Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Wunderheilung

by kbm - 48 Hour Compo Entry

WUNDERHEILUNG is a game about helping people.

It's also about burning cigarettes at extreme heat and looking beneath the surface of serious medical conditions. In WUNDERHEILUNG, things are not what they appear to be.

INSTRUCTIONS: Scan the patients with the magnifying glass, look for any weird spots and keep the glass centered for a few seconds. Then try to further help your patient..

I hope you enjoyed it, feel free to contact me anytime: @konstantinkopka on Twitter - www.konstantinkopka.com [PORTFOLIO]

I worked in Construct 2, used Photoshop for Graphics, Bfxr and Audacity for Audio.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#65Graphics4.24
#70Humor3.64
#70Theme3.92
#79Mood3.83
#185Overall3.62
#211Innovation3.58
#267Audio3.23
#420Fun3.17

Comments

hipufiamiumi says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:44am

A very interesting entry. The art is very fitting to the theme, the gameplay fitting to the LD theme. Creepy, but not off putting. Took me a bit to figure that CTRL is part of the controls, that should be documented. I'm looking forward to more patients, and perhaps some sort of scoring. Very nice for less than two days of work.

kbm says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:59am

@hipufiamiumi thanks for your feedback, much appreciated! :) what do you mean with "CTRL is part of the controls"? The game is supposed to be mouse only (unless I missed something during cleanup)

conormn says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:52am

Really like the idea here. Art is hot too. I managed to grab the magnifying glass and check out the first guy, but wasn't sure what to do next.

hipufiamiumi says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:42am

Nevermind, CTRL isn't part of the controls. The control is just confusing. I just happened to press CTRL when holding the glass over "incongruities".

kbm says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:35am

@hipufiamiumi thanks for elaborating! :)
@conormn Thanks, man! The game is kind of about figuring out what to do next, but I'll give you a hint: There is an oven to the left, put the cigarette and hook in there and see what happens.

monaarc says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:37am

One of the bst i have played today !! Good jod, and i want more patients :D

gabbsson says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:40am

If only there were a few more patients I could heal. Really fun game, well executed!

Spierek says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:40am

Well done, I liked the art and the overall mood :D

rberiot says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:17am

incredible in every way. you're gifted

Split82 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:19am

I liked this one a lot! The gameplay is quite short but nice.

Liens says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:19am

I like the voices and the mood. I was hoping there would be more patients, "Papers, Please" style.

jsmars says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:20am

Really well made overall! Great graphics and idea and presentation! A bit short but thats usually a good thing in LD. Great work!

MrShortee says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:22am

short but awesome. the art is amazing and the sound fits well. really looking forward for an expanded version :)

Druid says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:22am

This looks like candidate for another indie hit! More injuries please :D

pansapiens says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:24am

Lovely organic art style & and fun to explore. I was happy without any instructions or tutorial since it made it more exciting when I figured out what to do. I guess if you wanted to help players that get stuck an optional hint button could appear if they stall at a step for too long. I wish there was there was a third patient - what do you mean I'm not a real doctor ? .. would a pretend doctor have this fancy magnifying glass ?!?

tiffi_gaming says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:53am

Hit potential over here!

vilya says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:00pm

Once you figure out the mechanics, it's all over very quickly! A bit of variation - more puzzles to solve - would be great. Love the art style and the concept though, very original.

littleball says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:00pm

I like the style, very nice.

You should add more characters!

smbe19 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:08pm

After I found the issues with the first patient it took me a while to figure out what to do next. But otherwise it's an awesome game!

Jeremias says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:38pm

Short, but interesting game. While I liked the puzzles, I think the controls (grabbing an item) seem to be a bit unresponsive. The graphical art style is really well done!

rnlf says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:20pm

Sadly, the bird-with-top-hat floated far above the desk, so I could neither "hear" him talk nor examine him. But mystery-cigarette-hook-hands was a funny guy and the style of the game is fresh and beautiful.

5 stars on theme and graphics!

local minimum says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:36pm

One of the better doctor games I've played, they seem to pop up no matter the theme. But as other pointed out, in this case it was really a great use of the theme.

Love the graphics and the speech and disease - treatment logics for their ailments.

Filecreation says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:59pm

This was quite an odd one.
I love the strange artwork and the simple gameplay, it was a lot more than I expected at first glance!

cageinabird says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:07pm

It's weird in a good way. Has the potential to be taken further, for sure; I know I'd like to see more strange characters to help. :)

erdos says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:19pm

This is really creepy and weird and awesome and moody, I wish there were more characters to heal, I liked putting the bandaid on the crows eye!

syawqy says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:23pm

I like your drawing style

Doubstract says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:24pm

wow, it reminds me of "Papers,please". I love gameplay, art is amazing too!

