Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Deus ex Submarine

by Jod - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are Captain Clarence Giles of the HMS Elizabeth, a Valiant-class Nuclear Submarine. Ten minutes ago a critical hull breach occured. This seemed to be caused by an unknown object.

Will you be able to save the surviving crew? Or will you fight for your survival over their dead bodies? Will you find out why in heaven's name there is a pair of sunglasses on your desk in a submarine? And will you be able to resist the lure of the minty chocolate wafers?

****************
EDIT: If you want to scroll through text you've already read, hold CTRL. The game will automatically stop scrolling at choice-menus and text you have not read yet.

EDIT: If you don't hear any sound or music, that's not your computer's fault. The game was made in fourteen hours and making music just fell of the list of priorities.

Deus ex Submarine is a Visual Novel made in Ren'Py. It has six different endings (will you be able to get them all?), quite some replayability and was made in fourteen hours.

Apologies to anyone who actually knows anything about submarines or liquid dynamics :).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#162Theme3.74
#196Mood3.50
#295Humor2.88
#360Overall3.38
#540Fun3.03
#699Innovation2.87
#712Graphics2.92
#1015Audio1.56

Comments

Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:53am

The mix of melodrama and comedy did not sit that great with me; and I felt like the captain was coming up with plans whilst I sat back, rather than me *playing* the captain.

Did enjoy the weird mix of art though, and the idea is pretty nice.

Lacaranian says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:24pm

That lieutenant got what was coming to him. I assume. Delightfully silly! Good jorb.

skymen says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:28pm

Graphics are pretty cool, and the theme is respected but there is no sound... In my opinion it wasn't fun to play, but the multiple possibl ends were a good idea.

muramasa says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:34pm

Well, I died. But I regret nothing! This game is pretty cool, and I think it is by now the best I've played in terms of mood in this LD. It feels pretty human. I don't know. It's great.
There is no audio. But my mind did the work for that. I could listen to my captain voice!

Zupoman says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:34pm

I didn't like the mixup of drama and comedy either. The lack of music didn't disturb me at all. The narration is good, there are multiple choices and endings. Great game, good work!

Jason Lay says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:39pm

This was good. However, I felt like I didn't have any control over what was going on.

Zerkruemler says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:41pm

This is like an somehow interactive book. Nice idea. Some sound effects would have been a good idea.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:55pm

Some good ideas and funny dialogs, but it's a little hard to get what you are doing. I'll try again.

Ellian says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:35pm

Not exactly new, but enjoyable nonetheless. Good mood, definitively interesting. Good work in such short time!

Jod says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:52pm

Thanks for all the feedback everyone, I really appreciate it! Sadly, I did not have time to make (some) sound at all, as I only had 14 hours. It's definitely something that would've added to the game. Once again, thanks for taking the time to comment!

lorancou says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:03pm

"Captain's favorite cup shattered": how dare you call this TRIVIAL? INCOMPETENTS!! My emperor penguins!

Great narration, I enjoyed it :)

mjau says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:10am

I'm glad i tried again after the first attempt. That took an unexpected direction =). It did get a bit tedious going through everything for every retry though -- maybe you could've simplified repeated sections a bit on replay, since you already detect that anyway? Stuff like not having to check the list of what's wrong again and such.

Also, i got ending 5 twice, in two very different situations. Second time i'd actually managed to save the sub and some of the people in it =), but the first time was when i just went for a swim straight away, leaving everyone to die. I don't think that's right?

Would've been nice with some ambient sounds.

Jod says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:54am

@mjau: Thanks for the tip! You can press CTRL to scroll through text. Kinda late for you, I guess, but maybe others can use it :).

As for ending 5.. uhm... that might be a bug. Damn. :)

miwuc says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:33am

Nice game! Replaying was a bit tedious but I did it several times anyway and saved them in the end! (well the few that were still alive).
I had mixed feelings about the sunglasses thing (no spoilers). On one hand it was a pleasant/funny surprise, on the other hand it kind of clashes with the very serious atmosphere set by the rest of the narration.

Just a detail but I don't think that's how a submarine works though :) (doesn't a sub go up a down with ballasts rather than propulsion?)

Jod says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:11pm

@miwuc: You are most likely completely right :). Thanks for reviewing!

AtkinsSJ says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:32pm

I liked the comedy personally. After all the tension of the first couple of playthroughs, the surprise twist was a nice relief!

I didn't manage to save anyone in half a dozen playthroughs, so I'm ending there. Even with the skipping, there's a lot of repetition. Still, one of the better games I've played this time around! The atmosphere is perfect. :D

JavadocMD says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 5:48am

I like a good choose your own adventure book, and this one was pretty good. :) I got a chuckle out of the silly endings. At least you took this in an original direction!

Ragzouken says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:30pm

interesting game, i think the humour detracts from the cool mood you were building, and it'd been nice to add some ambient sound in there to reinforce it

May 3, 2014 @ 2:13am

Great writing! The replay thing was quite neat.
Good entry!

HybridMind says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:15pm

I appreciate that you attempted an experimental blend of seriousness and humor. I am not quite sure how I feel about it in practice though. When I restarted I was kind of thrown out of the immersion and mood you had been establishing. I guess I was kind of disappointed for a bit. But then I just kind of dealt with it and went through the story. I reached 3 different endings out of 6. I will say that the "sunglasses" ending is bugged. I bailed on my crew and it still said I got the "not a monster" ending. (Trying not to overtly spoil here, but I want to provide the bug report.) I like the mix of text and art assets, nice work overall.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]