Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Baconizers: Into The Abyss

by berryhermans - Jam Entry

Summary ------- You are a heroic diver who travels down deep into the abyss to slaughter all kinds of 'fishy' creatures. Collect precious seaweed to buy upgrades for your hero, but don't forget to come back up for air! Controls -------- Move: WASD Dodge: Double tap WASD (2 second cooldown) Attack: mouse point and click (hold for continous attacking). Notes ----- Quite honestly, we are a little disappointed with our submission. Several features are missing and there are quite a few bugs (including suddenly being unable to attack), but we still wanted to share our hard work. I think we started out too ambitiously and forgot to focus on the core gameplay. We certainly learned from our mistakes and are already looking forward to the next jam! We hope people will still somewhat enjoy the game as is :-) The baconizers team ------------------- Berry Hermans Rick Voermans Merlijn van den Akker Ferdie Jonkers Sjoerd van den Broek

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#164Audio(Jam)3.52
#373Theme(Jam)3.15
#435Mood(Jam)2.96
#564Graphics(Jam)2.85
#619Humor(Jam)1.81
#627Innovation(Jam)2.44
#644Overall(Jam)2.68
#674Fun(Jam)2.26
#1460Coolness46%

Comments

xensky says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:16am

the little guy kept scooting around the screen and the sharks kept disappearing, but it was cool.

shane1090 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:00pm

Cool little game from what's been implemented - maybe a bit more variance was needed in enemies though as all I seem to find was jellyfish with a few shark much deeper down.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:43am

I wish there had been more to do or interact with. I saw a few jellyfish, but then just mines and sharks other than that. Also, everything moved very quickly, making them difficult to stab. Would have liked to see more in the way of goals or things to do.

May 3, 2014 @ 2:33am

Kind of hard to control, nice audio though!

noom says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 2:38am

Loved the graphics and most of all the audio, the way the music faded as you went deeper was really cool!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 2:39am

this had some potential but there was no substance there nice effort - really nice job on the graphics and animations

JayPC says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 7:47pm

I ran into a bug where you could not attack after attacking once. I had to restart the game to fix it.

kibertoad says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 7:50pm

If buying upgrades was actually implemented, wouldn't hurt to describe how it's done somewhere :). Overall it was a nice little entry.

mustaine says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 8:00pm

Dig the mood when you go really deep. The audio changing, the water getting darker. Did have a number of strange bugs though where I wasn't able to attack anymore and my guy would disappear. Other than those, an interesting concept.

Also, why a QUIT button?

Ragzouken says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 8:08pm

Ran out of enemies quite quickly! Maybe have the health and air indicators as bars rather than text to make it easier to read?

ActionRemix says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 1:30am

2 seaweed - World Record!

Blanky says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 6:01pm

I think this game has quite cool potential, I hope you guys are planning on completing the game.

loxo says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 6:07pm

Nice start! It's sad that you couldn't finish it. The concept is good and the audio is good too.

Moosefly says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 6:50pm

Nice graphics and audio! The controls were a bit wonky and there wasn't really a lot to do. There is a lot of potential here, I think you should continue working on this!

Joona@MooseflyGames

MokuJin says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 8:11pm

Hard to control and nice music.

TeamFlare says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 9:29pm

nice

BMacIntosh says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 5:54pm

I dig the character animations! I found the dash to be more of a hindrance than a help - I triggered it accidentally a few times, but I never really needed it.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]