Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Above and Beyond

by Yozz - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is «Beneath and Above»

Your objective is to resist depression: the darker surroundings are, the closer depression is.

By clicking buttons on the left use points of love, music and nature to fill your body with positive emotions and make your heart strike faster.

When one of emotions will overwhelm your body, you will start to spread an aura to resist depression.

Each emotion regenerates with time. Aura, while it is present, generates additional points too - pick them.

Game tactics: fill yourslef with emotion and spread a full aura by holding one of 3 emotion buttons. Gather emotion icons inside your aura. Refill yourself with another emotion when you are out of points.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#315Innovation3.42
#393Graphics3.41
#619Mood2.92
#693Theme3.11
#699Audio2.49
#887Humor1.97
#928Overall2.79
#1149Fun2.18

Comments

manabreak says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:24am

Pretty original take on the theme there! The graphics are nice and minimalistic, which I liked. I didn't really understand if there's differences between love, music and nature or if I should sometimes use one instead of the other, but all of them seemed to repel depression so... I'm not depressed after this one. :)

GAFBlizzard says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:25am

Interesting idea. I was not fond of how you have to drain one emotion to use another one, and I wasn't sure what the different colors of enemies around the body meant. The graphics are nice!

dejant says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:27am

Nice game! I was happy for 3 minutes :)

madhoe says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:31am

Love the originality here, but it's really hard to understand how to really play the game. Also, a typo in the starting box: the buttons are on the RIGHT, not the left.

Yozz says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:37am

madhoe, thanks, i`ll correct it.

Logun says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:41am

Nice graphics.
The theme is nicely interpreted, but I don't understand every part of the gameplay ^^.
Music very cool, but started mute on my PC !

Yozz says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:43am

Logun, thanks a lot. Music has to be muted - i don`t want to scare people with sudden sound. That`s why thtere is a small popup telling you to turn on the music.

mtinkerhess says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:51am

I really like the textures inside the person! The music is really fun too, fits with the anti-depression mood.

I wasn't sure what decisions I was supposed to be making, in that way it feels like of like cookie clicker or something, just keep pressing the buttons.

PriorBlue says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:58am

The graphics are great, it looks a little bit like an advertising for the metro surface of windows 8. :D

shyupuff says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:59am

Interesting premise, instructions were a little ambiguous so I wasn't sure how to play at first. Overall I enjoyed the minimalism and this was really cool (:

Custard Games says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:59am

Gameplay kinda confused me a little I have to be honest. But I love the interpretation of the theme, and the vibrant colours.

Druid says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:15am

I was happy just for 2 minutes... So sad game XD But still, i like it!.

micdoodle8 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:19am

Awesome. I like the unique take on the theme, and the colourful visuals are nice as well!

muramasa says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:31am

After a second try and reading a little, I understood how to play it. It is kind of good. But after some time, and developing a "technique", this game ends up being pretty repetitive. After 10min I let myself get depressed.

Yozz says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:37am

muramasa, you're strong and optimistic :-)

schnüt says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:18am

It felt good to battle the negative emotions. Very uplifting game, it is quite easy, but that reminds that the bad thougts have no chance against the power of love, music and nature. :D

Aomeas says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:23am

Graphisms and Music are good!
But I haven't been in danger with depression around me, just clicking and holding buttons.
Difficulty should increase with time, maybe.

Techblogogy says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:23am

This game felt great!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:24am

Reminds the observer of something they've felt before. That's essentially what art is for.

Liens says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:27am

Interesting concept. I would have the 'dark objects' flying at you disappear when they hit the forcefield otherwise it looks like they're getting through. Or maybe have some of them disappear and only one or two get through like on those germs vs soap ads haha.

John Drury says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:36am

Need more feedback when you collect points. overall was good.

terraco says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:55am

I don't remember depression being like this at all!

Being told to be happy after I lost when I felt like there was nothing I could do to change it. That's depression.

shuanDang says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:57am

The music didn't start until i reset it, and it added a lot to the game (got repetitive after a while, though). I stayed happy for about a minute and a half before getting tired of staying happy..

Yozz says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:09am

shuanDang, music has to be muted on start - i don`t want to scare people with sudden sound. That`s why there is a small popup telling you to turn on the music.

Dreii says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:21am

Really unique take on the theme, great graphics!

Reinkout says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:27am

Great mood, its completely different from what I've played so far. Thank you for this.

