Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Michell in Hell

by Adrian - Jam Entry

Michell is in trouble! After he peed on the Demons' Lord's flowers, Satan went all red and sent his demons after him. Help Michell survive against waves of enemies! Use your staff to attack enemies directly, or build powerful towers to defend yourself from those bad guys.

A mix of Tower Defense and Beat 'em Up gameplays, with beautiful graphics and awesome music, brought to you by a wonderful team:

Graphics -- Caroline
Sounds -- Pierre-Etienne
Code -- Adrian, Maxime and Remi

This game is a pure browser game, using only Open Web Technologies. We used Phaser.io, a game framework built on top of pixi.js. easystar.js is providing the pathfinding algorithm.

A special thanks to Aurelien who offered his moral support, as well as some programming advices!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#200Graphics(Jam)3.83
#361Fun(Jam)3.00
#379Audio(Jam)3.04
#398Mood(Jam)3.00
#436Humor(Jam)2.41
#461Innovation(Jam)2.79
#478Overall(Jam)3.04
#565Theme(Jam)2.71
#1651Coolness42%

Comments

pancakecity says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:48am

Ah, the game seems a little buggy. I tried to play but the keyboard only responded intermittently.

Adrian says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:47am

Sorry, I made a mistake when uploading the latest version yesterday. It should be working better now!

TeamFlare says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:49pm

Cool graphics :) I like tower defense games, so I had to love this one :)

Ariake81 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:51pm

visually excellent, really appealing. animation is tight and lovely style. found controls a little tricky, collision detection issues etc. could be really nice with a bit of development.

Xeke_Death says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 2:21pm

Looks good, though pressing 2 gave me the same tower as pressing 1 did, and the draw order of the towers was place order, so i was seeing towers over other towers.
I surrounded myself with demon eater plants, thinking I'd be safe... Nope...!

May 3, 2014 @ 10:49am

It's lovely! Cool mood, and the music just screams "fight"! A couple of boars stopped following me at some point, and the game froze. But I've played again and again, it's kinda addictive :)

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 5:14am

really nice take on tower defense games - graphics were great, it just needed sound - nice job

Adrian says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 7:34pm

Hello, dear players or future players! We have worked quite a lot after the end of the competition to make the game better, and we have put up a new version on line:

http://games.lqbs.fr/michell-in-hell/

It contains a lot of bug fixes (display order, collisions, movements... ) and some enhancements like the 2nd tower and better tower placing. We will continue updating that new version regularly as we keep improving it.

Note that the version linked from the top of this page remains the same that we shipped at the end of the LD29 weekend. However, who are we to judge you if you ever test our new, improved version? ;)

BadPaul34 says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 9:52pm

I can't hear the sound :(

Rick Hoppmann says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 10:06pm

Lovely graphics, cool idea and very good audio!
The gameplay itself has some mayor flaws. There is only one tower and collision detecting sometimes seems to be very inaccurate. I'm also missing powerups after a wave is over.

All in all this is a cool idea, with good gameart, but the gameplay has major flaws.

Ragzouken says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 11:27am

Loved the graphics, and the audio was really nice too. Seems odd that you can infinitely spam the towers rather than having some mana/resources or something though

copain says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 11:38am

nice graphics.
a regular bug: hero frozzen after putting a tower...

Adrian says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 1:28pm

Hi all, thanks for all your comments !
For those who have had issues with sounds, it seems there are some compatibility issues with Safari. You can try using chrome or firefox. Hope it helps !

MaesK says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 7:57pm

Nice game, quite difficult as enemies touch you very easily, but I like the strategy decision of fighting by yourself or planting new trees to improve attacking area.

Good graphics and design, keep it up!

goerp says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 4:53pm

haha, I always find it a bit weird if people write about how their own game has beautiful graphics and awesome music. But I have to agree, the music and graphics are really good.

I think I could use some instructions. I had the feeling all I could do was plant one type of snapping tree, but I could see two symbols, but couldn't find out how to switch and the beat'em up reference suggested I could hit maybe?

So it might be a better game than I noticed. If you could add some instructions I could find out :)

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]