Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

In the Dark

by Catlinman - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Click the link above to go straight to the game. Google Chrome is recommended since WebGL runs faster in it.

******Controls******

[W]/[Up] - Move forward
[S]/[Back] - Move back
[A]/[Left] - Move left
[D]/[Right] - Move right
[F] - Toggle fullscreen
[Mouse] - Look
[Left Mouse] - Punch
[+]/[-] - Change mouse sensitivity

******Description******

"The floor seems odd here. Is there something beneath the surface?"

The premise is simple: The ground of each level will break after a certain amount of time. Every time you descend through the ground the world you find yourself in grows bigger and more intricate. Your only help is a strange orb that follows you around everywhere you go. It seems it gives off light equivalent to your lifeforce. Even though you feel the strange comfort of your new trusty follower you are still wary of what lies below. As you descend the dangers become more and more visible. You have no choice but to face the evil that lurks in the depths.

Can you survive?


******Software******

- Sublime Text 2
- Three.js
- Canvas-Utilities Library (https://github.com/Catlinman/Canvas-Utilities)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2196Coolness0%

Comments

hexagore says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:25am

Really atmospheric, love the floor breaking mechanic. Also, woo Three.JS!

ovenchips says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:57am

Things I liked: mood, physics, minimal art style. Orienting the viewpoint could get tricky when jumping on the blocks that send you into the air. Cool use of WebGL. Very nice, well done! :)

puckers says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:58am

The floor effect was cool and I liek the moody lighting. Could do with some creepy music!

donan says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:04am

Idea is good, but the camera make it hard to play :/

pansapiens says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:52am

Great atmosphere - lots of great little touches here that really juice it (flash on pickups, 'voxel' particles). I didn't read the full description and had assumed this was Unity - nope - go WebGL ! The slow floating light is a slightly more unique addition, it's an interesting way to limit the speed at which you can safely venture into the dark. I did experience some occasional framerate stutters even in fullscreen, but otherwise the framerate was excellent. One thing that would increase the tension would be to give some indication of health level (not necessarily a health bar, you could just make the orb light go redder or something).

Zarkith says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 3:45pm

The fact that it doesn't lock the mouse just kills it for me. :/

Atridas says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 3:18pm

I really liked the game's atmosphere. Is there any end to the level progression or ring collection?

Catlinman says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 3:46pm

About the mouse lock: When you go fullscreen there is a field in the top of your browser that requests you to confirm the mouselock. Otherwise it will not engage.

On the topic of level progression: I didn't have enough time to add more content or an actual end to the game. Currently you just fall an infinite amount of times while each time the size of the level increases by a little bit.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]