CustomPhase says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:47am

I didnt quite get, when i should use each of the buttons on the right, but i managed to last long enough to get bored. This seems rather esoteric, thougths provoking, than just fun game. And im the fan of seconds ones :) Neat visuals though.

tchem says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:55am

Awesome man,,, i loved it.... really cool idea,, graphics, theme originality.

neekobus says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:25pm

Original setting. But I can't see the difference between the 3 elements.

Maybe you should make different "attacks" from the outside, and each elements (love, nature..) can defend from one better than other ?

Yozz says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:36pm

neekobus, yes, dependences were planned but declined due to a lack of time.

Kimau says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:46pm

Found it really confusing signals and feedback. Got it in the end. Really interesting take on the theme.

Hypnohustla says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:03pm

Love the aesthetics. A bit hard to understand, even with all the instructions tho. But a solid and unique little game :)

darkflamejam says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:08pm

Pretty good concept, not sure on the different types of aura?

morcosan says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:39pm

not bad :)

thomz12 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:41pm

very unique game, great job!

Muu? says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:50pm

Three minutes of pure happiness!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:52pm

i like it.. i just kept clicking love as the other seemed to just drain me.. liked the gfx :)

Gins says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:02pm

Very nice concept, it's a bit repetitive though, as it seems one emotion always fills up enough to keep the game running once you figure out how to not waste your emotions, so I died on purpose after 7-8 minutes.
Very nice and relaxing music and smooth graphics.
Would have been interesting to have the music change depending on your emotional status or some unique aspects to each emotion.

ioboi says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:10pm

Interesting concept and interpretation of the theme :)
I like the soundtrack.

bzizizi says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:33pm

Overall good, mechanics need a rework.

hexabeast says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:47pm

This game is really sad x) but very original!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:57pm

Well Done. I love the graphics and the idea ! Very original ! Congratulations :)

Agreon says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:11pm

A nice idea but i don't get what the diffrent emotions do ^^

jtpup0 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:11pm

At first I had no idea what to do even with the instructions.. but that added some fun onto discovering what each aura did and where to find a balance.. also the visuals were aesthetically pleasing

gigitrix says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:19pm

Nice idea but as others have said I'd like to see some differences between emotions/more strategic reasons to use different things.

donan says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:24pm

Good concept. Really original :D

Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:39pm

Not really a challange and I was confused on what to choose so I kept filling heart because the others dont seem to matter much. But bonus points for making something inovative

Lacaranian says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:41pm

Good art and concept! I wasn't sure what was keeping (or if anything was keeping) the shields large, but I did stave off depression for a good while. Cool!

Caridorc says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:45pm

Pretty average, nothing incredible.

jotson says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:11pm

It's pretty but I have no idea what to do.

jancsiba5 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:33pm

Very good game :)

bakpakin says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:03pm

Interesting, but without an end goal, I don't really see the point. It was relaxing, though.

ENDESGA says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:18pm

Amazing idea you have here. I love it :)

longshorts says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:32pm

"Try and be happier next time"

FINE THEN I WILL GAME!
Actually that's a lie, I'm pretty happy. Because I played your game. No really. Very charming, original and I loved the graphics.

DarkMeatGames says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:45pm

Wow, really catchy tune, really liked it! I liked the concept a lot too, but had wished that those bad things would have been blocked by my aura, yo! I couldn't tell if I was doing it right/wrong until I died, maybe some more feedback of some kind would help. Great start though, keep it up!

mollymus says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:05pm

Had to read the comments to figure out the music wasn't broken, good thing I went back though cause the music's awesome!=) Felt like it was a bit too easy though, couldn't lose until I decided to see what happend if I stoped playing:7

friken says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:06pm

i enjoyed the feel of the graphics and the concept, very cool.

Ithildin says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:08pm

The concept is quite original, if a bit hard to get.
Also, I liked the cheerful tone of the music.

Nice job!

evilDan says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:16am

Pretty cool game, super interesting concept - but this game NEEDS some music/sound!!!

Sestren says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:02am

I'm not sure if I found a bug or an exploit or not, but it seems like just holding down one of the buttons after awhile keeps you protected indefinitely. The visuals and the concept are neat, but I do wish it were more of a challenge.

sugarbyte says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:15am

Cute graphics and music. Really did not get how such cheerful mood translated into fighting depression, or how the game connected to beneath the surface.

