Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Cataclysmus

by Team Castor - Jam Entry

"You are Cataclysmus the Chaos God, and you destroyed the world. BUT , not entirely... One small bunker of indomitable survivors still holds out against the destruction ! This extermination tired you, you have to recover your mightiest darkness power in order to finish the job !"

A java game, using Slick2d. Enjoy!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness67%
#102Theme(Jam)3.71
#106Innovation(Jam)3.66
#328Humor(Jam)2.68
#334Graphics(Jam)3.48
#347Audio(Jam)3.13
#387Overall(Jam)3.18
#515Fun(Jam)2.73
#517Mood(Jam)2.81

Comments

xandy says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:24am

good idea but more visual feedback on the actions would be nice. maybe it's because everyting moves fast so a speed control would help i think. the game concept is very good and matches the theme well.

CheeseyBob says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:41am

Very interesting concept! It was a little hard to tell what was going on though.

Katamori says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:42am

Main screen with that music was truly beautiful. I absolutely loved that.

manabreak says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:53am

The game loaded for AGES, I was already writing a comment without rating to say that, but just before I sent it, it finished loading. So, if others have the same problem... just wait. :)

The controls were pretty confusing, I didn't really know what the things did. In the end, I didn't enjoy playing it as much as I probably would have if there was more feedback and help. That said, you should definitely continue working on this, the concept seems really interesting. :)

Rock48 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:26pm

Seems cool, but kinda hard to tell what's going on... It also inexplicably crashed.

holgk says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:21pm

Wow nice art work. But the loading time was quite long.

RowdyGhosts says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:54am

Once I understood what was going on, it was pretty cool!

MithosKuu says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:57pm

It seems pretty in depth, but as others have said, it needs more player feedback, I think an in depth tutorial would help as well, right now the player is kind of just thrown into the game world

mtrc says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:41am

Great idea! Needs some balancing but this is a really really solid idea. I had a lot of fun looking at all the cards and seeing their effects.

pyrogames says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 5:36am

Why bother linking all three downloads to the same jarfile?
Anyway, nice game. I didn't really see the cards doing anything, but eventually it got really cold or something and everyone died within 5 seconds.

Delca says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 9:53pm

Each time I got past the loading time, the game froze after playing 4 or 5 cards. That is why I could not rate your game :-(
It is a shame though, because it seems really fun.

kunzbe says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 10:41pm

Hmmm, feels like a board game. That's good and unique. A visualized board game

tehryanx says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 6:05pm

took me a minute, but I got it. Never seen anything like this. Cool idea!

hbocao says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 9:59pm

Unique concept, good graphics and fun to play! I did not like the music, I think it doesn't fit the game. Good job, guys!

May 5, 2014 @ 6:23pm

haha loved the Asterix quote!
It was a bit hard to understand how to play. It seems very deep though! Impressive work for 3 days!

AtkinsSJ says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 2:32pm

I really like the card mechanic! Having to choose which good things to do was fun.

I did have it freeze a few times as I was playing, though - I think it happened whenever a room was built? Not sure.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]