Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Dwarves Manager, NES Game

by Khopa - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Hey guys !

This is my first NES game, and i made it for LD, that's something \o/

Langage&Libs : C language + 6502 Asm + Shiru's neslib
Tools Used : CA65 compiler, Tile Layer Pro, NES Screen Tool, NES Space Checker, Sublime Text 3

So what is Dwarves Manager 2 ?
As it's name suggest, there is indeed a Dwarves Manager 1. It's in fact my own game, freely available on the Play Store for Android. It's a game about managing a Dwarven mine, so when i saw the jam theme, and knowing that a couple week ago there was also a mini-ld themed as "Demake", i couldn't resist the envy to create a NES version of this game.
Of course, this NES version is really different from the original, and really less complex, but take place in the same universe.

HOW TO PLAY :
- Load the .nes ROM in your favorite NES emulator !

COMMANDS :
- Use the arrows key to move the selected dwarf
- Press A to dig gold (you can't do it when moving)
- Maintain B to run
- Press Select to switch through the available dwarves.

Instructions :
- Avoid the fireballs
- Get as much gold as you can

KNOWN ISSUES :
- Collision issues with dwarves and fireballs
- Glitching fireballs
- Currently no sound working
- Dirty code


You may load the .nes Rom on Nesbox if you are too lazy to download an emulator (http://nesbox.com/own)



Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness75%
#106Innovation3.87
#515Humor2.48
#570Mood2.97
#574Overall3.17
#600Graphics3.11
#757Audio2.35
#774Theme3.00
#886Fun2.64

Comments

alvarop says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:07am

Really cool idea to make it a ROM. You'd be able to put it on a physical cartridge, though?

Khopa says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:15am

No, i don't have all the hardware to do that :)

Nnnnneeeedddd says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:36pm

Couldn't really rate this. Because i dont have a nes ;(

bucketh3ad says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:41pm

http://nesbox.com/own

For anybody too lazy to look for an emulator.

Really fun game, man!

loxo says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:47pm

Good start, I like the idea and the use of technology.

trueyomic says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:49pm

Very cool that you made an NES rom! Though I wish the gameplay consisted of more than pressing A to get gold (a la cookie clicker). Very neat though!

skymen says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:49pm

Nice idea to make a NES game, but it's really difficult to play if you DON'T have a nes simulator. Hopefully, this site exists: http://nesbox.com/own Put it in your description.
The game is not really explained In Game (I didn't read your description first) We don't really understand what is happening and the all game makes no sense... Firebals in a cave beneath the surface that goes through the wall?.
Not the worst game I played, but could be a lot better.

Khopa says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:03pm

Thanks for your comments, i'll put the nesbox link in the description, i didn't knew it.

Yeah, the game is a mess and glitchy, but it was kind of a personnal challenge :)

Jason Lay says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:07pm

Ok, ok! This was the coolest thing ever! I think you're limiting your audience by making it a NES ROM. However that is a cool concept. Luckily I have an emulator! After I play some more games, I'm gonna check out the code, never seen any one build a ROM before. Shit I'm tweeting this!

GlowingSnail says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:24pm

Kudos for picking an unusual and retro-hipsty plateform.

The gameplay is original, but unwieldy and not fun. All three dwarfs are getting bombarded by a DoDonPachiesque amount of fireballs, but to move one you have first to cycle to him. When digging, the only feedback is the gold counter increasing. I distinctly remember NES having more colors than bronze, maroon and black: run on a NES emulator, but looks like a Gameboy game.

Khopa says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:52pm

@Jason
I started learning NES assembly last week, but found a C library and tutorial this week-end, that was much easier with C though i managed to have moving sprites with assembly. If you want to get into NES programming, you should check this website, there are cool resources, tools, and examples projects : http://shiru.untergrund.net/articles/programming_nes_games_in_c.htm
I remember someone did a Commodore 64 game two LD ago, and i don't think i'm the first to go for a NES Rom.

