Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Doomsday Bunker

by ZYXer - Jam Entry

Build your doomsday bunker! Survive the air raids!


IMPORTANT HINTS:
- You need to build beds in a bedroom to get people into your bunker.
- Hold SPACE while in a room to produce resources manually. (You DON'T need employees assigned to the room to do this.)
- Air raids will start after a few minutes.
- During air raids your employees won't produce anything and some might die of fear.
- You will lose all resources in your inventory if you are on the surface during an air raid.
- The air raids will become more frequent and last longer over time.


ACHIEVEMENTS:
The game doesn't track achievements, so it's up to you to award them to yourself. ;) Post them in your comments! :D
- Have a population of 20 or above for 5 minutes.
- Don't let anyone suffocate, die of thirst or die of hunger.
- Never lose any resources by being outside during an air raid.
- Build a communications center while having a population of 40.
- Have 4000 water and 4000 food in your bunker's inventory.


NOTE:
I wanted to submit this game for the compo, but I ran out of time. Therefore the game complies with compo rules, with the exception that I made it in 72 hours.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Theme(Jam)4.30
Coolness73%
#10Fun(Jam)4.11
#12Overall(Jam)4.21
#22Innovation(Jam)4.02
#37Mood(Jam)4.12
#98Graphics(Jam)4.18
#131Audio(Jam)3.63
#244Humor(Jam)2.89

Comments

Ken Ichi says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:22am

Awesome game! Congratz =]

radmars says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:30pm

The graphics and gameplay work well. Not sure what the hook is to keep going tho, seems like my bunker was self sustaining!

jwin says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:11pm

My favorite game so far! This is a really fun little Nuclear Apocalypse sim, I played it for probably 45 min :). My only thoughts are that being able to build out more would be fun too - alcoves of hydroponics and things. Thanks for a great game!

MunkeeBacon says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:26pm

I've always been one for upgrade type sim games, this was actually pretty fun. The graphics are not too bad and overall it plays pretty well. Good job!

SirJson says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:30pm

Awesome game!

tuxxilla says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:38pm

Nice game with great graphics. I really enjoyed playing it :)

Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:45pm

I think i played this game for almost one hour...gosh i can't believe you've done so much. Kudos!
As a critique, i think air raids should be more extreme but more avoidable (like, adding the possibility of hiding in other bunkers for a price!)

Anyway, formidable!

LandoSystems says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:46pm

Great game! Love the art style, lots of polish. This game could make a great mobile game with some more features and minor tweaks to the game play.

xandy says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:46pm

one of the best entries i have seen so far.great!

pumpkin says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:05pm

What I found frustrating :
- not enough feedback before air raid -> dying while seeing the bunker's entry is hyper frustrating...
- can't build elswhere than below. Why being able to build a really complex (something like dungeon keeper) ?

Anyway, very fun and quite "finished".

Kep says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:19pm

Awesome work! One of the best I've seen! (I'm at 54)
I actually started to give up on saving everyone, just like a real horrible experience... in the best way possible.
Well done! (5/5)

Garris says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:58am

This was great. There's an almost dwarf-fortress level sense of impending doom the whole time you're playing, it's balanced just so to make it seem like you have a chance. Fun play. Good entry.

JavadocMD says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:25pm

Achievement Unlocked: Lure hundreds of unsuspecting people into your suffocation dungeon.

... I... I am an awful person.

ahnt says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:13am

Nice mechanics and I enjoyed rushing around trying to keep the place going. Wish there was more of a story though.

kunzbe says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 10:07pm

Damn Air strikes! Get me every freaking time. I'm too greedy => nice mechanism

Crefossus says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 1:21am

Really impressive! I loved the micromanagement aspect and base building options. Having to leave the base strategically to collect resources and plan your base made this great. Amazing UI

Possibly improve: sound sfx and maybe lighting effects for above ground/underground difference. Air raid blocks notification blocks text for building - perhaps a separate window?

Toby Pinder says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 10:37pm

Very polished! Can't really add on much that others have said, other than to say there might be an exploit when starting the game - if you just grab as many crates as you can without creating a shelter you can basically start the game with tons of resources.

dector says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 10:59pm

Liked your game. And hope, some goal or goals will be added. Awesome entry.

porglezomp says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 11:34pm

At some point the air raids got so frequent there was literally nothing I could do (I played for almost half an hour,) and so I just had to sort of give up. One of the best games this LD!

recursor says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 12:37am

This is really good. I spent far more time playing it than I planned.

