were more than just what their surface showed, so I wanted to do something in that area.

NB: As it's my first LD, I made a booboo with the music and the rule 'publically available libraries are okay', so my compo entry has no tracks and the post compo entry will have the music available, will upload later

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#37Audio3.93
#56Graphics4.27
#130Humor3.37
#196Mood3.50
#364Theme3.47
#640Overall3.10
#823Innovation2.70
#856Fun2.67

Comments

Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:12am

Ha, this is lovely! Love the music and the artstyle :)

shuanDang says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:35am

Great atmosphere! Felt like a waiter running between tables. The pacing doesn't pick up enough, i got to about 200 points

Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:38am

Loved the art and the music. Creative take on the theme, too!

Hypnohustla says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:39am

5 stars for the graphics and audio. The waiter seemed to get stuck to the tables but I think that just added to the overall waiter experience.

I also enjoyed reading your (almost) nervous breakdown on twitter! :)

kiririn51 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:43am

>< got stuck so many times between tables, but the frantic rhythm was pretty fun, a waiter's job sure is hard.

nxT says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:54am

I had a few collision and control issues, but the music and art is great :)

nesis says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:57am

The music and art style are really great. Loving the caricature of early 1920s restaurants :)

Sanguine says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:50pm

Great mood and interpretation of the theme! I wasn't able to pick up the drinks it seemed though.

allurious says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:07pm

Sanguine: You have to run behind the bar and collide with it in front of the lady-- it's kinda slapdash! Thank you for the feedback!

@all: Thank you so much for playing my game! Yeah, the collisions are AWFUL-- the layers got buggered up near the end of the compo and I ran out of time to fix them. Thank you all so much for your comments and constructive feedback!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:18pm

I love it! It has a very special atmosphere to it! :)

Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:01pm

Lovely visuals and audio, really helps in setting the mood of the game.

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:31pm

Aww this was brilliant!
Such fun take on the theme and quite a lot of narrative too.

Graphics and animations are amazing for just 48hr!

EpiphanyG says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:14pm

The graphics and audio are amazing, really impressive stuff!

I did bounce against the tables a fair bit (glad it didn't annoy the customers!) but I really loved the concept. :)

Turnipnose says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:35pm

really nice art and music, kinda feels like a silent film. I would love to see some difficulty progression (faster hunger, different kind of food etc.) maybe make an extended version?

orangepascal says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:39pm

a bit buggy left and right , but it's playable and works :) well done!

ShdwCypher says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:41pm

This was really fun! :D
Nice take on the theme

SamAllen92 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:27pm

I really enjoyed this, found it to be a very feel good kinda game..if that makes sense at all

tomc says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:38pm

Beautiful art, and very fitting, appropriate music. There are a few bugs, but they're not particularly annoying. The core gameplay is good! A full version would be fun for sure!

BobMorate says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:27am

The music choice is perfect, and the graphics are beautiful and perfectly fitting! Despite a few clipping bugs, it was fun and challenging. Very good work"

tiffi_gaming says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:00am

Lovely audio and graphics

nonentheless says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:54am

Great music, nice graphics, I like the theme interpretation. Unfortunately I had a lot of problems with collision detection and couldn't really have fun playing. Could be really great if you improve mechanic :)

jeffz says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:58pm

Solid music and artwork. Would be interesting to carry more than one dish (and balance it without toppling) to customers. Maybe a bar above the customer to show their satiety decreasing too. Well done!

pancakecity says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:39pm

I really liked your take on the theme! The graphics are excellent, I love the character design!

Miltage says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:58pm

You weren't kidding about the bugs. I spent more time jiggling on the spot than I did serving dishes. Dinner and a show, folks.

I love the setting, the character design and the audio. Superb.

dmcfarline says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:29pm

I like the grumpy cops, shame about the bugs, but the graphics and mood are great!

Bekokstover says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:45pm

Art very very good, game also nice game. Yes, it's a bit buggy as you described, but the main idea comes across very well! I agree with the pacing being very slow, I would make your game more difficult faster. Good work!

Secret_Tunnel says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:26pm

Very nice art! I dig the old-timey music too. Some wonky collision detection kind of got in the way of the gameplay though.

gnerkus says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:35am

The music is so good it's distracting. the art style is very nice as well.

I got stuck at tables too.

A little work on the interactions and the game will be publish-worthy.

dertom says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:44pm

Nice game! Great music for a compo! And the girl on the right is very thristy :D

jotson says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 4:54pm

Really nice art and music.

taocayo says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 10:02pm

Your blog directed me here. Loved the art and liked the concept. It was a very good submission for the 48 compo, congratulations!

teambrookvale says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 8:46am

Graphics are so cool! Loved the atmosphere, nice job!

May 3, 2014 @ 7:01pm

Nice art and music, but those collisions are a bit annoying

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]