Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

You Are a Mole!

by valgriz - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Title says it all, you are a mole!

Thanks for playing,
I hope you enjoy!

Controls:
Left and right arrow keys can be used to control the mole as well as navigate through the menu.
You can also use the A and D keys instead of Left and Right
If you would like to invert left and right buttons, you can use the Q and E keys.
ESC will bring you to the main menu, or close out of the game.
Space is used to start/pause/stop the game.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#258Theme3.61
#365Fun3.26
#421Humor2.63
#574Overall3.17
#718Graphics2.91
#765Mood2.76
#783Innovation2.74
#804Audio2.26
#1718Coolness39%

Comments

valgriz says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 11:46pm

Thanks for checking out my LD29 entry!

FyberOptic says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:52am

There aren't enough games about moles!

Gins says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:46pm

Fun little time waster :D
Well done on the presentation.
Bug report: game got stuck in pause when I restarted after I died.
On a minor side node, I wish the left and right keys were flipped, because for some reason it seems more intuitive to me to control the mole like a tank :o

valgriz says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:44pm

@Gin left-right/right-left can be flipped by using the Q & E keys

Belvar says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:30pm

Fun game ! A bit slow but suprisingly challenging.

longshorts says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:20pm

Cute little animation with the nose :P

Secret_Tunnel says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:02am

Haha, not a whole lot to it, but it's well put-together for what it is thanks to nice touches like the seamless menu.

Clinthoney says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:35am

Loved it just wished after I died that I could play it again because once I die it just tells me to press space and it does nothing. Anyways love the audio and the graphics.

Khaldrin says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:14pm

Nice one :)

someone says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:25pm

Yay, Mole!
I like it.

RadioLemon says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:14pm

I managed 1366 score!

Snicklodocus says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:19pm

Fun little game! I appreciate having an in-game how to play screen. A few times I thought I was done for, but was able to squeeze into a crack. Well done!

KirbiKaka says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:31pm

Fun, simple little game :]! I like the mole, he's pretty cute. I think I would have preferred the colors to be a little different just because the rocks were kind of hard to see. The dirt and the rocks together just made the game not that great to look at for long periods of time.
I really like the mechanic though! It's simple and definitely addicting to play :D

RPWhitaker says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:33pm

Good idea, but this would be a lot more fun if you could speed up and slow down!

Salamander3 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:05pm

Hey, I liked this, though it didn't really feel like it progressed in difficulty as I went further down. I liked that when I died it felt like it was something _I_ had done wrong though, not because the game cheated me. Solid theme, cute graphics.

ChuiGum says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 5:25am

A very innovative endless "runner" like game

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]