Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Substratum

by Ian MacLarty - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A puzzle game about a marooned astronaut exploring an uncharted planet. Be careful where you point that laser gun!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness84%
#13Innovation4.36
#48Mood3.98
#103Audio3.64
#147Overall3.68
#235Theme3.63
#297Fun3.36
#600Graphics3.11
#942Humor1.88

Comments

hexagore says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:24am

Really interesting and original puzzle mechanic here. Still got to figure out what the deal with the green is though!

Also the music and the seamless music transitions are awesome btw.

minism says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:01am

hell yes dude, I LOVE this game. The mood is fantastic, i love the harsh sounds with the crazy visuals of this alien planet. And to go with it is a genuinely unique puzzle game. Really nice work.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:09am

Super trippy atmosphere, the visuals blended very well with the unsettling audio. Pretty challenging too, I couldn't finish it :(

malmazuke says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:43am

Took me a while to get the hang of, but great idea. Also seizure inducing haha (purple blobs)

IAmSpencer says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:49am

Floating around reminded me of gravity, it was very pleasing to move as the astronaut. Very fun, and good job! :)

moonmagic says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:55am

Lovely. Enjoyed figuring out the different color rules. Nice spacey audio and acid wash colors.

sharpcoder says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:58am

It took me a while to understand what was going on, but that's understandable for a Ludum Dare entry. Once I got the hang of it though, my mind was kind of blown. This is a really unique idea. Great job!

mess110 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:47am

you just dive right in and love the main char

Greg Power says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:33am

Such a great game! Great mood, unsettling audio, and really smart rules. I love games that give me legitimate, mechanic-based surprises. An all round fantastic experience!

ccglp says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:01pm

Good puzzle mechanics dude!

jayhof says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:50am

Really cool puzzle mechanics: kind of hard though, too hard for me at least :D. Sometimes I find it hard to see the character I am controlling when he's over the yellow stuff.

MetanoKid says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:22am

It's got pretty interesting mechanics, took me a while to understand how to continue. It kept impressing me over and over with each type of "zone" but when I suddenly moved through the walls I was blown up.
Pretty nice entry! Loved it!

ezolotko says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:19pm

Lags a lot here

theengineers says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:50pm

Really interesting puzzle mechanic.

Dramentiaras says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:54pm

Great puzzle game with challenging puzzles. Very innovative.

blockbot says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:31pm

One of the better games I have played so far! Nice work.

Marcellus says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:36am

floating around in a jetpack is great, the puzzle mechanics is very intresting. The atmosphere is very nice also. Good entry like i'd like to see more.

Christophe says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:44am

Smart level design! That was really fun. Great puzzle!!

Thorig says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:59am

The mood and audio are great. Nice game!

lajos says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:06pm

Very nice puzzle! Congrats!

kirbytails7 says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 5:19am

Honestly, I just didn't know how to get past the blue part. It might be a bit too cryptic, at least for the very first puzzle. Pretty effects, though!

Ian MacLarty says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:16am

Thanks for all the kind feedback everyone :)

If you're stuck at the first blue part, here's the solution: https://vine.co/v/MvXj0tgBLdg.

Kiyaku says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 11:46pm

What a weeeeeeird game, very interesting concept and idea, i like it :D

cheesepencil says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 11:59pm

it's tricky!

PIXEL^3 says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:01am

Pretty good, a little weird. Not much going for it in terms of aesthetics, but I guess that's where the term "programmer art" comes from, right?
The concept is pretty cool too.

jadams says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:20pm

Super interesting puzzle mechanics that presented a number of really satisfying moments of realization. Going fullscreen resets the game, which was a bit irritating.

Belvar says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 7:51pm

Really great psychedelic weird atmosphere. Reminded me of 2001, A space Odyssey. I love the way you're thrown in this weird colorful experience with just some controls and you have to figure out what to do and how does the game reacts to your action.

Photon says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 8:01pm

Shoot, what did I just play?

Very unique and immersive. I mean, just wow. What else do I say? Just great.

May 6, 2014 @ 4:01am

The mechanics are amazing!! But its too difficult and lacks of introduction factor

Bekokstover says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 7:23am

Waow, this reminds me of Corrypt, in a good way. The atmosphere is fantastic, and weird and creepy. I really got stuck, but I like this game a lot. Great entry.

Ditto says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 7:55am

This reminds me a bit of Starseed pilgrim, the weird puzzle mechanics and simple controls just blew me away! Awesome game!

ethankennerly says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 4:53am

Figuring out that shooting a different colored block allowed me to pass into the block fascinated me. The desolate story, strange tile block logic, bleak sounds created a plausible mood of being in a space odyssey. If you continue to develop this, in the beginning of the green squares I got trapped and felt discouraged from figuring out the strange logic.

neekobus says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 8:45pm

Weird. Ugly. Nice.
Love the idea of shooting blocks to get in, but now I'm stuck.
Can't get the whole logic.
Can't find how to pass the levels with green blocks (the one after your big screenshot).

GFM says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 9:16pm

This was really unique. I (think) figured how yellow blue and purple works... but I still couldn't figure how to progress from a point. XD

Audio was really moody! :)

goerp says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 5:06pm

Brilliant mood. From the screenshot it looked like a kind of H.E.R.O. but it's totally different.
A weird trippy puzzler.
It's hard too! I'm not getting far so far.

goerp says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 5:21pm

Oh: when I quit the game, the music keeps playing for a while and there's a stream of openGL errors. Maybe good to know?

May 12, 2014 @ 3:52am

SPOILERY REVIEW!

I'm pretty wary of anything that looks like a 'puzzle-platformer', but I got a massive satisfaction when I first popped into the grey 'wall' area and the whole thing seemed to open up. That was ace. From then I didn't even bother with puzzles, just wandered about making pretty pictures.

Snoother says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 6:52pm

Wow, great concept and music. Got stuck at the green bit, but I'll probably revisit it at some point and (hopefully) beat it. The whole thing was so captivating and immersive, with sooo many pwetty colours!

Mike Mezhenin says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 10:15pm

Wow. Didn't want to play this at first since I'm not a big fun of puzzle/platformer games, but this game is just great. The mood is great, the mechanics are great, not overly long; one of the best in this LD for me.

mortus says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 8:45am

Great mechanics! Would love to see more puzzles based on it! As I understood it, much of the world is there just for player's amusement, but it could have all sorts of fun puzzles! But that takes time, of course. I like how every environment has its own music and physics laws, that's great! On of the most unusual (and fun at the same time) games this time.

Jeremias says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 9:04pm

Nice mechanic and very crazy atmosphere.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]