Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Blood Pressure

by CustomPhase - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This game is a 1,000,000-like.
Collect cells in groups of 3 to use them. Each color of cells have its own purpose. Look in-game instructions for more info.
Controls with mouse.
Left click to dismiss cells you are currently holding.
Probably(most certainly) contains a lot of bugs, sorry if they will bother you, basically did this in 16 hours straight.
Shop functioanlity is very basic. Wanted to do alot more to it, add more stuff. Run out of time though...

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
#153Graphics3.89
#191Overall3.61
#218Audio3.33
#275Theme3.59
#365Fun3.26
#414Innovation3.27
#530Mood3.00
#734Humor2.19

Comments

gikdew says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:27am

Wow, nice one love the gameplay , the concept is awesome!

crewderek says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:41am

Overall this was very well done. Graphics were cool and I haven't seen anyone else come up with this. Also a lot of variety to keep it entertaining! Good work!

HunLyxxod says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:41am

Great game, very good concept.

Reinkout says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:43am

Controls were great. Nice job!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:45am

Great idea and execution. It was really fun to play.

SkyWolf says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:48am

I very much liked it, the song was catchy too.

thristhart says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:49am

Very pretty! I wish there was more feedback on how I was dying. I think I was dying exclusively to body heat? It seems like I don't get enough blue cells to keep the heat down.

Mihael Medan says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:51am

This is straight up amazing, wish you had more time!

LewisW says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:01am

Pretty damn excellent. Nice graphics, nice music and audio, solid gameplay. I suppose maybe as well as colours you could have used symbols to remind us what each colour did, because it was hard to remember.

CustomPhase says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:24am

thristhart, yeah that would be good, didnt have that idea. sorry i didnt have enough time to do it, even if i did, i would most certainly added more to shop.
LewisW, yeah, ive though about it, but didnt know what icons i should make for pushing back the army, or for attacks, so ive decided to leave it for later, and forgot about it :)
Also, thanks everyone! Really happy to read every comment :)

Lars Faust says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:52am

Very creative use of the theme.
Loving the fact that there are so many different things to care about all at once. The enemies behind you, the enemies in front of you, body temperature. I only felt that i wasnt getting enough blue cells to actually keep my temperature low enough. That seemed like the biggest threat. Maybe i was just unlucky.

Fantastic entry though, well done.

orangepascal says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:52am

interesting game concept , took a little trying to understand, but it's fun and creative :)

hexagore says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:13pm

I went for the whole blood idea too, your game is a lot more fun I think and has a very appealing 16bit vibe from the music. Nice!

jorgemoag says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:43pm

very cool! It is a fusion of several concepts that work together beautifully. +5

Mincemeat says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:10pm

Really fun game good job

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:34pm

Looks good.

wonder why there aren't more games taking place inside a body?
fun gameplay and I like the style and sound..

donan says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:16pm

@Customphase , i had a typo on my code: http://puu.sh/8ra6Z.png and left 4 directions on the game instead of 8 directions xD. You can try it again if you want :)

adamwoolridge says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:32am

neat idea! Nice twist

davedx says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:44pm

Great game! Nice work. :)

Integershift says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:02pm

Very nice gameplay. I enjoyed it!

Lrnk says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:01pm

Really cool idea! Great graphics especially. Nicely done.

Halbernacht says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:22am

Amazing game. For something so straightforward there is a lot of depth to it. Also has some of the prettiest 3d I've seen so far.

nonentheless says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:45am

Not to happy with the graphics but I like the gameplay :)

DarkEngineer says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:28pm

Great game and nice work!

Thorig says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 10:12pm

I like the idea behind the game. Nice entry!

May 19, 2014 @ 4:01pm

You have been featured in today's episode of Ludum Dare to Believe! Check it out! https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JGeNgHcRBLQ

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]