Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Kappa cat

by cinnamonmelonpig - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Explore the 7-UP ocean with kappa cat

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#98Graphics4.02
#241Humor3.00
#282Mood3.33
#297Fun3.36
#332Theme3.52
#425Overall3.31
#782Audio2.30
#1076Innovation2.31
#1409Coolness47%

Comments

Pent says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:06am

short but the lighting is nice

WhiteWolf93 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:15am

I like the graphics and it runs very smooth!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:07am

The game runs nice and I love the Nyan Cat style boost.

GresponApps says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:13am

I like it! The sound is preety nice too!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:14am

Aww, this is lovely :)

conormn says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:44am

Cute vibe, good job.

gigitrix says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:57am

Not a fan of the sound much but I expect that's a personal preference :) Very charming runner, not very innovative but it looks and feels excellent (plus the required bonus fizzy-water theme of course)

Lolninjacatz says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:03am

I liked the humor on the start page. And the powe rup was cool. What I really liked was the lighting and the particle effects. Having the bubbles in the background, the light and the god rays coming down from the top were cool touches, and the background changing color too. Liked the art style, but maybe a little contrast between objects. The music tried to capture the aquatic idea, but it was offsync, so it started to sound a little bothersome :(. The movement felt good. Liked it!

nerdybirdy346 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:13am

Ha, now this was cute. The overall feel was great, and I have to admit, I'm partial to pretty things.

Reinkout says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:19am

Controls are spot on. Really loving the graphics and the movement!

kiririn51 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:02am

It looks pretty cute and the hitboxes weren't broken which is awesome in and on itself.

monaarc says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:08am

The pixel art is very nice but the audio is disturbing even if the speed increases with your score.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:12am

looks great.
Nice and short, easy controls
Only problem was the music, not a huge one but it did sound abit crowded.
Other than that cool entry.

Chaoclypse says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:05am

I like the graphics, it's very cute!

oatsbarley says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:23am

I want to live in a world where 7-UP oceans exist.

I love this. The controls are good, the atmosphere is right, the art is cute and even the music fits in a weird way. Nice job!

EnigmAraigne says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:46pm

I really like the graphic but the music is too annyoing for me. But overall good job man!

tayl1r says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:00pm

Cute

Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:07pm

Loved it!

NeithR says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:17pm

Nice game :).
There is something with the music melody, it should be played separated. Other than that, nice job ;).

Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:57pm

Good runner\scroller, nice graphics and random-generated level. I love powerup effect!

TheMorfeus says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:59pm

Looks kinda inspired by Flappybird

hugamer says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:42pm

I liked the graphics, it was fun, congrats!

PS.: I couldn't reset the game for some reason.

ALobker says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:13pm

The adaptive audio was very cool, but it was getting on my nerves. Great game, however!

Gins says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:11pm

Funny little game you got there ^-^
The music sounds like a cat walking on a piano :3
It's also incredibly satisfying to get a power-up :D

bombjack says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:09pm

funny little runner er.. swimmer. Nice graphics.

garygreen says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:56pm

Cute graphics. :-)

Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:07pm

Very sweet game. I liked the graphics and atmosphere a lot :)

ioboi says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:29pm

Really nice graphics :)

May 1, 2014 @ 11:09am

Fun little game! I like that rainbow power up!

moonmagic says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 5:02am

Kappa Catkapkappa CAT kappa cat kap kap cat cat CAT, cat CAT kappa CAT RAINBOWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWW I LOVE the song and the rainbow, feelings I wanted to last forever. I got 1964.

Catman says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 6:29pm

Fun little game!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]