Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Creature of the Depths Must Feed his Sheep

by TheColorMan - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Please play this on Google Chrome! It wasn't working for me on Firefox.

Play as the creature of the depths as he feeds all of his pet sheep!

This was my most successful Ludum Dare, with everything going fairly smoothly. It's also the most animated entry I've made!

Creation timelapse: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xhFEeF-UP6o&feature=youtu.be
Thanks for playing!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#235Theme3.63
#315Innovation3.42
#348Humor2.77
#691Fun2.87
#748Mood2.78
#812Overall2.92
#962Audio1.79
#990Graphics2.50
#1746Coolness37%

Comments

puckers says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:53am

I like the feed animation very gruesome those poor orange men :(

Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:17am

Fun game. Cheesy. But you missed a blatant opportunity to name the game "The creature from the DEEP must feed his sheep."

asotelo94 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:09am

Like the feeding animation

MiscEtc says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:19am

I quite like the concept

orangepascal says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:07am

Game speed feels a bit slow paced, but the idea is very nice. Does give me the feeling of hunting those dudes ;)

zdonkeyx says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:52am

This game was really cute lol the burrowing was a little bit wonky but otherwise nice job

Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:27am

Gameplay would gain a lot with faster movement but anyway, it's a really nice entry, perfectly fits the theme and the mechanics are innovative, great job!

mr_tag says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:43am

Nice idea! But it took me some time to find out, that i could move also through the grey blocks ;)

zzorn says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:10pm

Wow, innovative twist on a stealth platformer!
Love the main character graphics, and that feed animation!

Could have been a nice idea to restart from the most recent level if you died, but on the other hand it increases the difficulty.

Also the restart key R is too close to E and F :P

Recon says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:54pm

Very nice job!

reidrac says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:24pm

Very cool!

I found the controls a little bit awkward, but may be it's me!

TheColorMan says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:28pm

@puckers & asotelo94 - the feeding animation was a ton of fun to draw, it's my favorite part of the entire game!

@reidrac - I could understand that since all the buttons needed to play the game are accessible with one hand.

@orangepascal & Oddly shaped pixels - Thanks for your comments I really appreciate them! I do agree the player moves slow in the game, when playtesting was feeling like a chore I should have sped it up. Oh well!

randoman says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 3:26pm

When I saw the instructions on the screen I though the game would be a little hard to control, but it was very smooth! It was very intuitive which is good. Congrats! Now a bug report: on the second level I was standing below a guy and pressed F without pressing W, the sound of eating came out but no animation. I did it a few times and when I finally did it right I won the level. Seems like it counted the same guy several times.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]