Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Lair Raid 2: Battle in the Deep Dark

by Parappa - Jam Entry

I've always wanted to make a Tactical RPG game in the style of Fire Emblem, Disgaea, Final Fantasy Tactics, Tactics Ogre, Langrisser, Vandal Hearts, etc. and I found a good subterranean style tile set, so I decided to just go for it. I wanted to make something that reminds me of Sega Saturn import games from the mid-90s.

As is often the case with my solo projects, the controls and stuff are not well explained, and I kind of force the player to figure stuff out on their own. You can press ? or Esc in-game for a controls primer pop-up. I'm worried that the game is too easy but usually people tell me my games are too hard.

Since you've read this far, I'll give you a power gamer tip: you can move your dwarf units next to an enemy to "charge" attack, and then click them again and click the adjacent enemy for a "melee" attack. Do both attacks in the same turn for lots of damage.

Thanks for playing! Leave me a comment and I will try to rate your game.


All art assets used under Creative Commons license terms


Dungeon Tiles by Buch:

http://opengameart.org/content/dungeon-tileset
http://blog-buch.rhcloud.com


Musical Score by Steven O'Brien:

https://soundcloud.com/stevenobrien/solemn-choral-piece-no-2-2010
https://soundcloud.com/stevenobrien/epic-theme-no-4
https://soundcloud.com/stevenobrien/epic-orchestral-piece
https://soundcloud.com/stevenobrien/majestic-epic-orchestral-piece

Font is Comic Neue:

http://comicneue.com/


Ogmo Editor by Matt Thorson used to create level data,

http://www.ogmoeditor.com/


Licensed version of TexturePacker used to create texture atlas files,

http://www.codeandweb.com/texturepacker


FlashDevelop used as an IDE,

http://www.flashdevelop.org/


Starling library used for Flash graphics,

http://gamua.com/starling/


WinLame was used to re-encode mp3s to save swf space,

http://winlame.sourceforge.net/


Wyvern-Tail is a Flash game library and framework by Jason Estey,

https://code.google.com/p/wyvern-tail/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#106Audio(Jam)3.71
#181Fun(Jam)3.32
#253Mood(Jam)3.32
#256Graphics(Jam)3.67
#283Overall(Jam)3.35
#563Innovation(Jam)2.60
#577Humor(Jam)2.00
#578Theme(Jam)2.68

Comments

IcyLava says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:38pm

It's pretty fun. The controls were easy to figure out, and yes this was a bit easy, I didn't lose any dwarfs (if you're allowed to lose some) and I haven't even played any games of that sort. Nice choice of music, seems to fit in. Good job :)

lamphj says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:43pm

Really fun game - it took a while to understand how the attacks worked but I enjoyed it. Cool graphics and concept!

friken says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:35pm

nice work

CoderMusgrove says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:36pm

I really loved this. It even reminds me of an old game that I once played. Great job on this!

Eirikir says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:44pm

I loved it. Really, i haven't enjoyed a small game in some time.
The art is nice and the best of all you need to use the map in your advantage. You can't charge blindly

DragonXVI says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:44pm

Managed it with not a Dwarf lost! Excellent work makin' an actual turn based strategy with 3 maps in such a time. A little more visual feedback and UI polish'd be awesome! Awesome music too! :D

tehryanx says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:59pm

I really liked this. pretty polished for ld :)

Split82 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:07pm

Excelent graphics and music.

FuzzyWuzzie says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:46pm

This is pretty great but I feel like it's missing a key component - being able to skip your own turn to let the enemy come to you. In order to progress I had to constantly move my dwarfs where I didn't want them to be :(

Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:47am

Graphics and music are really nice. A lot of times I had to move my guys away from enemies to complete my turn. I'd keep working on this. Lots of potential.

mrexcessive says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:23pm

Hi. That's a fun game, reminiscent of old zombie dungeons. A slightly more animated enemy turn would be cool. Many more levels and wizards please!

Joshua_Burr says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:34pm

I really enjoyed this. Could do with being able to skip your move.

SirJson says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:35pm

+1 for Dwarfs!

Ragzouken says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:28pm

nicely put together :)

Cawrtz says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 5:11pm

Very good entry.
Music is excellent, art is really cool, the game is easy to play. Maybe it lacks some animations, and it's a bit repetitive.
Overall, I liked it, good job !

GhostID says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 9:28pm

I really enjoyed the concept, and the graphics were nice, but the game should have had more animation. Like seeing the players walk to their destinations. I'm a sucker for strategy game so I like it :). Having sound effects would have been nice but the music fit nicely. Overall, this is a great entry and fun game! :)

Teesquared says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 8:17pm

Great theme and mood. Very complete game. Enemies weren't much of a challenge (no units lost first time through). Confused me some on the movement and attacks. Felt like I got an extra attack once in a while. You made great use of available tech and resources.

neekobus says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 5:50pm

Can't play on Chrome nor Firefox (OSX) (never stop to load, white screen).

neekobus says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 5:55pm

Uh. That's ok now, it was juste very long.
Nice graphics. Of course it miss lots of things : better animations, animated moves, players and oppents stats...
But it's a good start !

wademcgillis says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 7:12pm

I couldn't figure out how to attack 100% of the time.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]