Nambiar says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:25pm

Well, did not expect that eye-socket fix. XD

Ludonaut says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:23pm

Awesome art, great idea and weird sounds. Great job.

lorniebear says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:25pm

Fun figuring out what was wrong with people. It would have been nice to see more levels

SiENcE says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:35pm

Nice game. The Idea has potential but the mechanic should be more difficult, more puzzle like.

kbm says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:59pm

@SiENcE hey, whats up? :) thanks for the comment, i agree that the gameplay could be more complex and challenging. maybe i will make a bigger game out of the idea and expand on the mechanics.

AlbertoSM says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:19pm

LOVE the artstyle!! Short and sweet :D

jomacel says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:34pm

Good job with the game, I really enjoyed playing it. I lost it with the pimple

Colorvade says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:49pm

Haha, very charming and unique to play.

terraco says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:45pm

Very eerie presentation

DrMelon says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:02am

Very interesting! I tried to incinerate the crow's loose eye the first time though, haha!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:12am

Nice concept, kind of cute but had a gruesome element to it. I was kind of bummed when it ended so soon. Great entry!

flavio says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:01am

I really enjoyed the ambiance and graphics. Too sad it's so short ! We want more characters ! :)

Lars Faust says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:05am

Sweet art, interesting concept.

Wouldve loved to have some more patients.

pawegio says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:14am

Very nice art.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:48pm

Very small but charming game. I liked mood and the controls worked very nicely with my trackball device. I wish you would have explored the theme a bit further. The problems of the second patient were really gross (in a good way)

On a sidenote:
I don't know how I feel about making me go through Game-Jolt to play and vote it for the Ludum Dare to be honest.

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:16pm

Fun to see something different and I think the theme really was well implemented.

MattV says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:20pm

good use of the theme!

Mase says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:37pm

I enjoyed the dialogue especially. Appealingly cute and droll.

Techblogogy says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:03pm

This is THE game!

martijn says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:33pm

"You have a hook for a hand", "That explains a lot". Lovely little game. It took me a while to figure out what to do though

Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:27pm

i liked it even tho i had no bloody idea what i was supposed to be doing :)

Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:58pm

Nice art and sounds. Nice atmosphere.

BuKaneerz says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:49pm

Very interesting game !
I really want more patients ! (:
Great work !

samooJAM says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:40pm

That was pleasant to play. My favorite entry so far.
Too short sadly! And maybe you could make it more challenging somehow.

tchem says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:20am

Great!!! the mechanic and gameplay are simple and intuitive,,, the artwork is awesome,,, excelent work man...

Solifuge says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:54am

Hi, this is Vector from the Victory Garden team! (posting under Solifuge's account)

I really like this game! There's not much gameplay here, but the graphics and just... general... weirdness is really nice. I especially enjoy the understated responses to situations that are clearly grievous, which reminds me a lot of how a lot of people respond to psychological injury. So, I think the writing is definitely something keep and focus on.

I don't know if you've seen this game, but it might make a good study for gameplay mechanics in the future?

http://jayisgames.com/archives/2004/07/the_asylum.php

eufrik says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:58am

Nice Game. simple yet addicting. It would be much better if there were more patients but overall you did a good job!

Lyje says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:57am

Pretty creepy! Almost salad fingers creepy. I like the idea and would have liked to see more patients!

Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:17pm

A short but very nice experience

SoupWithBits says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:50pm

Art style is creepy...
It's perfect!

Tetriste says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:10pm

Haha loved the concept and art, although the game is short with no replayability. Still, nice game! :D

madmaw says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:55pm

So good! I wish it was longer, and maybe some branching dialog or outcomes or something, but what a great idea and so well executed!

lekochen says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:23am

This is lovely.

JavadocMD says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:43am

This is amazing! The art style and the weird/creepy atmosphere are really entrancing. I hope you'll continue to develop this.

PapyGaragos says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:15am

Aww to bad there was only 2 patient.

I liked the idead, reminded me of 'paper please'.

May 1, 2014 @ 7:04pm

That was crazy, and awesome.

bombjack says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:06pm

weird but fun. good job!

NeithR says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:58pm

Awesome game, I wish there would be more patients in next update :D.

May 2, 2014 @ 7:56am

Oooh body horror :) Lovely lovely game. The mood, humor and graphics are fantastic! Kudos kbm!

