Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Nith the Surface

by Cognizant Game Studios - Jam Entry

Ok first off there are a few Access violation bugs with the JVM running it on JRE 8.0, I would love to know the fix for that but I could not fix it - will update it if bug fix is found!

Controls: A,D,SPACE,E,CLICK

Use e when near a chest to open it, chest's give you a random chance weapon or health. Current weapon will be over ridden with the new one.

Goal of the game:

Evade and kill all the purple demons while trying to make it to the end gate, you'll know it when you see it!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#594Humor(Jam)1.93
#626Audio(Jam)1.95
#650Theme(Jam)2.48
#696Mood(Jam)2.20
#719Graphics(Jam)2.20
#731Fun(Jam)2.00
#744Overall(Jam)2.17
#754Innovation(Jam)1.80
#1746Coolness37%

Comments

gikdew says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:41am

I hate not having a web version...

bendmorris says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:42am

I got the following error on Linux with OpenJDK 7.0:

#
# A fatal error has been detected by the Java Runtime Environment:
#
# SIGSEGV (0xb) at pc=0x00007fdca1abfb83, pid=7457, tid=140584427005696
#
# JRE version: OpenJDK Runtime Environment (7.0_55-b14) (build 1.7.0_55-b14)
# Java VM: OpenJDK 64-Bit Server VM (24.51-b03 mixed mode linux-amd64 compressed oops)
# Problematic frame:
# C [libc.so.6+0x78b83]

(I think it happened when I lost all my health.) Also, my character seems to always face left when I'm not moving, but the sword is held out to the right.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:44am

@bendmorris Yup thats the bug I was talking about, something with libgdx, it happens both when you go through the gate and when you die, also the character always facing left is how I programmed it.

manabreak says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:46am

When trying to launch the game, it gives me an error: "Could not find the main class: ca.cognizantgames.desktop.DesktopLauncher. Program will exit."

micdoodle8 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:46am

Nice, simple but still fun.

The game seems to crash when you die though, not sure if that's a known issue.

eldog says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:49am

Lol, would be good to have a message saying you're at the end of the game when you get to the gate. Thought I had been killed by a burning ring of hot magma.

I like the feather in the players hat, and the fact that (I think) you can only attack to the right, made the battle with the first bunch of bats fun!

Played on Linux.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:52am

@gikdew Sorry but I hate dealing with Java web applets..

Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:56am

@manabreak hmm thats odd, everything is packed into that jar file so it should the class path should be there ^.^ try a re-download possibly?

shalskar says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:12am

Graphics were ok, I think if there were instructions I would have understood better.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:22am

I think the attack action should be a keyboard control.

Dreii says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 6:37am

Crashed when I died...

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]