@GlowingSnails

Yep, it really lacks sounds for feedback, and i could have made some color palette switch as the game goes on. My mistake is that i used nearly the same palette for each dwarves sprites, and fireballs are using a color palette that is the same as the backgrounds tiles, in the end i have 3 unused palette and 5 palette that are pretty much the same. So yeah, it's almost a 4-color game.

DrMelon says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:48pm

Awesome idea! Really novel of you to make it for NES. Good job!

Turnipnose says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:50pm

WHAAAT a NES ROM?! oh my god, haven't seen those in a while... the gameplay is kinda simple, but still its pretty fun considering the plattform. (good to know thath they could have done game jams back then :D)

fluidvolt says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:53pm

Very cool of you to make a NES game! The art style is slick (I love the palette you chose) and it controls smooth. And I like those fossilized tetrominos in the walls!

Snicklodocus says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:32pm

Very impressive to make an actual NES game. Worked fine in my emulator. It is very glitchy but but charming. Only issue was at first I didn't understand that I could mine gold anywhere (was expecting ore to pop up or something!) Good job!

matt_j says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:46am

An NES ROM? That's dedication.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:47am

wow! this must be the smallest game of this LD, only 32kb
I wonder how difficult is to make a NES game
I found some bugs but overall good job!

Druid says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:04am

Right in childhood ! :D Nice one!

parDal says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:07am

Fantastic premise, but the execution was really bad.

The gameplay is pretty basic and confusing, the fireballs kinda glitched a little (so sometimes I didn't know how and where to dodge) and the motivation to keep playing is real low, you should've invested some time in giving that gold some value.

But, well, I can't criticize too much, I ought to praise your initiative in coding at low-level and for NES in a 48-hour solo jam, that is pretty risky and is commendable that you made something this solid, amazing.

Also, I checked some screenshots of the original game on the play store, it looks pretty neat, it's a shame I don't have a smartphone to test it out.

Congratulations for participating.

rnlf says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:08am

Runs smoothly in bsnes. I like it that it's a real NES game. I think the art is appropriate for the limitiations posed by a NES.

Good work!

sirikan says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:08am

Wow you were not kidding when you said you are doing 8bit. :) Awesome work :).

Sergraz says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:28am

Wow, real NES game on ludum dare, in 48 hours? Well done. Looking good and authentic, nice and intresting mechanics. Glithches ruin it a little, looks like fireballs don't do anything? Still it feels nice and once again - very impressive. I wish sound would work, that would make atmosphere even better.

Lacaranian says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:20pm

Cool art! And nice work with making it for the NES. Not a lot of those these days.

May 1, 2014 @ 1:41am

I cannot play this game because I do not have a NES... :(

petey123567 says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 5:01am

5 stars for innovation!

SyBen says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 11:51pm

Well, the choice of the platform rocks, when I saw the links it drew me a smile ! Game runs nicely, except that some time I didn't get the physics of the fireball which seemed to disappear. Nice dedication though

shasharala says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 12:17am

That was interesting. It has been a while since I played a NES ROM. In regards to the game, it is not difficult at all, dodging the fireballs is relatively easy till later in the game, but managing three dwarves was annoying. I actually managed one dwarf and made him do all the work while his comrades stood idly. I got pretty far doing that, but I do not imagine it was intended.

Regardless, it was fun to play with the NES again. (Or an emulator, rather.)

Konrad Zegis says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 8:55am

It'd be great to see how many fireballs I can take, one time I abandoned 2 dwarfes, and run with one, and I'm pretty shure he didn't recieve any fireball, but died anyway. Either way I left with single dwarf, but not the one I was moving ;)

And as someone noticed I expected something to pop-up to dig. At first I was convinced that those 2 other dwarfs ARE some sort of gold chest, lol.

And for comments, I wonder if someone ever said "Too bad it's a web game I don't have web browser :(" it's weird to see statements like that, when we have at leat 25 nes emus (wiki list + nesbox) these days. Heck there also nes emulators for smartphones!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]