Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Sharks VS Jets: Fingeance

by delfino - Jam Entry

Game made by Nathan Turner, Donnie Lytle, and Michael Delfino

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#15Humor(Jam)4.17
#34Fun(Jam)3.87
#126Mood(Jam)3.65
#210Theme(Jam)3.48
#242Innovation(Jam)3.30
#265Audio(Jam)3.30
#283Overall(Jam)3.35
#297Graphics(Jam)3.57
#1746Coolness37%

Comments

EpiphanyG says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:55pm

This feels like Sharknado: The Game to me. Surprisingly fun to fly sharks out of the water to attack jets.

The aesthetics remind me of playing on the Sega Mega Drive. Great stuff. :)

dsoft20 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:45am

I lolled.
Great game :D

GertJohnny says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:48am

My sharks had a mind of their own, it seemed. I couldn't control them, and in the end the sharks defeated me. Still had fun though.

davidB says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:55am

It remember me : "Mega Shark vs. Giant Octopus (2009)".

rogberth says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:05am

hahaha awesome but maybe it needed better controls and maybe different enemies. Nice job

Figglewatts says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:17pm

Haha, I really like the game idea. It's an interesting take on the theme. Nice work!

pjchardt says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:57am

Love the mood and humor. Who doesn't enjoy taking down jets with sharks? Interesting how you all handled the life/HP thing with multiple sharks in play. Nice work :)

darkflamejam says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:15pm

Really nice game! Although I had difficulty with the moving forward

TomCooper3D says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 5:01am

i really like the art in this game. the controls arent perfect but it was pretty funny. ouchies!

FrameMatt says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 2:00am

Hahaha!
This is awesome!
I have so much fun~

Rodaja says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 11:34am

Grat fun! it felt somewhat unfair sometimes, thought. Maybe having a better chance to avoid the mines somehow or getting new sharks to replace lost ones or something. Graphics look good but they get confusing sometimes.

cheesepencil says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 11:57pm

controls need work but the novelty of destroying million dollar aircraft with fish totally compensates

mrhill says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 4:59pm

Haha, funny

D2FXRayG says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 5:00pm

lol, very silly. I approve!

csanyk says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 12:22am

Lol.

Controls weren't too responsive, it felt like there was too much inertia to overcome with the keyboard, and so my motion was very ballistic and not all that controlled.

benmcnelly says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 8:54pm

Dude, I love this. Screw planes, sharks forever!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]