Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Doors & Secrets

by Ludipe - Jam Entry

Credits:

@Ludipe : code + design
@erin : art
@pixelartm : game logo + art enhancing
@MCJimmyCalo : music

Beneath the surface ... everyone has a secret. And for some reason they hide them in briefcases and put those behind locked doors. Steal them!

"Doors & Secrets" is a game for two players(no singleplayer mode) where they fight each other to get a briefcase which contains valuable secrets.

-You can get rid of your enemy for a few seconds if you stomp on him.

-There are some doors blocking your way, you'll need a key to open them, get it before the other player does!

CONTROLS:

Player 1: Arrow keys.

Player 2: WASD

Misc: "P" pauses the game and "O" toggles fullscreen.


I realized that most people would play the game alone but I decided to make it anyway. I can't enjoy these games whenever I want but when I have a friend to play with I'm glad these kind of games exist.

-CHROME USERS MIGHT NOT HEAR THE MUSIC, IT WORKS PERFECTLY ONF FIREFOX-

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness63%
#77Fun(Jam)3.61
#133Overall(Jam)3.59
#212Audio(Jam)3.41
#251Graphics(Jam)3.68
#260Mood(Jam)3.30
#299Innovation(Jam)3.17
#328Humor(Jam)2.68
#656Theme(Jam)2.46

Comments

CupcakeMedia says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:43pm

You know, it's a pretty good competitive game, even if it requires some platformer experience. I played with my sister, and she found it way too challenging to the point where I sauntered in and took the brief case calmly. maybe it's the old problem with collision boxes, they aren't that clearly defined. I don't know.

Anyway, aside from that, there's really nothing I can fault the game on, for what it is, it is very good indeed.

Candyhandy says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:18am

Really good experience

chase says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:24am

Nice to see another two player local game. I enjoyed the camera size change based on the player positions, and the art style was both really good and enjoyable. Very nice!

dsoft20 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:32am

Great art style, I really love these addicting multiplayer games

Yaru says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:49am

I had to play it alone, so I can't talk about the multiplayer experience, but still, it's pretty good, and the music is very catchy, it gives the game a "run run run!" feel.

spotco says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:04am

Really great music and art, but no friends to play with :(

Ludipe says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:10am

@Yaru @spotco : I realized that most people would play the game alone but I decided to make it anyway. I can't enjoy these games whenever I want but when I have a friend to play with I'm glad these kind of games exist.

MisterDerek2 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:06pm

Nice job, had a lot of fun playing it with a friend.

copain says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:07pm

nice game. I love characters.
But it's more a run than a battle (generally, the faster win)... maybe an handicap (speed...) for the one who has the suitcase will be good?

Ludipe says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:12pm

@copain I included that kind of handicap but I didn't like it in the end. It's one of those things that I wish I could have tested before submitting, but, as said before, I didn't have people to test this kind of stuff during the last hours.

aneeslol says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:42pm

Didn't have anybody to play with, but I appreciate that you can complete the goal while playing alone. Everything is very well executed, and the music is fantastic!

AmmoreChicks says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:55pm

I seems fun! Too bad I don't have any friends...

Jeffalisk says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:16pm

Had to play both players myself but did like the graphic style and concept. Word of warning though, I played the web player version and it crashed out on me before it got to the end of the level.

Ludipe says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:20pm

@Jeffalisk: That's really odd, I'll check it with different browsers and settings. Thanks for the warning!

theengineers says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:43pm

Really really really gooood:D

mclewis says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:54pm

My right hand beat my left hand every time. Game looks and sounds great, and if I had an opponent I would imagine that it would be a lot of fun.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:00pm

Music is good, controls are tight, it's fast-paced and fun. Dynamic camera might be just a bit too volatile; when there's a lot of movement, it can get a bit sickening (in the litteral sense of "making people ill", not the figurative "disgusting".)

FGM says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:02pm

Nice little competitive 2p. I can easily see this being larger, with more game types, and attacks. Great music too.

Ludipe says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:06pm

@LemmingSurvivor: Yeah, I agree with you about the camera. If I made a post-jam version I'd spend a lot of time trying to get a better camera system. It's not bad but it needs to be tweaked and adjusted for specific situations.

jrap says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:30am

Proper good entry. You and your team should be very proud.

urisensei says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:26am

Really fun one, I just wish you could push the other player around as well, also addictive as all heck.

Ludipe says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:05am

@urisensei: Pushing the other one would be a great feature, I hadn't thought about it. Thanks! :)

Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:09pm

Really nice graphics, as well as a really well done game! I included it in part 4 of my Ludum Dare compilation video series, if you'd like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/as-BlCZWXm0

Thorig says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:23am

This is a great game. Saw it on an youtube and had to try it myself.

DavidErosa says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:10pm

Love the graphics and music. The animation of the characters is really smooth as well as the camera. Nice job!

angelk says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 4:17am

I really enjoyed the camera zoom. Glad to see some more local multiplayer games!

mortus says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:53pm

I always appreciate two players games, it's especially impressive during LD when limited audience could be able to play and rate your game. I felt obliged to find a buddy and play it (especially since my own game also supports 2 players mode along with 1 player mode) and we had lots of fun! Great work!

lajos says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 1:55am

Very nice! Congrats!

joe40001 says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 9:37am

Solid game, multiplayer games often have a hard time doing really well at LD, but I'm rooting for you to do well, it's well made.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]