IAmSpencer says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:25am

Fun and clever idea. Graphics are clean and nice, rapid mouse clicking hurts but is fun non the less lol good job :)

harleylaurie says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:28am

Seems interesting but the mechanics are a little confusing.
Is it actually possible to lose?
I cant tell if there is any difference between using love, music or flower, they all seem to do the same thing.

FatJoe says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:34am

Interesting idea, got the hang of it and manage 2 minutes of happiness. I like the take on the theme and the feel of the game, good subject.

Skywilly says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:11am

Great theme adaptation !

Sergraz says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:17am

Playing this felt nice.

jitendragarg says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:22am

I am unable to play it on web or download the game. It looks so interesting to play. But, I just can't get it.

Can anyone rehost the windows version of the game somewhere?

Yozz says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:16pm

You can`t download or run it?

SoupWithBits says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:27pm

I don't know what's going on but I'm happy :D

Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:57pm

Quite hard to understand. At least I managed to get about 3 minutes.

Pinktreeleaf says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:48pm

Very hippie game. nice interesting take on the theme.

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:35pm

Deep and simple.
Maybe a bit too simple.
But fun to see something different in Ludum Dare and something that tackles a real problem...

vigrid says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:11pm

I'm afraid I couldn't figure out how do the controls affect the state of the game. Was it just pressing a button and waiting for the aura to grow? Having at least some sound for different auras would be great.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:55pm

It's a good effort. I have some hopefully constructive criticism, intended to help with your game design (not to be insulting!). This game is a perfect example of starting with a narrative first, and then trying to superimpose gameplay for whatever suits the narrative you're trying to tell. This method of game design puts the actual design last, making the game less fun. There really is no gameplay here, I'm just holding buttons and there are no interesting decisions to be made or challenge to be had.

Props for making something and entering Ludum Dare, but next time I would try to make people feel emotions through actual gameplay rather than spelling it out. If you want the player to know depression, than make gameplay and atmosphere that evokes a similar feeling, don't just say "you are depressed."

Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:15pm

Pretty cool, even if I didn't really know what I was doing half the time!

Udell Games says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:36pm

Interesting idea, would have been nice to be able to see how much of each emotion I had left. Also that music is a really weird choice for the theme of depression. Waaaay too happy.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:56pm

I like the idea and the visuals are great. After playing a while I wonder if there's a end to the game? I try to gather stuffs but the points don't seem to show, maybe some feedbacks (visual or with sounds) could help.

noom says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:59am

I was a little confused as to what the goal was at first but I got the hang of it, I felt though a little bored as the match progressed it didn't really get more difficult and I felt it wasn't going anywhere. It was a nice concept though, I could see something like this being used in a children's game to help educate them about conditions such as depression.

Hermes says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:59am

Nice game.

oranebeast says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:08pm

This was amazing, I letirally could not stop playing.

starpixie says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:06am

Nice complete little game. Wasn't immediately apparent I had to click on the hearts, music notes, and flowers generated onscreen to get more points. I originally thought I could mix the three states for more happiness, but gameplay proved that was wrong. Really upbeat music track! Looked super professional. Once I figured out the gameplay I think I could have played forever, so maybe you could work on balance a bit, or have an end-state after a certain amount of time that reads, "you have control over your depression!" or something.

tomvert says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:42am

Interesting take on the theme, but the game is confusing and it's hard to understand what's going on. But keep it up !

danialhyatt says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:17pm

Very clean, good presentation! Kinda tiring though, and the failure message is a bit condescending, works against the feeling of the game. Definitely made me smile, beautiful idea!

May 2, 2014 @ 1:03am

Really beautiful and crisp graphics, but I wasn't sure what was supposed to keep me from just holding any given button.

jsspiegel says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:49am

Nice idea, and good graphics too! Just a tad to easy and "lacking a goal" though, not that a game necessarily needs one!

jsspiegel says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:50am

Nice idea, and good graphics too! Just a tad too easy and "lacking a goal" though, not that a game necessarily needs one!

May 2, 2014 @ 7:59am

Graphics are pretty cool! :)

GamerTaters says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 10:19am

Nice interpretation of the theme. Had to click a whole lot, but I felt happy.

BadPaul34 says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 11:29am

That's such a great concept but I didn't resist to the depression very long haha! Nice graphics and colors, maybe it would have been great to see the effects of love, music and nature with music for example :)

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]