May 2, 2014 @ 4:20pm

Love the art, love the mood, love the game play. WELL DONE, I included it in part 8 of my Ludum Dare Compilation video series! http://youtu.be/0CjJInaKTls

Thorig says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 3:49pm

That was creepy.. I like the idea and graphics.

GrooveMan says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 5:08pm

Amusingly gross. Everything was wonderfully neat and polished, great job!

loxo says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 8:40pm

Really unique idea and graphics style. The game is fun to play and fits the theme very well. But sadly it's rather short. Would be nice to have a much longer version, maybe with randomly generated characters and more to do for the player.

MintArcade says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 7:41am

Great fun. Nice graphics. Bit short, but for the 48 hours game impressive.

joe40001 says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 9:04am

I liked the game, but it felt like the engine was built, so was it just an issue of doing art that prevented more patients? Because the same game with like 6-8 patients (and slightly funnier dialogue) I think would have really clicked. Don't get me wrong, aside from this game's shortness it is a very solid Compo entry.

jorgemoag says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 9:32pm

Very interesting concept

Zerkruemler says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 9:31am

Very nice. Cool graphics and smooth gameplay. I also like the 'wuwawawa'.
A pity that is has only two levels.

GarethIW says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 2:28pm

What a wonderful idea! Beautiful art.

Catman says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 4:52pm

Brilliant idea, and brilliant execution. The art is great!!

Rick Hoppmann says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 6:15pm

Cool idea!
The art and sound is ok.
The actual gameplay works flawless once you figured out the controls, but it is very short.

recursor says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 11:56pm

Loved this! The art, sound, everything. The conversations are absolutely hilarious. My kids and I were smiling the whole time. Please make more patients!

stvr says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 6:25pm

Sir, you have a cigarette in your mouth.

mortus says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 6:36pm

Nice mood. Not much of a gameplay but I love the concept and the mood. Would be great to see more patients and more challenging puzzles.

gwa says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 7:00pm

I am a Doctor now :) really like your game and the special the Graphics

Diptoman says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 6:34am

The art style was really cool. It gave a creepy and good feel to the game at the same time. I wish it had been longer, but I enjoyed it a lot. The idea and implementation of the theme- both were rather unique.

mcapraro says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 2:47pm

i could see this going farther, i love the concept

Anoarith says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 7:22pm

Very surrealistic, I loved this atmosphere :o !

Snoother says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 8:58pm

The art and gentle surrealism is just sublime. And the curiosity of examining people (or creatures?) for medical peculiarities is really wonderful. Definitely wanted more!

I picked up the controls fine, seemingly unlike other commentators. But I did want a bit more narrative so as to pick up the premise better. Why am I helping people? For what greater purpose? At what institution? That kind of thing. It seems like it what lend itself to a cool, whacky narrative. Maybe with recurring patients that whose stories are gradually revealed through the interactions. I don't know, just some stuff that sprung to mind.

Anyway, it's still a 5/5 entry. Congrats.

Dietrich Epp says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 8:58am

Amazing concept! It's such a fascinating game but I can't figure out how to get past the hook on the hand.

May 16, 2014 @ 3:32pm

I don't know why but I really like this! It's amazingly strange

Pierrec says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 4:44pm

There is something unique about this game. I love it! (and obviously, this is too short)

Moosefly says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 11:45pm

Lovely "artsy" game! My only complaint is that it's so short, was just getting into the mood :P.

Anssi@MooseflyGames

Dans17 says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 11:03pm

This is a really nice game and it runs well in Chrome, but when I tried to run it in internet explorer there was no hand and the first patient floated off into the sky.

May 19, 2014 @ 11:16am

Loved the look and the interactive aspects. Clever little game with great design.

hyouko says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 2:08pm

Would definitely love to see more of this!

Looking at the screenshots, I realize that I got the bird fellow sans beak, which only served to make him (her? it?) even more surreal-looking. Probably that's a bug, though!

Kerdelos says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 3:41pm

There was really a unsettling atmosphere with this game !

Lucariatias says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 4:20pm

A lot of fun and wonderfully innovative. My only complaint is that there were so few patients to serve.
There also seemed to be a bug where the mouse was invisible after dropping the magnifying glass - this was (temporarily) fixed by pressing esc, wiggling the mouse around a bit, and then moving it back into the game.

ErikU says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 10:16pm

Very nice entry. My only wish is that it could have been a few patients longer! Well done.

kbm says ...
May 21, 2014 @ 8:12pm

Thanks for your wonderful comments, everyone! :) I will be releasing an expanded version in the coming months, so stay tuned! Once finished, you will be able to play it from here: http://kbm.itch.io

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]