Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Organ Run

by kunzbe - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Speedrun game, Under your skin.

Running, Organs, Running
Organs, Running, Organs
Running, Organs, Running

Features:
- Sweet Rocket Jumping
- Pulsating music & organs
- Disorientation

Controls:

WASD - Move
Mouse - Shoot & Rocket jump


Behind the scene:

Engine: libgdx
Audiotools: Ardour, Audacity
Graphics: gimp

EDIT: Fixed reported crash bug

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness84%
#181Fun3.53
#242Innovation3.53
#258Audio3.25
#270Overall3.48
#340Mood3.24
#392Humor2.69
#671Graphics2.98
#900Theme2.82

Comments

gikdew says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:27am

Nice one!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:36am

Good job. I think you do a good job of exploring the rocket jump mechanic, and hope you expand it a bit post-event; it deserves it! I was a bit scared I would have to do some speedy walljumping, so was kind of relieved when it ended after that stage. But now I'd like a bit more!

Belvar says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:42pm

The games crashes shortly after I launch it.
Here is the output :

$java -jar LD29_OrganRun.jar
load map forstartscreen
Cubocy: blocks created
Exception in thread "LWJGL Application" java.lang.IllegalArgumentException: Error compiling shader: 0:25(57): error: no matching function for call to `inverse(mat4)'; candidates are:
0:25(58): error: no matching function for call to `transpose(error)'; candidates are:
0:47(72): error: could not implicitly convert operands to arithmetic operator
0:47(85): error: operands to arithmetic operators must be numeric
0:47(86): error: operands to arithmetic operators must be numeric

at com.badlogic.organrun.MapRenderer.createCustomShader(MapRenderer.java:278)
at com.badlogic.organrun.MapRenderer.<init>(MapRenderer.java:104)
at com.badlogic.organrun.screens.GameScreen.show(GameScreen.java:31)
at com.badlogic.gdx.Game.setScreen(Game.java:62)
at com.badlogic.organrun.OrganRun.create(OrganRun.java:19)
at com.badlogic.gdx.backends.lwjgl.LwjglApplication.mainLoop(LwjglApplication.java:136)
at com.badlogic.gdx.backends.lwjgl.LwjglApplication$1.run(LwjglApplication.java:114)

kunzbe says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:28am

@Belvar: should be fixed. It was caused by a slightly different opengl version used by your java.

BubuIIC says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:26am

Wow, that's quite a cool game. Not a huge fan of the organ theme but the mechanics are super fun. Rocket jumping combined with gravity changing. Brilliant :-).

ZYXer says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:41pm

I think you should get yourself checked out, having multiple hearts can't be healthy ;)

KevinWorkman says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:53pm

This is one of the best games I've seen so far. At first I saw the rocket-jumping and thought "oh, cool!" and *THEN* I saw the gravity shifting. Played the whole thing, loved it. I would definitely play an expanded version of this.

I think you would get a lot more exposure if you rated more games. Right now it says you only rated 3, and you need at least 20 to show up in the main results. I only found this because I was searching for other libGDX games.

LandoSystems says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 8:26pm

The rocket jumping mechanic is excellent. The controls were mostly good, though I would really like to keep "space" for jump as well. A very solid game for the 48 hour compo, and I would recommend that you develop this one further. Flying in circles around heart in one of the opening levels was quite rewarding.

longshorts says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 8:32pm

Music was a little eerie, but that is good! Really good game mechanics which make a simple platformer a lot of fun.

Zyrconium says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 9:07pm

Nice rocket noises, awesome idea :p

Delca says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 9:31pm

A excellent game, with good graphics and audio! I really liked the gravity-changeing arrows, the spinning it provoked was fun to watch. Those organs were... creepy... though, to say the least.
Anyway, that was a great entry, congrats!

microwerx says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 10:02pm

Fantastic...love the simple gameplay and complex behavior...

cheesepencil says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 11:14pm

I love rocket jumping!

mjau says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 11:50pm

Nice game. It got a bit frustrating when i was caught between a bunch of level-turners in one level though.. i just kept falling and turning, and the easiest way out was into a dead end that lead right back into those turners. Almost didn't get out at all. Also, the second timed challenge didn't reset the level orientation when the time ran out, so i had to do the entire level upside down.

May 3, 2014 @ 12:39am

I reject your walljump route and substitute my own! (Skipped it all by jumping over the gravity triggers. Hehe.)

Jump physics were a bit weird at times; especially when wall-hugging.

Otherwise it played pretty nicely. Good job!

kunzbe says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 1:31am

@ALL: thx for all the great feedback !! One or the other will influence the post-mortem version, thanks so much

@KevinWorkman: libgdx rocks ;)

@LandoSystems: Acually I'm already working on a post-mortem version with a few additional features for the new levels. There will be blood...

if the interest is big enough I could also scale it up some more... even release it somewhere

CeriseGhost says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 1:48am

This is a really fun game to play. Happy to say that I played it all the way through! :)

Loneshark says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 3:46am

Nice game-play ideas!

CluelessGames says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:09am

Nice game.

WhiteWolf93 says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:26am

Nice game! Was a bit hard to control the rockets but the time attack level helped a lot :P, well done.

J.Barrows says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 5:28am

Really fun, but it seems like the level only rotates about 89 degrees... Maybe a rounding error in a calculation of radians?

kunzbe says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 7:43am

@Barrows: the level rotates 90 degrees, the cam has a little offset of 1-2 degrees, on purpose

KuGrou says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 7:35pm

Really loved the rocket jump mechanics. Looking forward to seeing what you add to this.

meszka says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 10:29pm

Awesome mechanics! The rocket jumps and gravity rotation make a great combination. Definitely has potential for post-compo development :)

May 10, 2014 @ 1:26am

Wasnt quite sure if I was doing things right, but its a cool looking start! I included it in part 18 of my Ludum Dare Compilation video series, if you'd like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/mAtRG2njZHE

garygreen says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 10:38pm

Clever maze puzzler with nice twists ie use of the rotation. Loved how that evil synth kicked in later in the audio too.

kunzbe says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 10:47pm

Finally I can annouce 'Organ Run - The Meaty Edition'. It's a visual rework of the original game. When I have enough time, I will release additional levels. Perhaps even an android version (damn controls are tricky on android)

SzRaPnEL says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 12:28pm

Bloody hell my eyes hurt! :D

TheColorMan says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 11:10pm

This was a ton of fun!

Jason Lay says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 12:40am

Fun! The rotation freaked me out!

Sestren says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 2:56am

For me, the camera was jittery nearly to the point of being unplayable, but I really liked the feel of this game. The music, though very strange, was quite cool and lent a lot to the atmosphere.

LTPATS says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 11:22pm

Played through the whole game, I enjoyed it! The organ theme was cool, and the music seemed very fitting. It took me a bit to get the hang of the rocket jumping but it was really fun once I got the hang of it. The gravity switching was pretty neat too!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]