May 5, 2014 @ 12:41am

Hey! Doomsday Bunker is featured on my "favorites" post

http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2014/05/04/my-favorite-ld29-games/

Deity says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 12:46am

Very well made and fun to play. Impressive that its all HTML too.

Only complaint would be that the workers seem a bit lazy and air raids become too frequent (also perhaps a siren before air raid hits?).

Good job

mechabit says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 12:54am

Really fun game, wish there were a way to reduce your pop cap after you've built some beds, had everything ticking away nicely but then too many people arrived and ate all my food. You should assign those lazy survivors to going out to grab crates for a change >_>

ehtd says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 2:48am

Great game, just the pace felt somewhat slow, not sure how this can be improved

Penguincat says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 3:49am

This was an interesting entry, I like the concept. However I'm not sure I like the execution; running around left and right on the surface to collect resources isn't a fun mechanic, and the limitation of only being able to build in a straight line downward takes away a lot of the fun of these types of games. I also don't like how I have to keep reassigning employees; I wouldn't want to be in charge of such lazy people! I think it was a neat idea though, and I liked the graphics and the overall mood.

FrameMatt says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 7:31am

Have a great time playing it. (:

Snoother says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 3:30pm

Oh dear, I played that for far too long! Really addictive. The whole graphics and UI feel really polished and well done. Definitely a highlight of this LD.

The core idea is incredibly fun but little things could do with some tweaking, mainly reducing he frequency of the air raids and the preceding warning. At the rate they were going off for me there was no way I could sustain my bunker.

Katamori says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 7:50pm

Addictive! Check my video for further opinion.

May 5, 2014 @ 9:11pm

AMAZING entry!! Had much fun
It would be nice if its possible to build more bunkers and maybe something to increase difficulty (zombies?)

nonentheless says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 7:31am

Great entry, two things I was missing is showing the distance to the bunker (not only direction) when I'm on the surface and maybe adding rooms to the sides of the bunker. Other than that it's really nice game.

mcapraro says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 12:42am

well done, great visual style and love the concept!

paps says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 5:33pm

Favorite game so far.

Karlux says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 10:56pm

I could not stop! you feel responsible for the people, you do not want to let them die of hunger, thirst or suffocate. Fun to built facilities. I like the graphics. Lots of fun! Great game.

GFM says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 2:04am

This game is promising! It's already really good, but it could use some more sfx and it could be possible to build the bunker horizontally, also. I don't know if this would be a good idea, but traverse could be made easier... Oh, also, the achievements could be built into the game.

Other than that, I don't have much to say... Graphics were really good. I liked that you are able to make a (completely autonomous) self sustained bunker, although that seems to be pretty hard.

May 11, 2014 @ 7:23pm

Awesome graphics and lots of cool gameplay.

misterwalter says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 4:57pm

Played for about an hour as well, then I realized that there was no lose condition, so I just made all the bunks I could and watched as hundreds poured in and suffocated...I can only assume my character "hunted" this way, as he seemed totally unaffected.
All that aside, well done. I too would have appreciated more flexibility with my base, building sideways and re-purposing rooms being the biggest priority. Also the lack of capacitor or other power electricity saving option was a bit sad.

neekobus says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 2:02pm

Excellent game base. Like everyone, I really like the core concept.

Here are some constructive critics :
- The first air-raid appears to late. You should add it during the "tutorial", just after the build.
- It takes me time to understand that each room can contain one construction, and time to understand that I need to build a bedroom to have people.
- You should consider adding a timer for next raid. Or even an not-precise timer like "Chances to have a raid in next 10s = 30%"
- You should add some more mecanics while running outside. Maybe concurents neighboors, platforms, or something.
- You should add mouse/touch control for all moves, it will make a great tablet game.

Good work ! Want to see more !

conormn says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 5:37am

Really enjoyed this. Would love to see it expanded!

woodenrabbit says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 4:41am

Nice, elegant and relaxing. The graphics looked good and worked well for the game. The music was perfect for setting. And I just had fun trying to keep everyone alive and grow my bunker.

Karlux says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 7:03am

Playing is great. Graphics ideas excellent. I like the raid effects when everything is shaking. Very realistic! The music during the peaceful time is very efficient: time to breathe, do your repairs, get more people and affect them, and get more stuff! Excllent!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]